Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Forest History and Archives

A guide to archival materials related to forests and forestry at UBC's Rare Books and Special Collections

About These Collections

Records listed here include a few larger collections which contain relevant forest history material at RBSC.

undefined[unknown]. “Largest Recorded Tree in British Columbia, a Cedar Felled 1896 in North Vancouver, Diameter about 22 Feet.” P. Vancouver : Coast Publishing Co., 1896. Original Format: University of British Columbia. Library. Rare Books and Special Collections. Uno Langmann Family Collection of B.C. Photographs. UL_1633_0034. Web. 30 July 2020. <https://open.library.ubc.ca/collections/langmann/items/1.0361731>. Uno Langmann Family Collection of British Columbia Photographs.

Materials at UBC University Archives

University Archives preserves and makes accessible the records of University departments and individuals, including the Department of Forestry, and the University Research Forests. Images such as the one below are available through the University Archives Photographs Collection.

[unknown]. “Forestry Photograph Surveys.” P. N.p., 8 May 1949. Original Format: University of British Columbia. Archives. Web. 5 Mar. 2021. <https://open.library.ubc.ca/collections/arphotos/items/1.0142382>. UBC Archives Photograph Collection.