MLA International Bibliography - MLA is the main index for worldwide literature. It indexes scholarly research on literature, language, linguistics, folklore from over 3,000 journals plus other publications including book chapters, edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage goes back to 1926 (but limited to US publications between 1926-1956).
Diccionario de la lengua española (Dictionary of the Spanish Language) - Online access to the 23rd edition of the DLE from the Real Academia Española, Spain's official royal institution with a mission to ensure the stability of the Spanish language.
The Cambridge Companion to the Spanish Novel presents the development of the modern Spanish novel from 1600 to the present. Topics covered include the regional novel, women writers, and film and literature. This companionable survey, which includes a chronology and guide to further reading, conveys a vivid sense of the innovative techniques of the Spanish novel and of the debates surrounding it.
This Companion offers a broad overview of the novel's history and analyses in depth several representative works by, for example, Gabriel Garca Mrquez, Machado de Assis, Isabel Allende and Mario Vargas Llosa. Indispensable to students of Latin American or Hispanic studies and those interested in comparative literature and the development of the novel as genre, the Companion features a comprehensive bibliography and chronology and concludes with an essay about the success of Latin American novels in translation.
Some 750 alphabetically-arranged entries provide insights into recent cultural and political developments within Spain, including the cultures of Catalonia, Galicia and the Basque country. Coverage spans from the end of the Civil War in 1939 to the present day, with emphasis on the changes following the demise of the Franco dictatorship in 1975. Entries range from shorter, factual articles to longer overview essays offering in-depth treatment of major issues. Culture is defined in its broadest sense. Entries include: *Antonio Gaudí * science * Antonio Banderas * golf * dance * education * politics * racism * urbanization This Encyclopedia is essential reading for anyone interested in Spanish culture. It provides essential cultural context for students of Spanish, European History, Comparative European Studies and Cultural Studies.
In Spain, the two hundred years that elapsed between the beginning of the early modern period and the final years of the Habsburg Empire saw a profusion of works written by women. The Routledge Research Companion to Early Modern Spanish Women Writers covers the broad array of different kinds of writings - literary as well as extra-literary - that these women wrote, taking into consideration their subject positions and the cultural and historical contexts that influenced and were influenced by them.
Provides comprehensive coverage of the major and subsidiary fields of Hispanic Linguistics. Part 1 covers linguistic disciplines, approaches and methodologies. Part 2 includes several aspects of the grammar of Spanish, covering its phonological, morphosyntactic and semantic components. Part 3 brings together the historical, social, psychological and applied factors in the evolution and distribution of Spanish.
Explores all facets relating to the origins, evolution, and geographical variations of the Spanish language Examines topics including second language learning, Spanish in the classroom, immigration, heritage languages, and bilingualism