Research Guides: Dental Hygiene: Getting Started

Introduction to the Library

Introduction to the Library: Top 10 List
Library Skills Tutorial
This guide is an instructional resource intended to assist with access to basic UBC Library resources

Subject Specific Research Guides

Full List of Health Science Subject Guides

Research Methods

Key Resources

Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 5th edition (Streaming Videos)
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination is an updated collection of online videos of the classic textbook on physical examination and history taking.
BMJ Best Practice
BMJ Best Practice offers a step-by-step evidence-based approach to clinical problems throughout the patient journey. Includes access to Comorbidities tool and mobile app.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.

Additional features, including a presentation maker, the ability to download PDF versions of ebook chapters, customize patient handouts or save content in a personal profile, are available to users who create a free account. Click 'Register' at the top right of the ClinicalKey landing page to create a free account.
CPS
Formerly RxTx and e-Therapeutics. Comprehensive drug information resource produced by the Canadian Pharmacists Association. Includes e-CPS and a drug interactions module.
DynaMed
A point-of-care reference tool containing clinically-oriented summaries for 3,200+ topics.
Embase (Ovid)
International (but European-focused) biomedical database with strengths in drug-related and rehabilitation sciences subjects.
UpToDate Lexidrug
Online access to Lexi-Drugs monographs and interaction checker, AHFS Drug Information, Martindale, Drug Facts and Comparisons and Trissell's IV Compatibility. Note: no access to UpToDate.
MEDLINE (Ovid)
Premier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
NatMed Pro
An international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies
PubMed (1946 - present)
Premier database containing over 30 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. Freely available and includes MEDLINE. This link goes to the version with UBC elink.

Related Guides

Dentistry
by Saeyong Kim Last Updated Apr 29, 2025 409 views this year
Nursing
by Katherine Miller Last Updated Sep 24, 2025 3761 views this year
Pharmaceutical Sciences
by Ursula Ellis Last Updated Oct 28, 2025 18659 views this year
Population & Public Health
by Ursula Ellis Last Updated Sep 5, 2025 747 views this year

Full list of Health Science Guides