Research Guides: Pharmaceutical Sciences: Drug Information

Drug Monographs and Therapeutics

LexiComp
Includes Lexi-Drugs, AHFS Drug Information, Martindale, and several other drug information databases.

CPS This link opens in a new window
Formerly RxTx and e-Therapeutics. Comprehensive drug information resource produced by the Canadian Pharmacists Association. Includes e-CPS and a drug interactions module.
Stockley's Drug Interactions This link opens in a new window
Contains data on over 4500 drug interactions, including interactions with food, drinks, herbal medicines and pesticides. 11th edition

Martindale via LexiComp
Search by drug name, or to browse Martindale, choose More Clinical Tools > Indexes.
Health Canada: Drug Product Database (DPD)
Provides trustworthy information on approximately 15,000 active and discontinued prescription drugs marketed in Canada.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Provides ~1000 monographs listed by brand name, generic name, and drug class. Patient handouts on drugs also available.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Drug monographs from Clinical Pharmacology Gold Standard Drug Database.
Additional features, including a presentation maker, the ability to download PDF versions of ebook chapters, customize patient handouts or save content in a personal profile, are available to users who create a free account. Click 'Register' at the top right of the ClinicalKey landing page to create a free account.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy This link opens in a new window
The full-text, online version of the 17th edition of the well-known medical textbook. Covers internal medicine, pediatrics, ophthalmology, gynecology, and numerous other specialties.

Drug Cocktails
Information on interactions between medications, alcohol and recreational drugs. Professional and patient versions available.
Antibiogram Canada
Regional antimicrobial susceptibility data for health regions across Canada. For details see this article: https://doi.org/10.1177/17151635221101343

NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
An international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies
PEN (Practice Based Evidence for Nutrition) This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based information on nutrition and dietetics produced by the Dietitians of Canada.

SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Access to Chemical Abstracts 1907-present. Use For: chemistry and chemical engineering, biochemistry, biotechnology, electrochemistry, metallurgy and materials science and pharmacology.
TOXNET This link opens in a new window
Unified interface of US National Library of Medicine's (NLM) databases in toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and toxic releases.
Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of The Merck Index: searchable database of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.

DrugBank
The DrugBank database is "a unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information."
PubChem
Free chemical information on small organic molecules, linked with PubMed/Entrez data.