Skip to main content

Pharmaceutical Sciences

Articles & Abstracts

Database Commands

Database

Truncation

Wildcard:

0 or 1 character

Wildcard:

Exactly 1 character

Phrase

Proximity

OVID databases

 

*  or  $  or  :

Examples:
 

pharm$ will find:

pharmacy, pharmacist, pharmaceutical….

Child* will find:

children, childbirth, child-centred, childhood…

?

Examples:

flavo?r

P?ediatric

#

Example:
 

wom#n

Quotation marks only needed if there's an "and," "or" or "use" in your phrase:

Examples:

“Sensitivity and Specificity”

“Substance use disorder”

 adjn

(adj=adjacent and "n" is the number of words)

 

Example:

environment* adj3 health will find environment, environmental etc. within 3 words of health.

PubMed

*

Note: truncation stops automatic mapping to MeSH and shows first 600 possible word endings

   

“your phrase”

Note: phrase searching stops automatic mapping to MeSH, and does not always find results

Proximity searching not available in PubMed 

EBSCO databases

 

*

 

#

Examples:

flavo#r

P#ediatric

?

Example:

wom?n

“your phrase”

Nn or Wn

(N= Near, W= Within and "n" is the number of words)

Example:
seat* n5 wheelchair will find seat or seating etc. within 5 words of wheelchair.

Web of Science

 

 

*

Web of Science allows left-sided truncation as well as right-sided.

Example: *statin will find:

atorvastatin, simvastatin, pravastatin…

$ for exactly 0-1 characters

* for 0-multiple characters

 

?

“your phrase”

NEAR/x

You can specify x number of words; or if you just type NEAR, the default range is within 15 words.

 

Finding Full Text of Articles

When searching an article database, find UBC’s eLink  to check for online version of articles. Clicking the eLink will take you to a “Find Full Text” screen like this:

If you don't find a link to a PDF or online journal on the Find Full Text page, here's what to do:

1) First, try the “Search UBC Library Catalogue” button to see whether the Library has a print copy of the journal. If so, you can visit the Library to scan a copy or use Document Delivery to request a copy.

2) If there’s not a print copy, use the “Request via UBC Interlibrary Loan” button. This lets you order a PDF copy of the article from another library (free for students, faculty, staff).

Database Searching Tutorials