Research Help - Vancouver
Need help with a literature review?
Your subject librarian can meet with you to help refine your search terms, advise on appropriate databases, discuss how to manage your search results, and consult on systematic or scoping review methods.
Book an online appointment here or contact ursula.ellis@ubc.ca.
If you're working on a systematic or scoping review, please complete this form:
woodward.library.ubc.ca/research-help/evidence-synthesis/
Workshops are regularly offered on a wide range of topics, including literature reviews and systematic reviews.
Pharmacy Literature Search Skills and PharmD Study Guide
Guides with tips for getting the most out of your literature search, studying for your licensure exam, and resources for the BPSc program.
Featured resources
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowCollection of books, drug information, multimedia, cases, and patient education. Books include DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach.
- LWW Health LibraryIncludes Applied Therapeutics and Bates.
- Library Access browser extensionInstall to get easier, faster access to full text articles and ebooks.
- CovidenceCovidence helps with the screening and data extraction stages of systematic and scoping reviews.
- Drug CocktailsInformation on interactions between medications, alcohol and recreational drugs. Professional and patient versions available.
CPS (formerly RxTx) is now available to alumni. Learn more about alumni access to resources.
Key Resources
- LexiCompIncludes Lexi-Drugs, AHFS Drug Information, Martindale, and several other drug information databases.
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowCollection of books, drug information, multimedia, cases, and patient education. Books include DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach.
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new windowEvidence based summaries on hundreds of medical conditions.
- Dynamed This link opens in a new windowEvidence summaries for over 3000 topics. Includes drug information from Micromedex.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowEquivalent content to PubMed, with some advanced search tools.
- EMBASE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowInternational (but European-focused) biomedical database with strengths in drug-related and rehabilitation sciences subjects.
- NatMed Pro This link opens in a new windowAn international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies
- CPS This link opens in a new windowIncludes eCPS, Therapeutic Choices, CPMA and CTMA. For access to the app, please see the box at the bottom of the page.
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination streaming videosLatest version of the Bates physical assessment videos. Includes videos on OSCE clinical skills.
Finding COVID-19 research
When searching Ovid MEDLINE or PubMed, there are COVID search filters you can add to your search to focus your results:
In Ovid MEDLINE, after searching for your topic, click the Limits link below the search box and check the "COVID-19" box, then the Search button:
In PubMed, click "Clinical Queries," in the Find section on the main page; then choose COVID-19.
The sources below are good places to find preprints, grey literature, and other COVID research not included in MEDLINE.
- Cochrane COVID-19 Study RegisterIncludes published journal articles, preprints, and clinical trial registry entries.
- WHO COVID-19 Research DatabaseIncludes journal articles, preprints, and other grey literature
- COVID-19 L-OVE from EpistemonikosPrimary studies, systematic reviews and other evidence syntheses. Sortable by PICO elements.
- Directory of resources related to COVID-19Compiled by EPPI-Centre - list of COVID research portals