Books
The Foreign Office Handbooks - the Middle East by Publication Date: 2022Prepared under the direction of the Historical Section of the Foreign Office, the aim of these handbooks was to provide British delegates to the Paris Peace Conference of 1919 with detailed information on the geographical, economic, historical and political aspects of the countries concerned.
The Middle East and North Africa in World Politics by Publication Date: 1975Second edition of a two-volume set contains documents covering European expansion 1535-1914 and British-French supremacy 1914-1945. First edition from 1956 available under the title Diplomacy in the Near and Middle East: A Documentary Record.
Futile Diplomacy - A History of Arab-Israeli Negotiations, 1913-56 by Publication Date: 1983-1997These four volumes provide a careful and balanced behind-the-scenes account of the intricate diplomatic activity of the period between 1913 and 1956. Exploiting a range of available archive sources, as well as extensive secondary sources, they provide an authoritative analysis of the positions and strategies which the principal parties and the would-be mediators adopted in the elusive search for a stable peace.
Digital Collections
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
Most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices, from the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 19th century, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis in 1956, to the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict, these historical documents inform the volatile situation in the region today.
Digital National Security Archive
The Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) is the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Over 94,000 of the most important declassified documents on the U.S. policy in Iran, Iraq, the Gulf War etc. are published here for the first time.