- American Fiction, 1774-1900
Based on Wright's bibliography, this set includes novels, romance, short stories, fictitious biographies, travels and sketches, allegories, and tract-like tales. While the major American authors are all represented, a strength of the collection is the inclusion of the writings of minor and lesser-known authors.
Wright's bibliographies: American fiction,1774-1850; American fiction, 1851-1875; and American fiction, 1876-1900.
Guide/Index: Microform Guides cabinet, Koerner Library, Floor 2.
Search the Collection Online.
- American Periodicals, 1741-1900
Documents the origins of American magazine journalism from 1741 and demonstrates the growth of periodical publication after 1800 (including virtually all the significant magazines of the period 1800 to 1850). UBC Library collection extends to 1850 only, reels 1-844.
Guide/Index: Microform Guides cabinet, Koerner Library, Floor 2.
American periodicals 1741-1900: an index to the microfilm collections.
- American Statistics Index (ASI) 1974-2010
The United States government is one of the world's most important and prolific publisher of statistics, producing a continual flow of facts and figures on virtually every aspect of life in America and on most matters of world-wide concern. Includes complete texts of many U.S. government publications not available from any other source. Filed according to ASI accession numbers.
Print Index and Abstracts available in the American Statistics Index.
Online Index available through Proquest Statistical Insight.
- Archives of British and American Publishers
The papers of each publisher have been treated as a separate set. Records include correspondence with authors, internal business records (accounts, minutes, copyrights, and printing, binding, and sales records). Guides/indexes are listed in the catalogue where available.
Guide/Index: Taschengoedeke: fotomechanischer Neudruck, durchgesehen und erganzt (1961);
Taschengoedeke: Bibliographie deutscher Erstausgaben (1970).
- British Columbia, Legislative Assembly, Sessional Papers. (1872-1982)
British Columbia papers were published in sessional collections until 1982. The collection consists of reports tabled in the Legislative Assembly each year. These are a rich source of information on the history and social development of BC. In the 19th century the Sessional Papers included: voters lists by district; committee reports; orders of the day; petitions & papers presented; records of land sales; correspondence; (budgetary) estimates; and departmental reports. As the 19th century waned much of the content in the Sessional Papers was subsumed into the Journals of the Legislative Assembly or published in separate volumes. By the 1920s, they primarily contain annual reports from government Ministries. Content not transferred to the Journals includes the Voters' List - which was published on its own, and the Estimates - which were published by the Ministry of Finance.
Guide/Index: Guide to the British Columbia sessional papers on microfilm; Index for 1872-1971.
Sessional Papers are indexed in the Journals of the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia.
- British Records Relating to America
Material ranges in time from the Colonial period to the twentieth century, and in place from Quebec to the West Indies. Includes records relating to trade, industry, plantations, agriculture and ranching, immigration and settlement, the antislavery movement, politics, and military affairs. Personal papers, diaries, state documents, records of industrial and commercial concerns.
Guide/Index: Microform Guides cabinet, Koerner Library, Floor 2.
Bibliography: A guide to manuscripts relating to America in Great Britain and Ireland Note, this volume is filed under E173.C75 1979 and - while it provides brief descriptions of the documents in the collection - it does not provide any references to the microform reel numbers.
- Canada. Dept. of Fisheries. Material on British Columbia 1894 - 1914.
This collection includes boundary and licensing regulations, Fishery Commission reports, personnel salaries, hatchery reports, information on international boundaries, sealing reports, accounts, witness testimony, patrol service reports and much more. Available reels: C2577-C2768; C4620.
Guide/Index: Working inventory of the Department of Fisheries general files, c.1890-1914 [pertaining to British Columbia].
- Canada. Dept. of Indian Affairs. Archival Records, RG-10.
The Record Group 10 collection at UBC Library comprises more than 500 reels of archival records.
RG-10 includes:
- Deputy superitendent letterbooks, 1879-1924.
- Black series registers and indexes to registers, 1881-1923.
- Field office correspondence and miscellaneous, ca. 1876-1936.
- Records relating to the Indian peoples of British Columbia.
- School files, records relating to B.C., 1879-1953.
- Central registry files, 1868-1970.
Guide/Index: RG-10 Finding aids "provides reel numbers, titles, and file numbers" for RG-10 content from all regions of Canada.
Finding aid (BC specific): We have print finding aids to BC materials, the Black Series 1872-1959, and BC School Files. These are all available at Koerner Library Microforms Reference.
Online index from Library and Archives Canada: Government of Canada Files.
More information from Library and Archives Canada on the collection.
- Canada. Parliament. Sessional Papers (1867-1925)
Canadian government parliamentary papers were published in sessional collections until 1925. Consists of reports tabled in the House of Commons each year, including departmental annual reports, budgets and public accounts, census reports, election returns, and reports of commissions of inquiry and royal commissions. General indexes to the sessional papers are included in those to the Journals of the House of Commons.
Indexed in: Journals of the House of Commons, J103 C2 Koerner Library stacks; General Index to the Journals of the House of Commons of the Dominion of Canada and of the Sessional Papers of Parliament; and online from the University of Toronto Library.
Guide/Checklist: Microform Guides cabinet, Koerner Library, Floor 2.
Indexed in: Journals of the House of Commons, J103 C2 Koerner Library stacks. (Items are identified as "unpublished" in the index to the Journals.) Partially indexed in the sources listed above for the Sessional Papers.
- Canadian Imprints, 1751-1800
The collection is based on Tremaine's bibliography, with the material identified and arranged by Tremaine numbers. It includes everything published during the period 1751-1800, arranged to show each year's output from all the provinces' presses. Includes books, pamphlets, leaflets, broadsides, handbills, and some pictorial publications.
Guide/Index: Marie Tremaine. A bibliography of Canadian Imprints, 1751-1800.
-
Canadian Research Index: Microlog
Microfiche found at AW 5 M5254, Koerner Library microforms collections.
Provides access to current Canadian report literature from government sources. Includes Canadian federal, provincial, and local government publications, plus publications of selected non-governmental research institutions and interest groups. Contains primarily monographs and annual publications but no serial titles, legislative proceedings, etc.
Many items in the Microlog collection are in the Library catalogue, and many are available online with a title search in Google or through the Canadian Research Index listed below.
Guide/Index: Canadian Research Index 1982- online;
Microlog: Canadian Research Index, 1979-2003 in print.
Guide/Index: The collected writings of Geraldine Jewsbury (1812-1880) : a listing and guide to the microfilm collection.
Index: Cumulative index to the annual catalogues of Her Majesty's Stationery Office publications, 1922-1972; items are numbered according to the year, page number, and order of appearance on each page in the annual HMSO Government Publications catalogues for those years.
- Crime and Juvenile Delinquency (1920-1983)
Selected from the collection of the library of the National Council on Crime and Delinquency in Hackensack, New Jersey, founded in 1921. Titles include municipal, county, state, federal, and privately-generated documents, reports, and studies, mostly from the United States and Canada. Concentrates on ephemeral and difficult to acquire material.
Guide/Index: Crime and juvenile delinquency : a bibliographic guide to the basic microform collection.
Guide/Index: The Declassified documents quarterly catalog and The Declassified documents catalog.
- Early American Children's books
Early American children's books from the A.S.W. Rosenbach Collection. Microreproduction of 680 books from the A.S.W. Rosenbach Collection in the Free Library of Philadelphia.
Guide/Index: Rosenbach, A.S.W. Early American children's books;
Early American children's books: [index of authors and titles].
Online Indexes: ESTC, WorldCat.
Guide/Index: American bibliography.
- Early American Imprints: Second Series (Shaw-Shoemaker) 1801-1819
The second series is now online.
Based on the Shaw-Shoemaker bibliography and arranged by Shaw numbers, includes everything printed in the United States in the years 1801-1819, including texts of books, pamphlets, broadsides, reports, letters, messages from the Presidents, resolutions of the United States Congress, State and territorial legislative assemblies, etc.
Online Index: ESTC
Guide/Index: American bibliography; a preliminary checklist for 1801-1819.
- Early Canadiana (CIHM : Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions)
Canadian source material written by Canadians, published in Canada or written/published outside the country but about Canada, providing access to thousands of books, periodicals and government publications from the time of first contact to the first four decades of the 20th Century (government publications appear only up to 1900). Early releases are in the microfiche collection and there are records for each item in the online catalogue.
Later content is all online in Early Canadiana Online.
- Early English Newspapers, 1622-1890s
Now online as 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.
Includes some 500 titles, dating from the beginning of the eighteenth century to the late nineteenth century, as well as an array of seventeenth century corantos, diurnals, and newsbooks. It covers metropolitan London newspapers and those defined as "provincial", as well as those from British colonial possessions (apart from America).
Guide/Index: Early English newspapers : bibliography and guide to the microfilm collection.
- The Eighteenth Century
Now available as Eighteenth Century Collections Online.
The collection is based on the Eighteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (online as part of the English Short Title Catalogue) which lists all materials printed in any language in the British Empire, or printed in English elsewhere in the world between 1701 and 1800. Comprised of monographs, tract volumes, broadsides, pamphlets, and printed ephemera.
Guide/Index: Eighteenth century Russian publications: [reel/item guide].
Guide/Index: Eighteenth century sources for the study of English literature and culture: [indexes - authors and subject].
Guide/Index: Elizabeth Gaskell and nineteenth century literature : manuscripts from the John Rylands University Library, Manchester : a listing and guide to the Research Publications microfilm collection.
- English and American Drama. AW2 .N55 and AW5 .N55
A collection of nineteenth and twentieth century dramatic literature and anthologies, containing more than 6000 plays including unusual items such as nineteenth century minstrel show texts. Microcards and microfiches are arranged alphabetically by author.
- English and American Plays of the Nineteenth Century
English Plays: 1801-1900
American Plays: 1831-1900
Intended to be the most complete repository of the dramatic output for the period, both in the variety of forms represented and in the extensive number of plays which it contains.
- English Literary Periodicals
Some but not all periodicals are listed by title in the online catalogue.
A collection of 341 periodical titles from Great Britain, predominantly literary, from the 17th to the 19th centuries. Twenty-five titles are at least partially indexed in Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (AI 3 P71 1802-1907 -- Koerner Library Reference), and detailed information on many of the periodical titles is provided in English Literary Periodicals / Walter Graham (PN 5124 P4 G73 c.2 -- Koerner Microform Reference).
Guide/Index: Accessing English literary periodicals : a guide to the microfilm collection : with title, subject, editor and reel number indexes.
Guide/Index: Fabian economic and social thought: the papers of Edward Carpenter, 1844-1929, from Sheffield Archives, Sheffield Libraries & Information Services.
- FAO Documentation on Microfiche. 1983-1996.
This is a collection of documents from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, a category of material distinct from its more widely distributed priced publications. Most of the material is not widely available in print. FAO publishes titles on plant and animal protection, genetics, land and water development, forestry, fisheries, nutrition, food standards and commodities trade, economic and social policy, environmental monitoring, legislation and investment, and all general aspects of the world food situation.
See also the online FAO Corporate Document Repository.
Guide/Index: FAO documentation: current bibliography (1972-1995, paper);
FAO documentation: current bibliography (1976/79-1980/92, microfiche).
- Federal Royal Commissions in Canada 1867-1966, 1967-1980 (Law Library) .
Royal Commissions have been active in almost every area of economic and social life in Canada. Their reports are excellent indicators of the political and social climate of their times. This collection thus serves as a record of the important public issues that faced government in Canada's first century. (No complete collection exists in paper form.) The microfiche collection is in the Koerner Library Microforms collection and in the Law Library; the Law Library has added records for each commission report without noting that the set is also in Koerner.
Guide/Index: Federal royal commissions in Canada, 1867-1966 : a checklist; George Fletcher Henderson;
Federal Royal Commissions in Canada, 1966-1977 : an update;
Canadian federal royal commissions 1978-1988 : an update;
Online Index to Federal Royal Commissions.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report
The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. These translations provide access to primary sources from around the world. The vast majority originated in languages other than English and constitute a major resource for students of international and area studies, political science and world history. FBIS has full text reports of foreign broadcasts,official news agency transmissions, and government statements. The incomplete microfiche collection stops in 1995. The service continues online as World News Connection.
FBIS is now available online, covering all areas from 1941-1974 and the People's Republic of China from 1941-1996.
- Forster-Dyce Collection of Dickens Manuscripts
Annotated proofs, manuscripts, and other papers of Charles Dickens (1812-1870) from collections in the Victoria and Albert Museum and Dickens House, London.
Guide/Index: The Forster and Dyce collections from the National Art Library at the Victoria and Albert Musuem [sic], London : an inventory to part five of the Research Publications collection.
Guide is in the Microform Guides cabinet, Koerner Library, Floor 2.
Individual titles are in the online catalogue.
- French Revolutionary Pamphlets - AW 2 F74, AW 5 F74
Based on the Saricks and Hayden bibliographies, the bulk of this collection covers the years 1787-1800. Many facets of the revolutionary era are illuminated -- political, religious, cultural, and financial. Includes both "official" and "unofficial" documents. Individual works are filed by author or title in the French Revolutionary Pamphlets microfiche set.
Guide/Index: Hayden, Horace E. French revolutionary pamphlets : a check list of the Talleyrand & other collections;
A bibliography of the Frank E. Melvin collection of pamphlets of the French Revolution in the University of Kansas Libraries.
Shipping lists shelved in Koerner Library Microforms vertical file.
- Gay rights movement Series 11, International gay and lesbian periodicals and newsletters
Filmed from the holdings of the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives. This is the world's largest collection of lesbian and gay periodicals. Its international scope includes periodicals from more than 50 countries in the Americas, Europe, Australia and New Zealand, Asia, Africa, and the Middle East. Scholars working in the fields of gender studies, the history of sexuality, the history of social movements, studies in democratization, international studies and globalization will all find this to be a valuable resource. The set covers the Americas, Europe, Australia and New Zealand, and Asia, Africa and the Middle East.
Guide/Index: International periodicals and newsletters from the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives.
The collection can also be searched online.
- German Baroque Literature: Harold Jantz Collection
The main body of 3169 clearly Baroque (1615-1745) works is supplemented by 317 from the Renaissance and 144 later works. Along with works of primarily literary importance, there is a large representation of prose works of a scientific, political, religious, and ethnographic nature.
Guide/Index: German Baroque literature: a descriptive catalogue of the collection of Harold Jantz and a guide to the collection on microfilm.
Individual titles are in the online catalogue.
Guide/Index: Bibliography-index to the microfilm edition of the Yale University Library collection of German Baroque literature;
German Baroque literature : a catalogue of the collection in the Yale University Library.
Individual titles are in the online catalogue.
- German Books before 1601
The collection reproduces important fifteenth and sixteenth century books in all fields and is based partially on titles listed in the Short Title Catalogue of Books Printed in the German Speaking Countries and of German Books Printed in Other Countries from 1455 to 1600, now in the British Museum.
Guide/Index: German books before 1600: a catalog of the microfilm edition;
German books before 1601 on microfilm: a bibliography.
- German Drama
Includes almost 4000 plays published in German from around 1518 to 1912, including opera libretti and translations of plays written in other languages.
Individual titles are in the online catalogue.
- Goldsmiths'-Kress library of economic literature
Now available online as Making of the Modern World. Individual titles are in the online catalogue.
Microfilm of the collections in the Goldsmiths' Company Library of Economic Literature, London School of Economics, and of the Kress Library of Business and Economics, Harvard University. Titles are in English as well as many other western European languages. Individual titles are in the online catalogue.
UBC owns:
- Segment 1. Printed books through 1800
- Segment 2. Printed books, 1801-1850
- Supplements to Segments 1 and 2
Guide/Index: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of economic literature : consolidated guide.
- Great Britain. Colonial Office
UBC Library has several distinct collections about British Columbia from the Colonial office
-
- Vancouver Island Despatches 1846 - 1867 (CO 305)
Reels included: B233. A significant portion of the Despatches from 1846-1871 is freely available online from the University of Victoria on the Colonial Dispatches website. These include public offices, despatches and correspondence between Vancouver Island's governing officials and the Colonial office in London.
Guide/Index: Colonial correspondence: detailed finding aid. Call Number: FC3822 .C65, at the Koerner Library microforms reference shelf.
-
- Papers Relating to British Columbia
A microfilm collection of documents prepared for the Public Archives of Canada.
Reels included: B199, B200, B216, B889-B892, B984, B994, B995, B1365, B1368, B1488, B1489, B1490, B1636, B1664, B1667.
- Great Britain. House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Now available online as House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (U.K.). HCPP now includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688; the debates (Hansard) are also included.
British Parliamentary Papers or Sessional Papers are documents presented to Parliament on matters under consideration, and include committee proceedings, research into political, economic & social issues, treaties, bills, Royal Commission reports and more. They are compiled by Parliamentary session and since 1801 are arranged in three groups: Bills, House of Commons papers, Command Papers. While they do not include the agenda or House of Commons Debates, the Parliamentary Papers are nonetheless a rich source of primary source documents for British and Canadian history, politics and society.
Guide/Index: Subject catalogue of the House of Commons Parliamentary papers, 1801-1900;
British parliamentary papers. [General] index.
- Health, Physical Education and Recreation (University of Oregon Physical Education Series)
Now available online as OregonPDF Health & Performance. Content is limited to graduate dissertations and theses.
This set contains significant unpublished research materials, particularly doctoral dissertations and masters theses, as well as scholarly books and journals now out of print, from 1949 to 2002. Subject categories: Physical Education; Physiology of Exercise; Recreation and Camping; Health Education; Psychology. Issued first on microcard (AW2 O74), later on microfiche (AW5 O74). Microfiches are filed by author/title.
Guide/Index: Health, physical education, and recreation microform publications bulletin. Also indexed in SportDiscus.
- Herstory
Organized into three sections: newspapers, journals, and newsletters published by or about the women's liberation movement. The collection makes available the only comprehensive record of the ideas and events of the modern North American women's movement from the late 1950s through the early 1970s.
Guide/Index: Herstory microfilm collection: table of contents.
Guide/Index: Short-title catalogue of books printed in Spain and of Spanish books printed elsewhere in Europe before 1601 now in the British museum;
Short-title catalogues of Spanish, Spanish-American and Portuguese books printed before 1601 in the British Museum;
Bibliografía de la literatura hispánica.
Guide/Index: Microfilm reel index and table of contents to History of the Pacific Northwest and Canadian Northwest.
- The History of Women (1799-1920)
This extensive collection of material by and about women includes twelve thousand volumes of printed books, over two thousand pamphlet titles, one hundred thirty periodical titles, and one thousand photographs. Includes coverage of birth control, civil rights, education, the humanities, fine arts, government, law, medicine, theology, communications, missionary and settlement work, business and industry, the women's movement, women's rights, and other social reforms. Individual titles are in the online catalogue.
Guide/Index: History of women: guide to the microfilm collection.
- International Population Census Publications 1945-
Includes census volumes from countries in the following regions: Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, North America, and Oceania. Consists of the official census publications of these countries. UBC Library owns Series 1, 1945-1967, and parts of Series 3, post-1967.
Guide/Index: Bibliography and reel index: a guide to the microfilm edition of international population census publications, 1945-1967;
International population census, 1945-1967, cross-reference guide.
- Italian Books before 1601
A collection of fifteenth and sixteenth century books in all fields printed in Italy or written in Italian, based primarily on titles listed in the Short Title Catalogue of Books Printed in Italy and of Italian books Printed in Other Countries from 1465 to 1600, Now in the British Museum.
Guide/Index: Short-title catalogue of books printed in Italy and of Italian books printed in other countries from1465 to 1600, now in the British Museum.
- Jeffersonian Americana
A collection of scarce Americana up to about 1835; some of the volumes were either in Jefferson's library, or were printed during the Jefferson era. The majority, however, are related to and provide excellent primary source material for the Columbian, Colonial, Revolutionary, and Federal periods.
Individual titles are in the online catalogue.
Guide/Index: Jeffersonian Americana: list of titles; physical guide can be found in the Microform Guides Cabinet, Koerner Library, Floor 2.
- JSAS: Catalog of Selected Documents in Psychology 1971-1988 (American Psychological Association, Journal Supplement Abstract Service)
Articles included in this collection are original, unpublished manuscripts in the form of technical reports, bibliographies, data collections, teaching materials, lectures, literature reviews, methodological techniques and procedures, APA Task Force reports, major projects in progress, papers on management of psychological resources, etc.
Cumulative Indexes: V.1-12 1971-1982; V.13-15 1983-85; V.16-18 1986-88.
- League of Nations Documents and Publications, 1919-1946
Over 25,000 documents, serial publications and miscellaneous materials including League minutes. Arranged in eighteen subject categories, this material covers every aspect of the League's activities -- political, social, economic, welfare, and cultural.
Guide/Index: League of Nations documents, 1919-1946: a descriptive guide and key to the microfilm collection.
- The Mackenzie King Diaries, 1893-1931: Manuscript
A daily record of the public and private life of Mackenzie King as university student, civil servant, Minister of Labour, labour consultant to the Rockefeller Foundation, Leader of the Opposition, and Prime Minister.
Guide/Index: The Mackenzie King diaries, 1893-1931 : finding aid no. 502.
- National Technical Information Service (NTIS) Reports
The collection includes technical reports mostly funded by the US Government and not normally found in the US Monthly Catalog collection. Subjects covered include computer science; various fields in engineering; environmental sciences; agriculture; atomic energy; and Environmental Protection Agency reports. Date coverage mid 1950s to the 1990s.
Guide/Index: U.S. Government research and development reports, 1946-1970;
Government reports: announcements 1971-1975;
Government reports announcements & index, 1975-1979.
NTIS [CD-ROM], 1980-1998
NTIS website, 1990-
- Nineteenth Century Literary Manuscripts
Part 1: The Browning, Eliot, Thackeray and Trollope Manuscripts from the British Library, London
Contents include: 31 manuscripts of George Eliot, including complete manuscript versions of seven major novels, as sent to the printers, with numerous corrections, 22 manuscripts of Thackeray, including 11 volumes of diaries 1832-1863, and 3 single manuscripts -- Trollope's Autobiography, Elizabeth Barrett Browning's Sonnets from the Portuguese, Robert Browning's The Ring and the Book.
- Ontario Royal Commissions and Commissions of Inquiry, 1867-1983
Just as with Canada and the other provinces, Ontario's Royal Commission reports represent public inquiries - established at the behest of the Provincial government - into issues of topical importance. Typical topics for Ontario have included labour, education, agriculture, prison management, forestry policy, railroads, financial affairs, public health and police conduct.
Guide/Index: Ontario royal commissions and commissions of inquiry, 1867-1978 : a checklist of reports;
Provincial royal commissions and commissions of inquiry, 1867-1982 : a selective bibliography.
Ontario royal commission reports are available online in OurOntario.
- Opie Collection of Children's Literature
Children's books, chiefly British, from the eighteenth century to the present, collected by Iona and Peter Opie, housed in the Bodleian Library of Oxford University. UBC Library has Units 1 and 2.
Guide/Index: The Opie collection of children's literature : a guide to the microfiche collection.
- Origins of Modern Feminism: The Diaries of Constance Maynard (1849-1935)
The provision of higher education for women was the most widely supported feminist campaign of the nineteenth century. Constance Maynard was a leading pioneer of female education, and may be regarded as one of the most important feminist campaigners of the period. Her diaries provide an intimate view of her religious, intellectual and emotional life.
Guide/Index: The diaries of Constance Maynard. [Guide].
- O.S.S./State Department intelligence and research reports
From the Office of Strategic Services (OSS), the precursor to the CIA, this collection contains material covering Japan during World War II; Postwar Japan, Korea and Southeast Asia; China & India; Postwar Europe; the Soviet Union; and the Middle East.