This guide lists selected resources on Forestry available through the UBC Library and the web. Trying to find scholarly/academic articles for your paper? Click on the Finding Articles tab above.
Related Guides Agroforestry Forestry History and Archives GIS - Geographic Information Systems Indigenous Peoples, Forests and Communities Natural Resources Conservation Secondary Wood Manufacturing Wood Science
Need Research Help? Katherine Miller, LibrarianUndergraduate programskatherine.miller@ubc.ca | (604) 822-0295 Sally Taylor, LibrarianGraduate programssally.taylor@ubc.ca | (604) 822-6638 Visit Woodward Library (hours)
Librarians UBC Vancouver Katherine Miller (Life Sciences Libraries) UBC Vancouver Sally Taylor (Life Sciences Libraries)
Start With AGRICOLA North American literature covering every major agricultural subject. CAB Direct (CAB Abstracts & Global Health) International literature on all topics in agriculture, forestry, human health, human nutrition, animal health and the management and conservation of natural resources, leisure and tourism. Coverage 1900- Web of Science Classic multidisciplinary index to scholarly articles with 'times cited' feature.
Additional Indexes & Databases BIOSIS Previews Current life science information covering fields such as Agriculture, Biology, Biochemistry, Biotechnology, Botany, Ecology, Pre-Clinical and Experimental Medicine, Pharmacology, Veterinary Sciences and Zoology. Business Source Complete Business Source Complete provides journal articles and other materials relating to business, management, economics, banking, finance, and accounting. Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Engineering, Technology, Life and Physical Sciences FAO : Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Information portal on agriculture, forestry and food. PAIS and PAIS Archive Public policy, social policy and social sciences Social Sciences in Forestry Legislation, policy, planning, management, economic development, as applied to forestry. TreeSearch & FS INFO : US Forest Service Library Network US Forest Service research publications and data sets
Librarians UBC Vancouver Katherine Miller (Life Sciences Libraries) UBC Vancouver Sally Taylor (Life Sciences Libraries)
General SourcesOnline Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences Forestry Compendium Silvics of North America Print Forestry Handbook for British Columbia SD146.B7 F683 2005 at Woodward Library Silvics of North America QK481.B875 1990 at Woodward Library
ReportsFind information on types of forest, area occupied, quantity harvested and impact on the economy. Forest Health - Aerial Overview Survey (BC) Forest Inventory and Analysis National Program (US) The State of Canada’s Forests Annual Report 2010
Tree ID: Use to identify treesOnline Tree book : learning to recognize trees of British Columbia Print The illustrated encyclopedia of trees : timbers and forests of the world QK475.E29 1978 at Woodward Library Northwest Trees QK484.N95 A75 1977a at Woodward Library Tree book : Learning to recognize trees of British Columbia QK485.2.B7 C68 1994 at Woodward Library The Tree Key QK477.2.I4 E34 1978 at Woodward Library Trees and Shrubs of British Columbia QK485.2.B7 B739 1996 at Woodward Library Trees in Canada QK485.F37 1995 at Woodward Library Trees, Shrubs and Flowers to Know in British Columbia & Washington QK203.B7 L9 1995 at Woodward Library
Librarians UBC Vancouver Katherine Miller (Life Sciences Libraries) UBC Vancouver Sally Taylor (Life Sciences Libraries)
Search UBC Library Catalogue Search:within Keyword (relevance ranked)Keyword (use AND, OR, NOT, or "a phrase")Title KeywordTitle (begins with)Journal Title (begins with)Author KeywordSubject KeywordCall Number Browse Filter by Location/Item Type/Language: All ItemsLocation: Asian LibraryLocation: Biomedical Branch LibraryLocation: David Lam LibraryLocation: Education LibraryLocation: Extension LibraryLocation: Hamber LibraryLocation: I.K. Barber Learning CentreLocation: Koerner LibraryLocation: Law LibraryLocation: Music LibraryLocation: Okanagan LibraryLocation: OnlineLocation: Rare Books & Special CollectionsLocation: Robson Square LibraryLocation: St. Paul's Hospital LibraryLocation: Woodward LibraryLocation: Xwi7xwa LibraryFormat: Sound RecordingFormat: VideorecordingLanguage: ChineseLanguage: FrenchLanguage: GermanLanguage: JapaneseLanguage: KoreanLanguage: Spanish Records per page: 10 records per page20 records per page25 records per page50 records per page
Books on this subject can be found in the UBC Library Catalogue using subject headings such as: agroforestry forest conservation forest fires forest health forest management forest products forest soils non-timber forest products sustainable forestry urban forestry Browsing the shelves To browse for books on the shelves, use the call number. Books on the identification of trees are in Botany and have call numbers beginning with QK . Books in Forestry have call numbers beginning with SD. Forestry: SD1 - SD669.5 Forest machinery, engineering and tools: SD388 Forest roads: SD389 Forest soils: SD390 - SD390.43 Forest meteorology, Forest microclimatology: SD390.5 - SD390.7 Silviculture: SD391 - SD410 Forest conservation and protection SD411 - SD428 Forest utilization: SD430 - SD559 Forest policy and administration: SD561 - SD669.5
Librarians UBC Vancouver Katherine Miller (Life Sciences Libraries) UBC Vancouver Sally Taylor (Life Sciences Libraries)
UBC Graduate Forestry Theses & Dissertations UBC graduate theses are online in cIRcle: UBC's Information Repository. Use Advanced Search to search by the program Forestry as shown below.
UBC Undergraduate Forestry Theses & Graduating Essays2008 - present Undergraduate Forestry Theses and Graduating Essays completed from 2008 - present are online in cIRcle: UBC's Information Repository 1920 - 2008 Undergraduate Forestry Theses and Graduating Essays completed between 1920 and 2008 are held in Woodward Library. To search for them in UBC Library catalogue use the Guided Keyword Search as shown below. To borrow them from the Library ask at the Circulation Desk in Woodward Library.
Non-UBC Theses & Dissertations ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text Searchable index of dissertations, some theses. The full text of dissertations and theses added to the database since 1997 are available to UBC users. Theses Canada Portal Indexes approximately 310,000 theses and dissertations on microform in Library and Archives Canada's collection. Of these approximately 90,000 are also available in fulltext. NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations A collaborative effort of the NDLTD, OCLC, VTLS, and Scirus, the NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations.
Need help with writing? A Writing Guidebook for the Natural Sciences from UBC Forestry is freely available online.
Librarians UBC Vancouver Katherine Miller (Life Sciences Libraries) UBC Vancouver Sally Taylor (Life Sciences Libraries)
British Columbia Alex Fraser Research Forest Management and Working Plans Annual Report BC Forest Practices Board Annual Report BC Forest Science Program Annual Report BC Ministry of Forests, Mines and Lands Annual Report State of BC Forests BC Agricultural Land Commission BC Ministry of Forests, Mines and Lands BC Ministry of Forest , Mines and Lands - Publications Forest Analysis and Inventory Branch Forest Practices Board FORREX - Forum for Research and Extension in Natural Resources The Handbook of Best Mangement Practices for Private Forest Land in BC Mountain Pine Beetle Program Pacific Forestry Centre (Canadian Forest Service) Results-Based Forest & Range Practices Regime for BC (discussion paper, 2002) Review of the Forest Development Planning Process in British Columbia 2000
Canada Annual Report State of Canada's Forests Canadian Boreal Initiative Canadian Forest Service Canadian Forest Service publications Canadian Model Forest Network Canada's National Forest Information System Environment Canada - Nature National Forestry Database Program Natural Resources Canada Publications Sustainable Forest Management in Canada
US & International FAO Forestry Forestry bookmarks G8 Action Programme on Forests Global Forest Information Service New Zealand Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry Oxford Forestry Institute Pacific Northwest Research Station Publications Queensland Forestry Research UNESCO US Forest Service USDA Forest Service Research & Development World Conservation Monitoring Centre
Librarians UBC Vancouver Katherine Miller (Life Sciences Libraries) UBC Vancouver Sally Taylor (Life Sciences Libraries)
Statistics - Canada Canadian Forest Industries - Statistics and Analysis COFI: Forest Industry Statistics Compendium of Canadian Forestry Statistics Industry Canada - Trade Data Online Random Lengths Yearbook
Statistics - US & International FAOSTAT Forestry Global Forest, Paper & Packaging Industry Survey 2010 Investext (company and industry reports) Production, prices, employment, and trade in Northwest forest industries, all quarters 2009 (USDA) Random Lengths International Random Lengths Yearbook UNECE/FAO Forestry & Timber Section - Data & Statistics USDA Foreign Agricultural Service - Trade Data U.S. timber production, trade, consumption, and price statistics 1965 to 2005
Librarians UBC Vancouver Katherine Miller (Life Sciences Libraries) UBC Vancouver Sally Taylor (Life Sciences Libraries)
Forest Policy BC Ministry of Forests and Range Policy Manual Forest Policy Resources (UBC Faculty of Forestry) ODI Search BC Ministry of Forests and Range Manuals
Forest Law BC Statutes & Regulations Federal Forestry Act Forest & Range Practices Act (formerly Forest Practices Code)
Librarians UBC Vancouver Katherine Miller (Life Sciences Libraries) UBC Vancouver Sally Taylor (Life Sciences Libraries)
Refworks is a web-based citation management program that enables you to: download, gather, and store references from databases and library resources automatically format citations and bibliographies in seconds connect to your RefWorks account anywhere there's web access share your citations with other RefWorks users CLICK HERE to access RefWorks
Librarians UBC Vancouver Katherine Miller (Life Sciences Libraries) UBC Vancouver Sally Taylor (Life Sciences Libraries)
FRST 100 Evaluating Internet Sources: Guide to how to evaluate websites and other information you find on the internet. FRST 545 Course page for library workshops: style guides, databases, citation management, comparing journals, digital repositories
Librarians UBC Vancouver Katherine Miller (Life Sciences Libraries) UBC Vancouver Sally Taylor (Life Sciences Libraries)