Articles
Journal articles are listed in article indexes and databases. Some of these just provide citations of articles, other provide citations and descriptive abstracts which summarize what the articles are about, while others provide full text. The most relevant indexes/databases for Slavic, Central, and Eastern European Studies are listed below.
Core Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary index and full-text to thousands of scholarly journals and popular sources.
- American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) This link opens in a new windowInformation on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Some of the many subjects covered include: anthropology, culture & the arts, economics, education, and geography. Coverage for ABSEES ranges from 1989-present. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada.
- European Bibliography of Slavic and East European StudiesCovers material on Eastern Europe published in Western Europe.
- Current Digest of the Russian Press This link opens in a new windowPresents a weekly selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English.
More Databases
- MLA International BibliographyBest starting point for literary criticism, as well as some film criticism.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowBest starting point for language and linguistics
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowStart here for articles on European cinema
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations, abstracts, and indexing of the literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration and policy. About 2500 journal titles from around the world are monitored for coverage.
Need help finding articles?
See the UBC Library Guide to Finding Articles. Shows you how to search for a known article from a list or in course reserve, find articles on a topic, and what to do when UBC Library doesn't have the article you're looking for.