Pacific Northwest Tribes Indian Language Collection
The first priority of the Jesuit missionaries arriving in the Pacific Northwest was to learn the native languages they encountered. Once fluent in the spoken tongues, they produced dictionaries and grammars and translated biblical and other religious texts. This collection includes the materials amassed by the Oregon Province Archives on twelve different Indian languages: Assiniboine, Blackfoot/Piegan, Chelan, Coeur d'Alene, Columbia/Moses, Colville, Crow, Gros Ventre, Kalispel, Kootenai, Nez Percé, and Yakima. Arrangement is by language, and all works have been identified by compiler/translator when possible.
Guide/Index: Guide to the microfilm edition of the Oregon Province Archives of the Society of Jesus Indian language collection: the Pacific Northwest tribes.
Partei und Staat in der DDR [Socialist Power in the GDR]
T.1. Die Akten aus dem Büro Walter Ulbricht; T.2. Die Akten aus dem Büro Erich Honecker; T.3. Die Protokolle des Zentralsekretariats der SED und des Politbüros des ZK der SED von 1946 bis 1989. [UBC has 3/1, 1946-1952]
Guide/Index: Partei und Staat in der DDR.
Paupérisme et la Condition Ouvrière en France au 19e siècle
140 documents dealing with conditions of the labouring classes in France during the nineteenth century. Emphasis on works with statistical basis that employ a social science methodology.
Guide/Index: Enquêtes sur la condition ouvrière en France au 19e siècle: étude - bibliographie - index.
Peel Bibliography on Microfiche
Also available online as Peel's Prairie Provinces. This site at the University of Alberta Libraries is a work in progress, still incomplete; it includes a vast number of newspapers and other material added to the 3rd Ed. of the bibliography.
Books and pamphlets relating to the Prairie Provinces up to 1953 dealing with every aspect of the settlement and development of the Canadian West. The set includes fiction with a Prairie setting, accounts by early explorers, writings by the many different ethnic groups who settled on the Prairies which were published in languages other than Englihs, British Blue Books, early Canadian Sessional Papers, town and city directories, and more. Microfiches are arranged by item numbers iin the bibliography.
Guide/Index: A bibliography of the Prairie provinces to 1953. 2nd Ed.
Includes Canadian provincial and municipal publications published after January 1, 1973, and before January 1, 1979. Types of publications included in ProFile: "Annual reports, Budget statements, estimates, public accounts, statistical summaries, board/committee reports, official plans, organizational manuals, planning reports, research studies and Royal Commission reports and studies." Continued by the Microlog microfiche collection.
Guide/Index: ProFile Index: Canadian provincial and municipal publications.
Québec. Legislature. Legislative Assembly Sessional Papers (1869-1933)
The Sessional Papers include annual departmental/agency reports, official correspondence and commission reports, etc., providing a rich source of information on topics such as education, land grants, the railway, agriculture, finance, inter-provincial relations and diplomacy.
Guide/Index: Répertoire analytique des publications gouvernementales du Québec.
Radical Periodicals in the United States, 1890-1960. AW5 R335 (microfiche) and AW1 R4780 (microfilm)
This collection of radical periodicals encompasses publications representing a wide range of American radical thought. Among the titles are journals of the socialist, anarchist, communist, syndicalist and pacifist movements. Individual titles are in the online catalogue, or browse by call number noted above.
Guide/Index: Radical periodicals in the United States, 1890-1960 : [checklist].
Russian Historical Sources (1846-1929) AW10 R85
Consists of a selected group of sources considered vital to research in Russian history. Each title was considered for its availability in original form, and for its value to the furtherance of Russian studies. Individual titles are in the online catalogue.
Guide/Index:Russian Historical Sources (1846-1929): checklist.
Russian history and culture: Scarce Books on 19th and Early 20th century Russia from the Helsinki University Library
A collection of 2,000 scarce books on nineteenth and early twentieth century Russia from Helsinki University Library's 300,000-volume Russian collection. The Library was an official depository of Russian books 1820-1917.
Guide/Index: Russian history and culture index: a microfiche collection of scarce books on 19th and early 20th century Russia from the Helsinki University Library.
Selected Americana from Sabin's Dictionary of Books relating to America, from its Discovery to the Present Time. AW2 S45 and AW5 S45.
Collection based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, First Nations, military actions and much more. Consists of millions of pages from thousands of works on western history and culture in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico, as well as reaching into South America and the Caribbean.
Now available online as Sabin Americana, 1500-1926.
Guide/Index: Selected Americana from Sabin's Dictionary of books relating to America, from its discovery to the present time;
The new Sabin; books described by Joseph Sabin and his successors, now described again on the basis of examination of originals, and fully indexed by title, subject, joint authors, and institutions and agencies.
Sexual politics in Britain (1967-1974)
Papers, minutes, and publications from the major British organizations which campaigned under the auspices of the gay rights and women's liberation movements. Also includes runs of important periodicals such as Spare Rib, Red Rag, and Gay News.
Guide/Index: Sexual politics in Britain: a bibliographical guide with historical notes.
Shanghai municipal police file, 1929-1945
Includes a significant portion of the archives of the British municipal police force based in the former Shanghai International Settlement. This branch of the police force was tasked with maintaining an orderly environment for foreign trade and commerce, and it collected intelligence on political demonstrations, strikes, labour and social unrest, foreign and domestic subversive activities, and areas of dispute between the International Settlement and the Chinese government. Includes: intelligence gathered on white Russian émigrés living in Shanghai; demonstrations; labour activities; investigations of alleged Comintern activities, including reports on Comintern agents, Soviet espionage and the Chinese communist party; and, materials on the Shanghai National Salvation Movement.
Guide/Index: Guide to the Scholarly Resources microfilm edition of the Shanghai Municipal Police files, 1894-1949.
Spanish Drama of the Golden Age
The collection includes more than 3,200 plays in editions of the seventeenth through the early nineteenth centuries, based on the Comedia collection held by the University of Pennsylvania Libraries.
Guide/Index: Spanish drama of the golden age; a catalogue of the Comedia collection in the University of Pennsylvania Libraries.
Guide/Index: Three centuries of English and American plays, a checklist: Engalnd, 1500-1800, United States, 1714-1830.
Guide/Index: A bibliography of French plays on microcards.
Guide/Index: Travels in the Confederate States, a bibliography.
Guide/Index: Travels in the Old South, a bibliography;
Travels in the Old South, I, II, III : [checklist].
Guide/Index: CIS U.S. serial set index.
Guide/Index: CIS U.S. serial set index.
Guide/Index: Monthly catalog of United States government publications.
Guide/Index: A Guide to O.S.S./State Department intelligence and research reports.
Guide/Index: XIX century fiction : a bibliographical record based on his own collection;
Victorian fiction ; alphabetical by author : rolls 1-442;
Victorian fiction : alphabetical by title : rolls 1-442;
Victorian fiction : a guide to series II, unit 1.
Guide/Index: Western books on Asia: Southeast Asia: publications from the John M. Echols Collection on Southeast Asia at Cornell University.
Guide/Index: A woman's view of drama, 1790-1830: the diaries of Anna Margaretta Larpent in the Huntington Library : a listing and guide to the microfilm collection.
Guide/Index: Women advising women: a listing and guide to the microfilm collection.
Guide/Index: Women, education and literature: the papers of Maria Edgeworth, 1768-1849.
Guide/Index: Women, emancipation and literature: the papers of Harriet Martineau 1802-1876 from the Birmingham University Library : a listing and guide to the microfilm collection.
Guide/Index: Women's language and experience, 1500-1940: women's diaries and related sources.
Guide/Index: Women's movement in Cuba, 1898-1958: the Stoner collection on Cuban feminism.
Guide/Index: Working women in Victorian Britain, 1850-1910 : the diaries and letters of Arthur J. Munby (1828-1910) and Hannah Cullwick (1833-1909) from Trinity College, Cambridge : a listing and guide to the microfilm collection.