Polish Language Resources
- Ethnologue: Polish - Statistical information on the Polish language
Polish Grammar
Polish Grammars via UBC Library (print and ebooks)
Basic Polish: A Grammar and Workbook by Call Number: onlineBasic Polish presents concise explanations of grammar with related exercises, to build confidence in using the modern language. Assuming no previous knowledge of Polish, the book's step-by-step approach guarantees a thorough grounding in the basics of grammar.
Intermediate Polish: A Grammar and Workbook by Call Number: onlineDesigned for learners who have achieved basic proficiency and wish to progress to more complex language. Each unit combines clear, concise grammar explanations with examples and exercises to build confidence and fluency.
Polish: A Comprehensive Grammar by Call Number: PG6112 .S23 2012 KoernerA reference guide to the grammar system for intermediate to advanced learners of Polish. It presents an accessible and systematic description of the language, focusing on real patterns of use in contemporary language.
A Grammar of Contemporary Polish by Call Number: PG6105 .S89 2002 Koerner
For more Polish Language grammars and textbooks, search the UBC Library catalogue using the Subject Headings:
- Polish language - Grammar
- Polish language - Textbooks for foreign speakers - English
Polish Grammars on the web
- A Concise Polish Grammar by Ron Feldstein; from the Slavic and East European Language Resource Center (SEELRC)
- Elementary Polish by Frank Gladney, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. An excellent online beginner's course
- Polish Language Materials from the Slavic and East European Language Resource Center (SEELRC)
Polish Media (video, audio, newspapers)
Newspapers
- Factiva - a Dow Jones product, Factiva offers a single point of access with multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 9,000 sources.
Television
- SquidTV Poland - live streaming TV channels from Poland
Audio and Video
- Mówić po polsku : Polish alphabet and pronunciation audio and videorecordings
- Polish pronunciation wikibook - audio files
Polish Word of the Day
Loading ...
Selected Subject Headings
These subject headings will help you get started with your search for resources on Polish:
Polish Dictionaries
Polish Dictionaries at UBC Library
Cambridge Klett Concise Polish-English DictionaryISBN: 0521541603A fully-bilingual Polish-English dictionary, especially designed for Polish learners of English. Clear definitions and colour guidewords help you to find the meaning that you want quickly and easily.
Polish-English Unabridged Dictionary by ISBN: 0781804418As well as general vocabulary, this three volume Polish-English dictionary set includes slang and colloqualisms. A phonetic system is employed to aid non-Polish speakers in getting to grips with unfamiliar sounds.
Polish-English Dictionary of Slang and Colloquialism by ISBN: 0781805708To be able to use colloquialisms appropriately is what separates the fluent speaker from the student. This dictionary provides definitions and usage examples for the most common Polish colloquial expressions.
For more Polish dictionaries, search the UBC Library catalogue using the Subject Headings: