Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA 9th Edition Citation Style Guide

Encyclopedia article with or without an author

EXAMPLE - without an author

"Baby Boomers." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., vol. 1, 2nd ed., Gale, 2008, pp. 235-36.

Parenthetical in-text citation: ("Baby Boomers" 235)

Narrative in-text citation: The definition of "Baby Boomers" outlined in the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences describes ... (235). 

EXAMPLE - with an author

Parsa, Neeki, and Sabra L. Katz-Wise. "Gender Fluidity."  The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies, edited by Abbie E. Goldberg and Genny Beemyn, vol. 1, Sage Publications Inc., 2021, pp. 304-305. https://www.doi.org/10.4135/9781544393858.n105.

Parenthetical in-text citation: (Parsa and Katz-Wise, 304)

Narrative in-text citation: Parsa and Katz-Wise define gender fluidity as ... (304-5).

Wikipedia article

EXAMPLE

"Marsha P. Johnson." Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, 4 Aug. 2021, Wikimedia Foundation, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marsha_P._Johnson.

Parenthetical in-text citation: ("Marsha")

Narrative in-text citation: Marsha P. Johnson was a leader for gay rights in New York, and was one of the leaders of the Stonewall Riots ("Marsha"). 

Dictionary

EXAMPLE - Entire print dictionary with author

Colman, Andrew W. "Labyrinth." A Dictionary of Psychology, 4th ed., Oxford University Press, 2015.

Parenthetical in-text citation: (Colman)

Narrative in-text citation: Colman defined the term labyrinth as being as any mazelike structure. 

EXAMPLE - Dictionary without author

“Labyrinth.” Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/labyrinth. 

Parenthetical in-text citation: ("Labyrinth")

Narrative in-text citation: The term "Labyrinth" is defined as being composed of intricate passageways.