Slavic, Central, and East European Studies

Background information can be found in encyclopedias, dictionaries and bibliographies.  UBC Library provides access to many excellent resources in both print and online versions; a select number are listed below.

• Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe : from the Congress of Vienna to the fall of communism
• Political and economic dictionary of Eastern Europe
• Conflict in the former Yugoslavia : an encyclopedia
• Encyclopedia of Ukraine
• Ethnic politics in Eastern Europe : a guide to nationality policies, organizations, and parties
• Encyclopaedia of conflicts, disputes, and flashpoints in Eastern Europe, Russia, and the successor states

• Cambridge encyclopedia of Russia and the former Soviet Union

• Modern encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet history (60 v. set)

• Political and economic encyclopedia of the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe

• Guidebooks to Russian Archives (online) New! - database of searchable, digitized copies of guides to the central and regional archives in Russia)

• Encyclopedia of contemporary Russian culture

• Encyclopedia of Russian history

• Encyclopedia of Russian women's movements

Sources of information about people such as biographical dictionaries and personal narratives.

• Who's who in Russia since 1900 (online)
• Who was who in the USSR : a biographic directory containing 5,015 biographies of prominent Soviet historical personalities 
• Who's who in the Soviet Union : a biographical encyclopedia of 5,000 leading personalities in the Soviet Union 
• Biographical dictionary of dissidents in the Soviet Union, 1956-1975 
• Russkii biograficheskii slovar´

• A bibliography on glasnost and perestroika : Gorbachev's policies of reform and openness 
• Glasnost, the Soviet Union today, a bibliography 
• Interethnic conflict and political change in the former USSR 
• Slavic studies : a guide to bibliographies, encyclopedias, and handbooks 
• East Central Europe; a guide to basic publications 
• Russia and the Soviet Union; a bibliographic guide to Western-language publications 
• Basic Russian publications ; an annotated bibliography on Russia and the Soviet Union 
• Russia and Eastern Europe : a bibliographic guide to English-language publications, 1992-1999