Background Information
Understanding and Teaching the Modern Middle East by Publication Date: 2020Many students learn about the Middle East through generalizations deriving largely from media treatments of current events. This scattershot approach can propagate bias and misconceptions that inhibit students' abilities to examine this vitally important part of the world. This book moves away from the Orientalist frameworks that have dominated the West's understanding of the region, offering a range of fresh interpretations and approaches for teachers.
The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Middle-Eastern and North African History by Publication Date: 2021The Handbook critically examines defining processes and structures of historical developments in North Africa and the Middle East over the past two centuries. It pays particular attention to countries that have leapt out of the political shadows of dominant and better-studied neighbours during the unfolding uprisings in the Middle East and North Africa.
The Modern Middle East: A Social and Cultural History by Publication Date: 2014This hugely successful, ground-breaking book is the first introductory textbook on the Modern Middle East to foreground the urban, rural, cultural and gender histories of the region over its political and economic history. Distancing himself from more traditional modernising approaches, Ilan Pappé is concerned with the ideological question of whom we investigate in the past, rather than how we investigate it.
A Dictionary of Politics in the Middle East by Publication Date: 2018This dictionary provides a useful overview of the wide array of political structures and systems that comprise the contemporary Middle East. From Turkey through Iraq and Iran, to the Arabian Peninsula and the states of North Africa, it includes up-to-date definitions of political organizations, key political figures and important developments, as well as region-specific concepts such as Majlis and events such as the Arab Spring.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World by Publication Date: 2022This unique reference is a comprehensive encyclopedia dedicated to the institutions, religion, politics and culture in Muslim societies throughout the world. Placing particular emphasis on the 19th and 20th centuries, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World contains over 750 articles in four volumes on Muslims in the Arab heartland as well as South and Southeast Asia, Europe, and the Americas.
The Kurds: An Encyclopedia of Life, Culture, and Society by Publication Date: 2018This book provides an insightful examination of the Kurds, from their historical beginnings to today, through thematic and country-specific essays, as well as important primary documents that allow for a greater understanding of the diversity and pluralism of the region. Includes essays on history, anthropology, economics, religion, geography and musicology, that cover the ethnic populations of the original Kurdish homeland states, as well as of the diaspora.
Encyclopaedia IranicaThe Encyclopædia Iranica is an international, collaborative research project of the Encyclopaedia Iranica Foundation, Inc. It was, until 2017, overseen by its founder and editor-in-chief, Professor Ehsan Yarshater, who initially proposed adding supplementary new articles to Encyclopædia of Islam in order to correct its deficiencies, somewhat on the model of the Türk İslâm Ansiklopedisi.
Encyclopaedia of Islam OnlineUBC Library has the original EI in print and provides access to EI2 and EI3 online. The Third Edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is an entirely new work, which sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World and reflects the great diversity of current scholarship.
Dictionaries
Oxford Arabic Dictionary / قاموس أكسفورد العربي by Publication Date: 2014Endorsed by academics worldwide, the Oxford Arabic Dictionary is the most authoritative English-Arabic / Arabic-English dictionary ever published. Based on real modern evidence and computational analysis of hundreds of millions of words of both English and Modern Standard Arabic, the dictionary boasts more than 130,000 words and phrases and 200,000 translations.
A Frequency Dictionary of Arabic by Publication Date: 2011An invaluable tool for all learners of Arabic, provides a list of the 5,000 most frequently used words in Modern Standard Arabic (MSA) as well as several of the most widely spoken Arabic dialects. Based on a 30-million-word corpus of Arabic which includes written and spoken material from the entire Arab world, this dictionary provides the user with detailed information for each entry, including English equivalents, sample sentences etc.
Arabic-English Dictionary of Qur'anic Usage by Publication Date: 2008The Dictionary of Qur'anic Usage is the first comprehensive, fully-researched and contextualized Arabic-English dictionary of Qur'anic usage, compiled in accordance with modern lexicographical methods by scholars who have a lifelong immersion in Qur'anic Studies. Based on Classical Arabic dictionaries and Qur'an commentaries, this work also emphasizes the role of context in determining the meaning-scatter of each vocabulary item.
A Dictionary of Jewish Babylonian Aramaic of the Talmudic and Geonic Periods by Publication Date: 2020The first new dictionary of Jewish Babylonian Aramaic in a century, and now in its second revised and expanded edition, this towering scholarly achievement provides a complete lexicon of the entire vocabulary used in both literary and epigraphic sources from the Jewish community in Babylon from the third century C.E. to the twelfth century.
A Dictionary of Jewish Palestinian Aramaic of the Byzantine Period by Publication Date: 2017The third revised and expanded edition contains the Aramaic vocabulary of the Jewish literary and epigraphic sources of Eretz Israel from the third century C.E. until the Arab Conquest, including Palestinian Talmud, Midrashim, Targumim and synagogue inscriptions.
A Jewish Neo-Aramaic Dictionary: Dialects of Amidya, Dihok, Nerwa and Zakho, Northwestern Iraq by Publication Date: 2002This dictionary is based on old and recent manuscripts, printed texts, literary Midrashic texts, recorded oral Bible translations, folk literature and diverse spoken registers. It has an extensive introduction, including a brief history of the Jewish dialects and their relations to older Aramaic, detailed observations on orthography, phonology, morphology etc.
Coptic Etymological Dictionary by Publication Date: 1976Coptic language derived from ancient Egyptian, the language of the hieroglyphs, it was written in Coptic alphabet, an adapted form of Greek script. This dictionary lists about 2,000 Coptic words whose etymology has been established from ancient Egyptian and Greek sources, covering two-thirds of the known Coptic vocabulary and complementing W. E. Crum's 1939 Coptic Dictionary.
A Coptic Dictionary: Compiled with the Help of Many Scholars by Publication Date: 1939Crum's work is the result of more than thirty years of research and collaboration with numerous scholars. Originally published in 1939, it immediately became, and has remained, the definitive dictionary of the Coptic language.
The New Bantam-Megiddo Hebrew and English Dictionary, Revised by Publication Date: 2009The convenient, comprehensive, popular one-volume English-Hebrew, Hebrew-English Dictionary, now updated for the first time in thirty-five years, with thousands of new words in science, technology and culture.
Dictionary of Basic Biblical Hebrew by Publication Date: 2002Presented in user-friendly fashion, the Dictionary of Basic Biblical Hebrew is a learner's tool for students of the Bible who want to delve more deeply into the meaning of Scripture in its original language. This Hebrew dictionary contains over 6,000 entries of the most common words in the Hebrew Bible, giving users all the vocabulary they need in order to read biblical prose.
The Dictionary of Classical Hebrew Revised by Publication Date: 2018The first dictionary of the classical Hebrew language to cover not only the biblical texts, but also Ben Sira, the Dead Sea Scrolls and the Hebrew inscriptions. This Dictionary covers the period from the earliest times to 200 CE. It lists and analyses every occurrence of each Hebrew word that occurs in texts of that period, with an English translation of every Hebrew word and phrase cited.
Kurdish-English Dictionary / Ferhenga Kurmancı̂-Inglı̂zı̂ by Publication Date: 2003This Kurmanji-English dictionary focuses on modern use of the Kurmanji dialect of Kurdish, which is spoken in Turkey, Syria, Iran, Iraq and parts of the former Soviet Union. Michael Chyet provides a documentation of the state of knowledge about the lexicon of the language. Dictionary entries are extensive and include, whenever possible, detailed etymologies, multiple meanings, variant forms, sample sentences, synonyms and inflections.
Persian-English Dictionary: Including Arabic Words and Phrases in Persian Literature by Publication Date: 1977This dictionary is a valuable resource for Persian to English translation and includes Arabic words and phrases to be found in Persian literature. The initial aim for this Dictionary was to prepare a revised edition of Johnson's enlargement of Wilkins-Richardson's Persian, Arabic, and English Dictionary, by reducing the Arabic element and increasing the Persian, so as to produce a volume of moderate dimensions and price, specially adapted to the wants of the English student.
A Frequency Dictionary of Persian by Publication Date: 2017A Frequency Dictionary of Persian is an invaluable tool for all learners of Persian, providing a list of the 5,000 most frequently used words in the language. Based on a 150-million-word corpus of written and spoken Persian texts from the Iranian world, the Dictionary provides the user with a detailed frequency-based list, plus alphabetical and part-of-speech indices. All entries feature the English equivalent and an example of use in context.
The Oxford Turkish-English Dictionary / İngilizce-Türkçe Sözlük by Publication Date: 1984Completely updated, revised and enlarged, this new edition provides an extensive survey of modern idiomatic Turkish constructions in a more accessible form.
A Frequency Dictionary of Turkish by Publication Date: 2017Based on a 50-million-word corpus, A Frequency Dictionary of Turkish provides a list of core vocabulary for learners of Turkish as a second or foreign language. It gives the most updated, reliable frequency guidelines for common vocabulary in spoken and written Turkish. Each of the 5,000 entries is supported by detailed information including the English equivalent, an illustrative example with English translation and usage statistics.
Dictionary of Turkic Languages by Publication Date: 1996This multi-language dictionary covers the 8 major Turkic languages: Turkish, Azerbaijani, Turkmen, Uzbek, Uighur, Kazakh, Kirgiz and Tatar. 2,000 headwords in English are translated into each of the 8 Turkic languages. Words are organized both alphabetically and topically, and original script and Latin transliteration are provided for each language.
