History of Nursing in Pacific Canada in Open Collections
-
History of Nursing in Pacific CanadaUBC Library, together with the UBC School of Nursing Consortium for Historical Inquiry in Nursing and Health Care and the BC History of Nursing Society, has identified material that is of interest to scholars of nursing history. It provides access to nursing and health history that highlights the contributions of nurses connected to our geographic area.
-
UBC School of Nursing FondCompiled by UBC Archivist Erwin Wodarczak
Indigenous Nursing
-
30 Years of community
by
Call Number: Xwi7xwa Library, SA A533 A30 2005 -
The Aboriginal nurse
by
Call Number: Xwi7xwa Library Archives
-
Healing histories
by
Call Number: ebook and available in print at Koerner Library, Woodward Library, Xwi7xwa Library, WF205.DC2 M44 2013 -
Taking medicine: Women's healing work and colonial contact in Southern Alberta, 1880-1930
by
Call Number: ebook and available in print at Koerner Library, Okanagan Library, Rare Books & Special Collections ASRS, Xwi7xwa Library, WA309.DC2.1 A3 B87 2010 -
Totem poles and tea
by
Call Number: ebook and available in print at Rare Books and Special Collections, Xwi7xwa Library, FC3845.V54 Z49 2006 -
Twice as good: A history of Aboriginal nurses.
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, Xwi7xwa Library, WY300.DC2 T84 2007
History of Canadian Nurses
-
Canadian Nurses Association: One hundred years of service, 1908-2008
by
Call Number: Okanagan Library, Woodward Library, WY1.C28 E46 2013
-
Caregiving on the Periphery: Historical Perspectives on Nursing and Midwifery in Canada
by
Call Number: Okanagan Library, WY11.DC2 C385 2010 -
Caring and Compassion
by
Call Number: Rare Books & Special Collections, Woodward Library, BX4486.4.Z6 B83 2011 -
Dressing Up History : Nursing Attire in B.C. in the 1850s : Origin and Social Signifiance
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, WY300.DC2 Z4 1999
-
Forging the Future
by
Call Number: Okanagan Library, Woodward Library, WY11.DC2 M36 2004 -
From the Voices of Nurses
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, WY11.DC2 B369f 2004 -
Heritage of Service: The History of Nursing in Alberta
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, WY11.DC2.1 A4 C38 1966
-
Milestones: The first 100 years of the Canadian Nurses Association 1908-2008
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, WY11 .M54 2008 dvd
-
On all frontiers: Four centuries of Canadian nursing
by
Call Number: ebook and available in print at BMB Library, Okanagan Library, Woodward Library, WY11.DC2 O54 2005 -
A passion for prevention: Public health nursing in Skeena Health Unit, 1937-1997
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, WY108 .H377 2011
-
Past is Present : The CAHN/ACHN Keynote Presentations 1988-1996
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, WY11.DC2 P377 1997
-
Place and practice in Canadian nursing history
by
Call Number: ebook and available in print at Okanagan Library, Rare Books & Special Collections, WY11.DC2 P59 2008 -
Reflections of care: A century of nursing in Cape Breton
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, WY11.1 .R43 2006
-
Three centuries of Canadian nursing
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, WY11.DC2 G4
-
Through the years with public health nursing: A history of public health nursing in the provincial government jurisdiction British Columbia
by
Call Number: ebook and available in print at Woodward Library Memorial Room, WY11.DC2.1 B7 G74 1984
-
Traditions and transitions: A photographic history of nursing in Saskatchewan.
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, WY11.DC2.1 S2 B377 2006
History of Nursing Around the World
-
The Feminine Touch: Women in Osteopathic Medicine
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, WB112 .Q7 2011 -
History as evidence: Nursing interventions through time
by
Call Number: Woodward Library Reserve, Okanagan Library, WY11.1 .H673 2011 -
A History of Nursing
by
Call Number: Woodward Library Memorial Room, WY11.M S46 1946
-
The History of Nursing: An Interpretation of the Social and Medical Factors Involved
by
Call Number: Woodward Library Memorial Room, WY11 .S45 1959
-
Nurses on the Front Line
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, Okanagan Library, WY11.AA1 N974 2011 -
Women and the Practice of Medical Care in Early Modern Europe, 1400-1800
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, WZ80.5.W5 W552 2011
Nursing School: From Student to Professional
-
A Call to Nurse : Memories of Life On and Off Duty in a Hospital Training School, 1901-1978
by
Call Number: Okanagan Library, Rare Books & Speical Collections, WY19 .C156 2013
-
Emily Patterson: The heroic life of a milltown nurse
by
Call Number: ebook -
Faculty of nursing on the move: Nursing at the University of Calgary, 1969-2004
by
Call Number: ebook, and in print at Okanagan Library, Woodward Library, WY19 .B67 2005 -
The First Decade : Diploma Nursing Program, Mount Royal College, Calgary, 1963-1973
by
Call Number: Woodward Library Memorial Room, WY19.M679 F57 1986
-
History of the School for Nurses of the Montreal General Hospital
by
Call Number: Woodward Library Memorial Room, WY19.M6 M2
-
Labor of Love: A Memoir of Gertrude Richards Ladner, 1879 to 1976
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, WZ100.L175 Z47 2006
-
Legacy : History of Nursing Education at the University of British Columbia, 1919-1994
by
Call Number: Rare Books and Special Collections, Woodward Library, WY19 .Z54 1994
-
Memories: 100th Anniversary of the St. Paul's Hospital School of Nursing - 2007 [video]
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, WY19.V3 M45 2007 dvd
-
Quest for a Profession: The History of the Vancouver General Hospital School of Nursing
by
Call Number: Rare Books and Speical Collections, Woodward Library Memorial Room, WY19.V35 K44 1973
-
Traditions and Transitions : History of the Nursing Programs at Thompson Rivers University, 1973-2003
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, WY19 .S55 2010
-
Watch-fires on the Mountains; the Life and Writings of Ethel Johns
by
Call Number: I.K. Barber Library ASRS, Woodward Library Memorial Room, WZ100.J62 S89 1973
-
The Winnipeg General Hospital School of Nursing, 1887-1953
by
Call Number: Woodward Library Memorial Room, WY19.W55 J64 1953
Wartime Nurses
-
Agnes Warner and the Nursing Sisters of the Great War
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, D629.C2 Q56 2010 -
My beloved poilus
by
Call Number: ebook
-
Nisei Cadet Nurse of World War II: Patriotism in Spite of Prejudice
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, WZ112.5.N8 R628 2005
-
An officer and a lady: Canadian military nursing and the Second World War.
by
Call Number: ebook and available in print at Okanagan Library, Rare Books & Special Collections, Woodward Library, D807.C2 T64 2007 -
Sister soldiers of the Great War: The nurses of the Canadian Army Medical Corps.
by
Call Number: ebook and available in print at Rare Books & Special Collections, Woodward Library, WZ112.5.N8 T65 2016 -
This Small Army of Women: : Canadian Volunteer Nurses and the First World War
by
Call Number: ebook and available in print at Rare Books & Special Collections, D629.C2 Q55 2017; D629.C2 -
War Girls
by
Call Number: Woodward Library, WY11.FA1 L44 2005
Other Resources
-
Bibliography of histories of Canadian hospitals and schools of nursing: 1751 – 2024"published histories of Canadian hospitals; the scope has been expanded slightly to include separately published histories of Canadian schools of nursing and Canadian university faculties of health sciences as these are closely associated with hospitals"
