This section highlights major microform collections with significant content centered on social issues.
- American Statistics Index (ASI) 1974-2010
The United States government is one of the world's most important and prolific publisher of statistics, producing a continual flow of facts and figures on virtually every aspect of life in America and on most matters of world-wide concern. Includes complete texts of many U.S. government publications not available from any other source. Filed according to ASI accession numbers.
Print Index and Abstracts available in the American Statistics Index.
Online Index available through Proquest Statistical Insight.
- Crime and Juvenile Delinquency (1920-1983)
Selected from the collection of the library of the National Council on Crime and Delinquency in Hackensack, New Jersey, founded in 1921. Titles include municipal, county, state, federal, and privately-generated documents, reports, and studies, mostly from the United States and Canada. Concentrates on ephemeral and difficult to acquire material.
Guide/Index: Crime and juvenile delinquency : a bibliographic guide to the basic microform collection.
Guide/Index: Fabian economic and social thought: the papers of Edward Carpenter, 1844-1929, from Sheffield Archives, Sheffield Libraries & Information Services.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report
The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. These translations provide access to primary sources from around the world. The vast majority originated in languages other than English and constitute a major resource for students of international and area studies, political science and world history. FBIS has full text reports of foreign broadcasts,official news agency transmissions, and government statements. The incomplete microfiche collection stops in 1995. The service continues online as World News Connection.
FBIS is now available online, covering all areas from 1941-1974 and the People's Republic of China from 1941-1996.
- Gay rights movement Series 11, International gay and lesbian periodicals and newsletters
Filmed from the holdings of the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives. This is the world's largest collection of lesbian and gay periodicals. Its international scope includes periodicals from more than 50 countries in the Americas, Europe, Australia and New Zealand, Asia, Africa, and the Middle East. Scholars working in the fields of gender studies, the history of sexuality, the history of social movements, studies in democratization, international studies and globalization will all find this to be a valuable resource. The set covers the Americas, Europe, Australia and New Zealand, and Asia, Africa and the Middle East.
Guide/Index: International periodicals and newsletters from the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives.
The collection can also be searched online.
- Goldsmiths'-Kress library of economic literature
Now available online as Making of the Modern World. Individual titles are in the online catalogue.
Microfilm of the collections in the Goldsmiths' Company Library of Economic Literature, London School of Economics, and of the Kress Library of Business and Economics, Harvard University. Titles are in English as well as many other western European languages. Individual titles are in the online catalogue.
- Segment 1. Printed books through 1800
- Segment 2. Printed books, 1801-1850
- Supplements to Segments 1 and 2
Guide/Index: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of economic literature : consolidated guide.
- Health, Physical Education and Recreation (University of Oregon Physical Education Series)
Now available online as OregonPDF Health & Performance. Content is limited to graduate dissertations and theses.
This set contains significant unpublished research materials, particularly doctoral dissertations and masters theses, as well as scholarly books and journals now out of print, from 1949 to 2002. Subject categories: Physical Education; Physiology of Exercise; Recreation and Camping; Health Education; Psychology. Issued first on microcard (AW2 O74), later on microfiche (AW5 O74). Microfiches are filed by author/title.
Guide/Index: Health, physical education, and recreation microform publications bulletin. Also indexed in SportDiscus.
- International Population Census Publications 1945-
Includes census volumes from countries in the following regions: Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, North America, and Oceania. Consists of the official census publications of these countries. UBC Library owns Series 1, 1945-1967, and parts of Series 3, post-1967.
Guide/Index: Bibliography and reel index: a guide to the microfilm edition of international population census publications, 1945-1967;
International population census, 1945-1967, cross-reference guide.
- JSAS: Catalog of Selected Documents in Psychology 1971-1988 (American Psychological Association, Journal Supplement Abstract Service)
Articles included in this collection are original, unpublished manuscripts in the form of technical reports, bibliographies, data collections, teaching materials, lectures, literature reviews, methodological techniques and procedures, APA Task Force reports, major projects in progress, papers on management of psychological resources, etc.
Cumulative Indexes: V.1-12 1971-1982; V.13-15 1983-85; V.16-18 1986-88.
Guide/Index: Enquêtes sur la condition ouvrière en France au 19e siècle: étude - bibliographie - index.
- Sexual politics in Britain (1967-1974)
Papers, minutes, and publications from the major British organizations which campaigned under the auspices of the gay rights and women's liberation movements. Also includes runs of important periodicals such as Spare Rib, Red Rag, and Gay News.
Guide/Index: Sexual politics in Britain: a bibliographical guide with historical notes.