Research Guides: Evidence based Health Care (EBHC): Getting Started

"The Wedge of Best Evidence"

Evidence-Based Medicine by Sharon E. Straus; Paul Glasziou; W. Scott Richardson; R. Brian Haynes
ISBN: 9780702031274
Publication Date: 2010-12-03

Evidence-Based Medicine provides a clear explanation of the central questions: how to ask answerable clinical questions; how to translate them into effective searches for the best evidence; how to critically appraise that evidence for its validity and importance; and how to integrate it with patients' values and preferences.

LWW Health Library
Includes sections for Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Speech Language Hearing, Exercise Science, Exercise Science, Pharmacy, and Medical Education. To print pages and use self-assessment tools register an account with LWW Health Library
AccessMedicine
Approximately 40 e-books, including a clinical library (Harrison's Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, and more), Lange Educational Library, a USMLE self-assessment tool, 50+ clinical cases, and various study materials including flashcards, notes, and multiple-choice review questions.
Books@OVID
Includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from several respected texts in medicine, nursing, and pharmacy. Search (or browse) one textbook, browse by subject area, or choose "search all". Color diagrams, charts, and illustrations are available as thumbnails or full graphics.
more...less...
Now includes ebooks in the Joanna Briggs Institute series on Synthesis Science in Healthcare.
Sage Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods Online is a web-based research methods tool created to support researchers and students as they explore relevant content across the social and behavioural sciences, covering quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods.
Tips for finding books at UBC Library

ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
more...less...
Additional features, including a presentation maker, the ability to download PDF versions of ebook chapters, customize patient handouts or save content in a personal profile, are available to users who create a free account. Click 'Register' at the top right of the ClinicalKey landing page to create a free account.
Dynamed
Includes overviews and drug therapy recommendations for various medical conditions, drug information, and a drug interaction checker.

Merck Manual of Diagnosis & Therapy
Includes diagnostic and therapeutic information in internal medicine, pediatrics, psychiatry, obstetrics, gynecology, dermatology, pharmacology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, rehabilitation, and a number of special subjects. Available online.
MedlinePlus (Consumer Health)
Freely-searchable consumer health information site linking to simple overviews, dictionaries, directories, organizations and news for ~750 topics.

PEDro
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 23,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
OTSeeker
Abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials in Occupational Therapy.
more...less...
Abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials in Occupational Therapy.
Physiopedia
The free comprehensive online reference written by physiotherapists for physiotherapists.
SpeechBITE
Curated speech pathology intervention studies to support evidence based practice.