Finding Books: Subject Headings
Try following one of these links or build your own subject search. These subject headings are used throughout the UBC libraries, not only for RBSC.
Highlighted Resources
Aboriginal peoples and forest lands in Canada by Call Number: SD145 .A37 2013ISBN: 9780774823340Publication Date: 2013- Sources for researching fishing, forestry and mining history in British Columbia archives byCall Number: ZHC11.7.B8 H583 1996Publication Date: 1996
Stewards of the people's forests : a short history of the British Columbia Forest Service by Call Number: SD146 .B7 G75 2014ISBN: 9780772668325Publication Date: 2014- UBC Forestry, 1921-1990 : an informal history byCall Number: LE3.B82 S45 1990ISBN: 0888654251Publication Date: 1990
Up-coast : forests and industry on British Columbia's north coast, 1870-2005 by Call Number: SD146.B7 R348 2006ISBN: 0772654603Publication Date: 2005
Finding Books: Call Numbers
Since RBSC does not permit browsing of materials that are housed in the vault, call number browsing is an effective way to virtually "see" books as they are arranged on the shelf.
Learn more about call numbers.
To design your own call number browse, use the catalogue's "simple search" tab within the "advanced search" function.
Enter the beginning of the call number. The more you enter, the more specific the search. Be sure to select Rare Books and Special Collections from the dropdown menu beside "Filter by Location/Item Type/Language"
To browse for Forestry books on the shelves, use the call number SD.
- Forestry: SD1 - SD669.5
- History of forestry: SD131-247.5
- Forest machinery, engineering and tools: SD388
- Forest roads: SD389
- Forest soils: SD390-SD390.43
- Silviculture: SD 391-SD410
- Forest conservation and protection: SD411-SD428
- Forest utilization: SD430-SD559
- Forest policy and adminstration: SD 561-SD669.5
To browse for books on the history of forestry workers, use the call number HD
- Labor. Working class: by industry or trade: 8039​
You can also find some resources that have been categorized as "Special Pamphlets" (SPAM):
UBC's Forestry Pamphlets at Rare Books and Special Collections
Forestry Associations
- The Association of BC Forest ProfessionalsA professional association representing British Columbia's professional foresters and forest technologists.
- Canadian Institute of ForestryAn institute representing foresters, forest technologists and technicians, ecologists, biologists, geographers, educators, scientists and many others with a professional interest in forestry, with an aim to provide national leadership in forestry, promote competence among forestry professionals, and foster public awareness of Canadian and international forestry issues.
- Directory of Forest Industry Associations in CanadaA website containing a directory of Forest Industry Associations in Canada
- The Forest History Association of British ColumbiaAn association of professional from a variety of disciplines and locations concerned with the collection, preservation, cataloguing, and use of historical material related to the forests of the British Columbia. The association's activity has focused on conducting research on the contribution of individuals and companies to forest conservation, management and utilization.
- Forest History SocietyA library and archives based in the United States, the Forest History Society collects and preserves resources to help scholars and writers worldwide access and understand forest history.
Other Related Sites
- Canadian Institute of Forestry History PortalThe Canadian Institute of Forestry/Institut forestier du Canada was founded in 1908 and has played a strong role in the changes and improvements to sustainable forestry practices since that time. Growth Rings: 100 Proud Years of Forestry in Canada is a documentary celebrating their first 100 years.
- BC Forest Service Centenary SocietyA society established to celebrate the 100 year anniversary of the BC Forest Service. The website includes many historical resources and links to other related sites.
- NiCHE | Network in Canadian History & EnvironmentNiCHE: Network in Canadian History & Environment / Nouvelle initiative canadienne en histoire de l’environnement is a Canadian-based confederation of researchers and educators who work at the intersection of nature and history. They explore the historical context of environmental matters and communicate our findings to researchers, policymakers, and the public.
- Forestry - The Canadian EncyclopediaThe Canadian Encyclopedia plays an essential role in providing Canadians and others with accurate, updated information about our people and country. This entry provides a brief introduction of the forestry industry in Canada from the early 19th century to present day.