Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pharmaceutical Sciences

SoTL Dissemination Fund

Planning to publish or present a paper on the scholarship of teaching and learning? The Office of the Provost has funding available for UBC faculty:

Journal Coverage in Databases

This table shows where major pharmacy and health sciences education journals are indexed (as of November 2020).

Please note that a lot of pharmacy education research is presented at conferences, rather than in peer-reviewed journals. Embase is a good place to find abstracts of posters and papers presented at conferences.

 

Journal Title

PubMed/ Ovid Medline

Embase

CINAHL

ERIC

Academic Medicine

 

to find pre-1989 articles, search the journal's website.

1989-present

 

1989-2014

1989-1990, select articles

1989-2003

Advances in Health Sciences Education Theory and Practice

(sometimes found under former title, Advances in Health Sciences Education)

1996-present

2001-present

2008-present

2004-present

American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education

 

to find pre-2006 articles, search the journal's website.

2006-present, and selective coverage of earlier years

2006-present, and selective coverage of earlier years

2004-present

1969-2002

BMC Medical Education

2001-present

2001-present

Clinical Teacher

2010-present

2006-2014

Currents in Pharmacy Teaching and Learning

2017-present, and selective coverage of earlier years

2009-present

Journal of Continuing Education in the Health Professions

2000-present, and selective coverage of earlier years

2007-2013

1988-present

1988-2013

Medical Education

1976-present

1977-present

1998-present

1976-2002

Medical Teacher

2001-present, and selective coverage of earlier years

1979-present

2004-present

1986-2003

Pharmacy Education

2002-present

Teaching and Learning in Medicine

2000-present

2002-present

2000-present

1990-2003

Search Terms for Pharmacy Education

MeSH terms may not be ideal for finding pharmacy education articles. Instead, try combining keywords such as these in Ovid Medline:

  1. pharmacist* or pharmacy
  2. preceptor* or experiential education or practice educator*
  3. 1 and 2

For more tips on database searching, please contact your librarian or see this guide: