Information about Journals at UBC Library
UBC Library provides access to a significant number of academic journals relevant to the Middle East and North Africa. Some are available only in print or electronically; others may be available in both formats. Browse the representative selection below and click on cover photos to access print and/or e-journals that suit your needs. To learn how to search for a known article from a list or a course reserve, including what to do when UBC Library does not have the material you are looking for, consult our guide on Finding Journal Articles.
Select Journals
Middle East Research Journals
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL)Part of the CRL Digital Collections, Middle East Research Journals Project aims to provide access to over 2,000 rare Middle Eastern journals in various languages, including four non-Roman script languages: Arabic, Greek, Hebrew and Ottoman Turkish.
- NoorMagsNoormags provides access to over 660,000 articles from over 2800 humanities and social science journals in Islamic studies, political science, education, art, literature, language etc. Articles are predominantly in Persian, Arabic and English.
Information about Databases at UBC Library
UBC Library provides access to numerous online indexes, bibliographies and databases that contain research articles, book chapters, conference papers etc. Database contents will vary from very subject-specific resources such as the Encyclopaedia of Islam and Online Egyptological Bibliography, to general humanities databases like Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984 and JSTOR, which includes the World Heritage Sites: Africa and Hebrew Collection.
See also Primary Sources section for digital collections of declassified British and American government documents. Or browse our current selection of indexes and databases to find those resources that best suit your needs. For general search tips, explore our Library Skills Tutorial.