- American Fiction, 1774-1900
Based on Wright's bibliography, this set includes novels, romance, short stories, fictitious biographies, travels and sketches, allegories, and tract-like tales. While the major American authors are all represented, a strength of the collection is the inclusion of the writings of minor and lesser-known authors.
Wright's bibliographies: American fiction,1774-1850; American fiction, 1851-1875; and American fiction, 1876-1900.
Guide/Index: Microform Guides cabinet, Koerner Library, Floor 2.
Search the Collection Online.
- American Periodicals, 1741-1900
Documents the origins of American magazine journalism from 1741 and demonstrates the growth of periodical publication after 1800 (including virtually all the significant magazines of the period 1800 to 1850). UBC Library collection extends to 1850 only, reels 1-844.
Guide/Index: Microform Guides cabinet, Koerner Library, Floor 2.
American periodicals 1741-1900: an index to the microfilm collections.
- Archives of British and American Publishers
The papers of each publisher have been treated as a separate set. Records include correspondence with authors, internal business records (accounts, minutes, copyrights, and printing, binding, and sales records). Guides/indexes are listed in the catalogue where available.
-
The Archives of Swan Sonnenschein & Co., 1879-1911. Guide/Index
-
The Archives of Kegan Paul, Trench, Trubner & Henry S King, 1853-1912. Guide/Index
-
The Archives of the University Press, 1696-1902.
-
The Archives of George Allen & Co., 1893-1915. Guide/Index
-
The Archives of Richard Bentley and sons, 1829-1898. Guide/Index
-
Archives of Grant Richards, 1897-1948. Guide/Index
-
Archives of Macmillan & Co., 1854-1924. Guide/Index
-
Archives of the House of Longman, 1794-1914. Guide/Index
- Early American Children's books
Early American children's books from the A.S.W. Rosenbach Collection. Microreproduction of 680 books from the A.S.W. Rosenbach Collection in the Free Library of Philadelphia.
Guide/Index: Rosenbach, A.S.W. Early American children's books;
Early American children's books: [index of authors and titles].
Online Indexes: ESTC, WorldCat.
Guide/Index: American bibliography.
- Early American Imprints: Second Series (Shaw-Shoemaker) 1801-1819
The second series is now online.
Based on the Shaw-Shoemaker bibliography and arranged by Shaw numbers, includes everything printed in the United States in the years 1801-1819, including texts of books, pamphlets, broadsides, reports, letters, messages from the Presidents, resolutions of the United States Congress, State and territorial legislative assemblies, etc.
Online Index: ESTC
Guide/Index: American bibliography; a preliminary checklist for 1801-1819.
- Early Canadiana (CIHM : Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions)
Canadian source material written by Canadians, published in Canada or written/published outside the country but about Canada, providing access to thousands of books, periodicals and government publications from the time of first contact to the first four decades of the 20th Century (government publications appear only up to 1900). Early releases are in the microfiche collection and there are records for each item in the online catalogue.
Later content is all online in Early Canadiana Online.
- Early English Newspapers, 1622-1890s
Now online as 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.
Includes some 500 titles, dating from the beginning of the eighteenth century to the late nineteenth century, as well as an array of seventeenth century corantos, diurnals, and newsbooks. It covers metropolitan London newspapers and those defined as "provincial", as well as those from British colonial possessions (apart from America).
Guide/Index: Early English newspapers : bibliography and guide to the microfilm collection.
- The Eighteenth Century
Now available as Eighteenth Century Collections Online.
The collection is based on the Eighteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (online as part of the English Short Title Catalogue) which lists all materials printed in any language in the British Empire, or printed in English elsewhere in the world between 1701 and 1800. Comprised of monographs, tract volumes, broadsides, pamphlets, and printed ephemera.
Guide/Index: Eighteenth century sources for the study of English literature and culture: [indexes - authors and subject].
Guide/Index: Elizabeth Gaskell and nineteenth century literature : manuscripts from the John Rylands University Library, Manchester : a listing and guide to the Research Publications microfilm collection.
- English and American Drama. AW2 .N55 and AW5 .N55
A collection of nineteenth and twentieth century dramatic literature and anthologies, containing more than 6000 plays including unusual items such as nineteenth century minstrel show texts. Microcards and microfiches are arranged alphabetically by author.
- English and American Plays of the Nineteenth Century
English Plays: 1801-1900
American Plays: 1831-1900
Intended to be the most complete repository of the dramatic output for the period, both in the variety of forms represented and in the extensive number of plays which it contains.
- English Literary Periodicals
Some but not all periodicals are listed by title in the online catalogue.
A collection of 341 periodical titles from Great Britain, predominantly literary, from the 17th to the 19th centuries. Twenty-five titles are at least partially indexed in Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (AI 3 P71 1802-1907 -- Koerner Library Reference), and detailed information on many of the periodical titles is provided in English Literary Periodicals / Walter Graham (PN 5124 P4 G73 c.2 -- Koerner Microform Reference).
Guide/Index: Accessing English literary periodicals : a guide to the microfilm collection : with title, subject, editor and reel number indexes.
- Forster-Dyce Collection of Dickens Manuscripts
Annotated proofs, manuscripts, and other papers of Charles Dickens (1812-1870) from collections in the Victoria and Albert Museum and Dickens House, London.
Guide/Index: The Forster and Dyce collections from the National Art Library at the Victoria and Albert Musuem [sic], London : an inventory to part five of the Research Publications collection.
Guide is in the Microform Guides cabinet, Koerner Library, Floor 2.
- Jeffersonian Americana
A collection of scarce Americana up to about 1835; some of the volumes were either in Jefferson's library, or were printed during the Jefferson era. The majority, however, are related to and provide excellent primary source material for the Columbian, Colonial, Revolutionary, and Federal periods.
Individual titles are in the online catalogue.
Guide/Index: Jeffersonian Americana: list of titles; physical guide can be found in the Microform Guides Cabinet, Koerner Library, Floor 2.
- Opie Collection of Children's Literature
Children's books, chiefly British, from the eighteenth century to the present, collected by Iona and Peter Opie, housed in the Bodleian Library of Oxford University. UBC Library has Units 1 and 2.
Guide/Index: The Opie collection of children's literature : a guide to the microfiche collection.
- Peel Bibliography on Microfiche
Also available online as Peel's Prairie Provinces. This site at the University of Alberta Libraries is a work in progress, still incomplete; it includes a vast number of newspapers and other material added to the 3rd Ed. of the bibliography.
Books and pamphlets relating to the Prairie Provinces up to 1953 dealing with every aspect of the settlement and development of the Canadian West. The set includes fiction with a Prairie setting, accounts by early explorers, writings by the many different ethnic groups who settled on the Prairies which were published in languages other than Englihs, British Blue Books, early Canadian Sessional Papers, town and city directories, and more. Microfiches are arranged by item numbers iin the bibliography.
Guide/Index: A bibliography of the Prairie provinces to 1953. 2nd Ed.
- Ruskin & Victorian Intellectual Life: Manuscripts of John Ruskin(1819-1900) from the Ruskin Library, University of Lancaster
Part 1 includes 29 volumes of John Ruskin's diaries covering the years 1835, 1840-41, 1844-52, 1854, 1856-78, 1880-85, 1888. Ruskin was one of the most important social and political commentators of the Victorian era, who also became one of its chief arbiters of taste. His diaries describe his travels to the Alps and Italy, his views about landscape, the sublime, religion and death, and his reactions to early Italian art from Frangelico to Titian as well as contemporary artists such as Turner and Millais. Part 2 is correspondence with Joan Severn, 1864-1899.
- Selected Americana from Sabin's Dictionary of Books relating to America, from its Discovery to the Present Time. AW2 S45 and AW5 S45.
Collection based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, First Nations, military actions and much more. Consists of millions of pages from thousands of works on western history and culture in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico, as well as reaching into South America and the Caribbean.
Now available online as Sabin Americana, 1500-1926.
Guide/Index: Selected Americana from Sabin's Dictionary of books relating to America, from its discovery to the present time;
The new Sabin; books described by Joseph Sabin and his successors, now described again on the basis of examination of originals, and fully indexed by title, subject, joint authors, and institutions and agencies.
- Three Centuries of English and American Plays, 1500-1830
This collection of more than 5,000 plays includes every important play published in the English language in England from the year 1500 through 1800, and in America from 1714 through 1830, together with previously unpublished manuscripts from the period. It is as inclusive as possible, and offers editions valuable for their texts, dating, rarity, inaccessibility to the public, and literary significance in the history of drama.
Guide/Index: Three centuries of English and American plays, a checklist: Engalnd, 1500-1800, United States, 1714-1830.
- Travels in the Confederate States
Travel material arranged by author, including diaries, series of letters, reminiscences, autobiographies, regional histories and accounts, and narratives written primarily as travel accounts. Part of the same series as the following travel set.
Guide/Index: Travels in the Confederate States, a bibliography.
- Travels in the Old South (1527-1860)
Travel material arranged by author, including diaries, series of letters, reminiscences, autobiographies, regional histories and accounts, and narratives written primarily as travel accounts.
Guide/Index: Travels in the Old South, a bibliography;
Travels in the Old South, I, II, III : [checklist].
Guide/Index: XIX century fiction : a bibliographical record based on his own collection;
Victorian fiction ; alphabetical by author : rolls 1-442;
Victorian fiction : alphabetical by title : rolls 1-442;
Victorian fiction : a guide to series II, unit 1.
Guide/Index: A woman's view of drama, 1790-1830: the diaries of Anna Margaretta Larpent in the Huntington Library : a listing and guide to the microfilm collection.
- Women, Education and Literature: the papers of Maria Edgeworth, 1768-1849
This is a collection of Maria Edgeworth's literary manuscripts, consisting of notebooks with draft passages for published and unpublished works, story plans, poems and notes on reading. There are also draft and fair copies of published works, anecdotes, and outlines of plays, as well as an extensive collection of correspondence.
Guide/Index: Women, education and literature: the papers of Maria Edgeworth, 1768-1849.
- Women, Emancipation and literature: The papers of Harriet Martineau, 1802-1876, from Birmingham University Library
A prominent British author, journalist, social commentator, and leading feminist intellectual in the second half of the nineteenth century, Harriet Martineau is most noted for her contributions to the economic, social, and political theories of the day. All her activities, including correspondence with her contemporaries, are documented in the collection.
Guide/Index: Women, emancipation and literature: the papers of Harriet Martineau 1802-1876 from the Birmingham University Library : a listing and guide to the microfilm collection.
Guide/Index: Women's language and experience, 1500-1940: women's diaries and related sources.