Skip to main content

Microform Collections at UBC Library

UBC Library has a rich microform collection. This guide describes major collections, each containing numerous separate titles, along with the associated guides and bibliographies.
If collections are now available online, this is noted.

Asia

  • Shanghai municipal police file, 1929-1945

    Includes a significant portion of the archives of the British municipal police force based in the former Shanghai International Settlement. This branch of the police force was tasked with maintaining an orderly environment for foreign trade and commerce, and it collected intelligence on political demonstrations, strikes, labour and social unrest, foreign and domestic subversive activities, and areas of dispute between the International Settlement and the Chinese government. Includes: intelligence gathered on white Russian émigrés living in Shanghai; demonstrations; labour activities; investigations of alleged Comintern activities, including reports on Comintern agents, Soviet espionage and the Chinese communist party; and, materials on the Shanghai National Salvation Movement.

Guide/Index: Guide to the Scholarly Resources microfilm edition of the Shanghai Municipal Police files, 1894-1949.

Canada

  • British Columbia, Legislative Assembly, Sessional Papers. (1872-1982)

    British Columbia papers were published in sessional collections until 1982. The collection consists of reports tabled in the Legislative Assembly each year. These are a rich source of information on the history and social development of BC. In the 19th century the Sessional Papers included: voters lists by district; committee reports; orders of the day; petitions & papers presented; records of land sales; correspondence; (budgetary) estimates; and departmental reports. As the 19th century waned much of the content in the Sessional Papers was subsumed into the Journals of the Legislative Assembly or published in separate volumes. By the 1920s, they primarily contain annual reports from government Ministries. Content not transferred to the Journals includes the Voters' List - which was published on its own, and the Estimates - which were published by the Ministry of Finance.

Guide/Index: Guide to the British Columbia sessional papers on microfilm; Index for 1872-1971.

Sessional Papers are indexed in the Journals of the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia.

  • British Records Relating to America

    Material ranges in time from the Colonial period to the twentieth century, and in place from Quebec to the West Indies. Includes records relating to trade, industry, plantations, agriculture and ranching, immigration and settlement, the antislavery movement, politics, and military affairs. Personal papers, diaries, state documents, records of industrial and commercial concerns.   

Guide/Index: Microform Guides cabinet, Koerner Library, Floor 2.
Bibliography: A guide to manuscripts relating to America in Great Britain and Ireland  Note, this volume is filed under E173.C75 1979 and - while it provides brief descriptions of the documents in the collection - it does not provide any references to the microform reel numbers.

  • Canada. Dept. of Indian Affairs.  Archival Records, RG-10.

    The Record Group 10 collection at UBC Library comprises more than 500 reels of archival records.

    RG-10 includes:
    • Deputy superitendent letterbooks, 1879-1924.
    • Black series registers and indexes to registers, 1881-1923.
    • Field office correspondence and miscellaneous, ca. 1876-1936.
    • Records relating to the Indian peoples of British Columbia.
    • School files, records relating to B.C., 1879-1953.
    • Central registry files, 1868-1970.

Guide/Index:  RG-10 Finding aids "provides reel numbers, titles, and file numbers" for RG-10 content from all regions of Canada. 
Finding aid (BC specific): We have print finding aids to BC materials, the Black Series 1872-1959, and BC School Files. These are all available at Koerner Library Microforms Reference.

Online index from Library and Archives Canada: Government of Canada Files.
More information from Library and Archives Canada on the collection.

  • Canada. Parliament. Sessional Papers (1867-1925)

    Canadian government parliamentary papers were published in sessional collections until 1925. Consists of reports tabled in the House of Commons each year, including departmental annual reports, budgets and public accounts, census reports, election returns, and reports of commissions of inquiry and royal commissions. General indexes to the sessional papers are included in those to the Journals of the House of Commons.

Indexed in: Journals of the House of Commons, J103 C2 Koerner Library stacks; General Index to the Journals of the House of Commons of the Dominion of Canada and of the Sessional Papers of Parliament; and online from the University of Toronto Library.

Guide/Checklist: Microform Guides cabinet, Koerner Library, Floor 2.
Indexed in:  Journals of the House of Commons, J103 C2 Koerner Library stacks. (Items are identified as "unpublished" in the index to the Journals.)  Partially indexed in the sources listed above for the Sessional Papers.

  • Early Canadiana (CIHM : Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions)

    Canadian source material written by Canadians, published in Canada or written/published outside the country but about Canada, providing access to thousands of books, periodicals and government publications from the time of first contact to the first four decades of the 20th Century (government publications appear only up to 1900).  Early releases are in the microfiche collection and there are records for each item in the online catalogue.

    Later content is all online in Early Canadiana Online.
  • Federal Royal Commissions in Canada 1867-1966, 1967-1980 (Law Library) .

    Royal Commissions have been active in almost every area of economic and social life in Canada. Their reports are excellent indicators of the political and social climate of their times. This collection thus serves as a record of the important public issues that faced government in Canada's first century. (No complete collection exists in paper form.) The microfiche collection is in the Koerner Library Microforms collection and in the Law Library; the Law Library has added records for each commission report without noting that the set is also in Koerner.

Guide/Index:  Federal royal commissions in Canada, 1867-1966 : a checklist; George Fletcher Henderson;
Federal Royal Commissions in Canada, 1966-1977 : an update;
Canadian federal royal commissions 1978-1988 : an update;
Online Index to Federal Royal Commissions.

Guide/Index: Microfilm reel index and table of contents to History of the Pacific Northwest and Canadian Northwest.

  • The Mackenzie King Diaries, 1893-1931: Manuscript

    A daily record of the public and private life of Mackenzie King as university student, civil servant, Minister of Labour, labour consultant to the Rockefeller Foundation, Leader of the Opposition, and Prime Minister.

 Guide/Index:  The Mackenzie King diaries, 1893-1931 : finding aid no. 502.

  • Ontario Royal Commissions and Commissions of Inquiry, 1867-1983 

    Just as with Canada and the other provinces, Ontario's Royal Commission reports represent public inquiries - established at the behest of the Provincial government - into issues of topical importance. Typical topics for Ontario have included labour, education, agriculture, prison management, forestry policy, railroads, financial affairs, public health and police conduct.

Guide/Index: Ontario royal commissions and commissions of inquiry, 1867-1978 : a checklist of reports;
Provincial royal commissions and commissions of inquiry, 1867-1982 : a selective bibliography.

Ontario royal commission reports are available online in OurOntario.

  • Peel Bibliography on Microfiche

    Also available online as Peel's Prairie Provinces. This site at the University of Alberta Libraries is a work in progress, still incomplete; it includes a vast number of newspapers and other material added to the 3rd Ed. of the bibliography.

    Books and pamphlets relating to the Prairie Provinces up to 1953 dealing with every aspect of the settlement and development of the Canadian West. The set includes fiction with a Prairie setting, accounts by early explorers, writings by the many different ethnic groups who settled on the Prairies which were published in languages other than Englihs, British Blue Books, early Canadian Sessional Papers, town and city directories, and more. Microfiches are arranged by item numbers iin the bibliography.

Guide/Index: A bibliography of the Prairie provinces to 1953. 2nd Ed.

Guide/Index: Répertoire analytique des publications gouvernementales du Québec.

France

Individual titles are in the online catalogue.

  • French Revolutionary Pamphlets - AW 2 F74, AW 5 F74

    Based on the Saricks and Hayden bibliographies, the bulk of this collection covers the years 1787-1800. Many facets of the revolutionary era are illuminated -- political, religious, cultural, and financial. Includes both "official" and "unofficial" documents.  Individual works are filed by author or title in the French Revolutionary Pamphlets microfiche set.

Guide/Index:  Hayden, Horace E.  French revolutionary pamphlets : a check list of the Talleyrand & other collections;
A bibliography of the Frank E. Melvin collection of pamphlets of the French Revolution in the University of Kansas Libraries.

Shipping lists shelved in Koerner Library Microforms vertical file.

Guide/Index: Enquêtes sur la condition ouvrière en France au 19e siècle: étude - bibliographie - index.      

Germany

Guide/Index: Taschengoedeke: fotomechanischer Neudruck, durchgesehen und erganzt (1961);
Taschengoedeke: Bibliographie deutscher Erstausgaben (1970).

  • German Books before 1601 

    The collection reproduces important fifteenth and sixteenth century books in all fields and is based partially on titles listed in the Short Title Catalogue of Books Printed in the German Speaking Countries and of German Books Printed in Other Countries from 1455 to 1600, now in the British Museum. 

Guide/Index: German books before 1600: a catalog of the microfilm edition;
German books before 1601 on microfilm: a bibliography.

  • Partei und Staat in der DDR [Socialist Power in the GDR] 

    T.1. Die Akten aus dem Büro Walter Ulbricht; T.2. Die Akten aus dem Büro Erich Honecker; T.3. Die Protokolle des Zentralsekretariats der SED und des Politbüros des ZK der SED von 1946 bis 1989.  [UBC has 3/1, 1946-1952]

Guide/Index: Partei und Staat in der DDR.

Great Britain

The papers of each publisher have been treated as a separate set. Records include correspondence with authors, internal business records (accounts, minutes, copyrights, and printing, binding, and sales records). Guides/indexes are listed in the catalogue where available.

 

  • British Records Relating to America
    Material ranges in time from the Colonial period to the twentieth century, and in place from Quebec to the West Indies. Includes records relating to trade, industry, plantations, agriculture and ranching, immigration and settlement, the antislavery movement, politics, and military affairs. Personal papers, diaries, state documents, records of industrial and commercial concerns.   

Guide/Index: Microform Guides cabinet, Koerner Library, Floor 2.
Bibliography: A guide to manuscripts relating to America in Great Britain and Ireland  Note, this volume is filed under E173.C75 1979 and - while it provides brief descriptions of the documents in the collection - it does not provide any references to the microform reel numbers.

Index: Cumulative index to the annual catalogues of Her Majesty's Stationery Office publications, 1922-1972; items are numbered according to the year, page number, and order of appearance on each page in the annual HMSO Government Publications catalogues for those years.

  • Early English Newspapers, 1622-1890s

    Now online as 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

    Includes some 500 titles, dating from the beginning of the eighteenth century to the late nineteenth century, as well as an array of seventeenth century corantos, diurnals, and newsbooks. It covers metropolitan London newspapers and those defined as "provincial", as well as those from British colonial possessions (apart from America).

Guide/Index: Early English newspapers : bibliography and guide to the microfilm collection.

  • The Eighteenth Century

    Now available as Eighteenth Century Collections Online.

    The collection is based on the Eighteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (online as part of the English Short Title Catalogue) which lists all materials printed in any language in the British Empire, or printed in English elsewhere in the world between 1701 and 1800. Comprised of monographs, tract volumes, broadsides, pamphlets, and printed ephemera.

Guide/Index:  Fabian economic and social thought: the papers of Edward Carpenter, 1844-1929, from Sheffield Archives, Sheffield Libraries & Information Services.

  • Goldsmiths'-Kress library of economic literature

    Now available online as Making of the Modern World. Individual titles are in the online catalogue.

    Microfilm of the collections in the Goldsmiths' Company Library of Economic Literature, London School of Economics, and of the Kress Library of Business and Economics, Harvard University. Titles are in English as well as many other western European languages. Individual titles are in the online catalogue.

UBC owns:

  • Segment 1. Printed books through 1800
  • Segment 2. Printed books, 1801-1850
  • Supplements to Segments 1 and 2

Guide/Index: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of economic literature : consolidated guide.

  • Great Britain. House of Commons Parliamentary Papers

    Now available online as House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (U.K.).  HCPP now includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688; the debates (Hansard) are also included.

    British Parliamentary Papers or Sessional Papers are documents presented to Parliament on matters under consideration, and include committee proceedings, research into political, economic & social issues, treaties, bills, Royal Commission reports and more. They are compiled by Parliamentary session and since 1801 are arranged in three groups: Bills, House of Commons papers, Command Papers. While they do not include the agenda or House of Commons Debates, the Parliamentary Papers are nonetheless a rich source of primary source documents for British and Canadian history, politics and society.

Guide/Index: Subject catalogue of the House of Commons Parliamentary papers, 1801-1900;
British parliamentary papers. [General] index.

Guide/Index: Women's language and experience, 1500-1940: women's diaries and related sources.

Guide/Index: Working women in Victorian Britain, 1850-1910 : the diaries and letters of Arthur J. Munby (1828-1910) and Hannah Cullwick (1833-1909) from Trinity College, Cambridge : a listing and guide to the microfilm collection.

 

Great Britian. Colonial Office

UBC Library has several distinct collections about British Columbia from the Colonial office:

    • Vancouver Island Despatches 1846 - 1867 (CO 305)

      Reels included: B233. A significant portion of the Despatches from 1846-1871 is freely available online from the University of Victoria on the Colonial Dispatches website. These include public offices, despatches and correspondence between Vancouver Island's governing officials and the Colonial office in London.

Guide/Index:  Colonial correspondence: detailed finding aid. Call Number: FC3822 .C65, at the Koerner Library microforms reference shelf.

    • Papers Relating to British Columbia

      A microfilm collection of documents prepared for the Public Archives of Canada.

      Reels included: B199, B200, B216, B889-B892, B984, B994, B995, B1365, B1368, B1488, B1489, B1490, B1636, B1664, B1667.

Russia

Guide/Index: Eighteenth century Russian publications: [reel/item guide].

  • Russian Historical Sources (1846-1929) AW10 R85

    Consists of a selected group of sources considered vital to research in Russian history. Each title was considered for its availability in original form, and for its value to the furtherance of Russian studies. Individual titles are in the online catalogue.

Guide/Index:Russian Historical Sources (1846-1929): checklist.

Guide/Index: Russian history and culture index: a microfiche collection of scarce books on 19th and early 20th century Russia from the Helsinki University Library.

United States

  • American Periodicals, 1741-1900

    Documents the origins of American magazine journalism from 1741 and demonstrates the growth of periodical publication after 1800 (including virtually all the significant magazines of the period 1800 to 1850). UBC Library collection extends to 1850 only, reels 1-844.

Guide/Index: Microform Guides cabinet, Koerner Library, Floor 2.
American periodicals 1741-1900: an index to the microfilm collections.

  • American Statistics Index (ASI) 1974-2010

    The United States government is one of the world's most important and prolific publisher of statistics, producing a continual flow of facts and figures on virtually every aspect of life in America and on most matters of world-wide concern. Includes complete texts of many U.S. government publications not available from any other source. Filed according to ASI accession numbers.

Print Index and Abstracts available in the American Statistics Index.
Online Index available through Proquest Statistical Insight.

  • British Records Relating to America

    Material ranges in time from the Colonial period to the twentieth century, and in place from Quebec to the West Indies. Includes records relating to trade, industry, plantations, agriculture and ranching, immigration and settlement, the antislavery movement, politics, and military affairs. Personal papers, diaries, state documents, records of industrial and commercial concerns.   

Guide/Index: Microform Guides cabinet, Koerner Library, Floor 2.
Bibliography: A guide to manuscripts relating to America in Great Britain and Ireland  Note, this volume is filed under E173.C75 1979 and - while it provides brief descriptions of the documents in the collection - it does not provide any references to the microform reel numbers.

Guide/Index: The Declassified documents quarterly catalog and The Declassified documents catalog.

  • Early American Children's books

    Early American children's books from the A.S.W. Rosenbach Collection. Microreproduction of 680 books from the A.S.W. Rosenbach Collection in the Free Library of Philadelphia.

Guide/Index: Rosenbach, A.S.W.  Early American children's books;
Early American children's books:  [index of authors and titles].

Online Indexes: ESTC, WorldCat.
Guide/Index: American bibliography.

Online Index: ESTC
Guide/Index: American bibliography; a preliminary checklist for 1801-1819.

  • The Eighteenth Century

    Now available as Eighteenth Century Collections Online.

    The collection is based on the Eighteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (online as part of the English Short Title Catalogue) which lists all materials printed in any language in the British Empire, or printed in English elsewhere in the world between 1701 and 1800. Comprised of monographs, tract volumes, broadsides, pamphlets, and printed ephemera.
  • Goldsmiths'-Kress library of economic literature

    Now available online as Making of the Modern World. Individual titles are in the online catalogue.

    Microfilm of the collections in the Goldsmiths' Company Library of Economic Literature, London School of Economics, and of the Kress Library of Business and Economics, Harvard University. Titles are in English as well as many other western European languages. Individual titles are in the online catalogue.

UBC owns:

  • Segment 1. Printed books through 1800
  • Segment 2. Printed books, 1801-1850
  • Supplements to Segments 1 and 2

Guide/Index: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of economic literature : consolidated guide.

Guide/Index: Microfilm reel index and table of contents to History of the Pacific Northwest and Canadian Northwest.

  • Jeffersonian Americana 

    A collection of scarce Americana up to about 1835; some of the volumes were either in Jefferson's library, or were printed during the Jefferson era. The majority, however, are related to and provide excellent primary source material for the Columbian, Colonial, Revolutionary, and Federal periods.

Individual titles are in the online catalogue.

Guide/Index: Jeffersonian Americana: list of titles; physical guide can be found in the Microform Guides Cabinet, Koerner Library, Floor 2.

  • Pacific Northwest Tribes Indian Language Collection 

    The first priority of the Jesuit missionaries arriving in the Pacific Northwest was to learn the native languages they encountered. Once fluent in the spoken tongues, they produced dictionaries and grammars and translated biblical and other religious texts. This collection includes the materials amassed by the Oregon Province Archives on twelve different Indian languages: Assiniboine, Blackfoot/Piegan, Chelan,  Coeur d'Alene, Columbia/Moses, Colville, Crow, Gros Ventre, Kalispel, Kootenai, Nez Percé, and Yakima. Arrangement is by language, and all works have been identified by compiler/translator when possible.

Guide/Index: Guide to the microfilm edition of the Oregon Province Archives of the Society of Jesus Indian language collection: the Pacific Northwest tribes.

  • Radical Periodicals in the United States, 1890-1960. AW5 R335 (microfiche) and AW1 R4780 (microfilm)

    This collection of radical periodicals encompasses publications representing a wide range of American radical thought. Among the titles are journals of the socialist, anarchist, communist, syndicalist and pacifist movements. Individual titles are in the online catalogue, or browse by call number noted above.

Guide/Index: Radical periodicals in the United States, 1890-1960 : [checklist].

  • Selected Americana from Sabin's Dictionary of Books relating to America, from its Discovery to the Present Time. AW2 S45 and AW5 S45.

    Collection based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, First Nations, military actions and much more. Consists of millions of pages from thousands of works on western history and culture in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico, as well as reaching into South America and the Caribbean.

    Now available online as Sabin Americana, 1500-1926.

Guide/Index: Selected Americana from Sabin's Dictionary of books relating to America, from its discovery to the present time;
The new Sabin; books described by Joseph Sabin and his successors, now described again on the basis of examination of originals, and fully indexed by title, subject, joint authors, and institutions and agencies.

  • Travels in the Confederate States

    Travel material arranged by author, including diaries, series of letters, reminiscences, autobiographies, regional histories and accounts, and narratives written primarily as travel accounts. Part of the same series as the following travel set.

Guide/Index: Travels in the Confederate States, a bibliography.

  • Travels in the Old South (1527-1860)

    Travel material arranged by author, including diaries, series of letters, reminiscences, autobiographies, regional histories and accounts, and narratives written primarily as travel accounts.

Guide/Index: Travels in the Old South, a bibliography;
Travels in the Old South, I, II, III : [checklist].

Guide/Index: CIS U.S. serial set index.

  • United States Congress Serial Set

    Note: This overlaps with the collection "United States Congress American State Papers."

    Now available online on the Library of Congress American Memory website and in the subscription database ProQuest US Serial Set Digital Collection.

    This collection contains the journals of both houses of Congress and, of great interest and historical importance, the scores of documents submitted to that body such as annual reports of all executive departments, and titles designated Senate and House Reports.

Guide/Index: CIS U.S. serial set index.

  • United States Government Publications

    This is a nearly complete collection of all U.S. federal government publications for the years indicated. The years 1953-1980 are in microprint; 1981, part of 1982, and 1984-1985 are in microfiche. Congressional committee hearings, prints, and miscellaneous publications for the gaps in this period and for 1986-1987 are also in microfiche.

Guide/Index: Monthly catalog of United States government publications.

Guide/Index: A Guide to O.S.S./State Department intelligence and research reports.