Librarian
Introduction to the Library
- Introduction to the Library: Top 10 ListOrientation handout. Helpful advice and tips.
Key Resources
- Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 5th edition (Streaming Videos) This link opens in a new windowBates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination is an updated collection of online videos of the classic textbook on physical examination and history taking.
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new windowBMJ Best Practice offers a step-by-step evidence-based approach to clinical problems throughout the patient journey. Includes access to Comorbidities tool and mobile app.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
- CPS This link opens in a new windowFormerly RxTx and e-Therapeutics. Comprehensive drug information resource produced by the Canadian Pharmacists Association. Includes e-CPS and a drug interactions module.
- Dynamed This link opens in a new windowA point-of-care reference tool containing clinically-oriented summaries for 3,200+ topics.
- EMBASE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowInternational (but European-focused) biomedical database with strengths in drug-related and rehabilitation sciences subjects.
- LexiComp This link opens in a new windowOnline access to Lexi-Drugs monographs and interaction checker, AHFS Drug Information, Drug Facts and Comparisons and Trissell's IV Compatibility. Note: no access to UpToDate.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowPremier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
- NatMed Pro This link opens in a new windowAn international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies
- PubMed (1946 - present) This link opens in a new windowPremier database containing over 30 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. Freely available and includes MEDLINE. This link goes to the version with UBC elink.
UBC Sites
John Hunter Plates
"A side view of the upper and lower jaw, in which the outer plate of the alveolar process was taken off to expose the fangs of the teeth in their sockets."
Plates accompanying John Hunter's The Natural History of the Human Teeth can be found in The American Journal of Dental Science v.1 1839 at Woodward Library at W1 AM477 (Woodward Library storage WD2).