Accessing Electronic Resources
Current students, faculty and staff can get authenticated access to licensed electronic resources, anywhere in the world via an authorized CWL. UBC Library now uses OpenAthens as a primary means of secure login service for digital, licensed resources (books, journals, media, data). However, a few UBC Library e-resources still require EZproxy, including Passport GMID. Many of these e-resources may be transitioned to OpenAthens over time. For more information on OpenAthens, please see UBC's Connect to Library Resources guide.
All off-campus Users will be authenticated via either OpenAthens or EZproxy. Do not use myVPN.
Starting from the UBC Library homepage, there are two ways to get started with OpenAthens or EZproxy:
1. On the Library Homepage, use the "LOGIN" drop-down menu on the right-hand side of the grey bar
2. From the Library Homepage, start searching. The first link-out to a licensed resource will automatically pause to request authentication via OpenAthens or EZproxy.
3. Go to the David Lam Library site and head to the Business Databases box on the right hand side of the page. Select either by Subject or A-Z List and connect from there.
Accessing Financial Databases
Workaround selected Financial Databases
Workaround selected Financial DatabasesSome of our financial databases are available only on site on specified machines. However, we were able to work with UBC Sauder IT and respective vendors to allow remote access.
For Sauder students, please refer to the instructions within the CLC Online Canvas on how to access the following financial databases.
For non-Sauder students, please refer to the Wayne Deans Investment Analysis Centre information page on myBCom for further instructions on how to access the following databases remotely.
Remote access is not available at UBCO. Please reach out to Kim Buschert (kim.buschert@ubc.ca) for any questions or concerns regarding UBCO inquiries.
- Standard and Poor's Capital IQComprehensive database of global public and private companies, investment firms and M&A transactions.
- Rotman Interactive TraderAn order-driven market simulator (which allows users to transact financial securities with each other on a real-time basis)
- Morningstar DirectPerformance and holdings analysis of investments, including equity ownership, exchange traded funds, hedge funds, market indexes, and closed-end and open-end mutual funds
- BloombergInvestment analysis database
- DatastreamGlobal financial and macroeconomic data platform providing data on equities, stock market indices, currencies, company fundamentals, fixed income securities and key economic indicators for 175 countries and 60 markets.
- SDC PlatinumContains detailed information on new issues, mergers and acquisitions, syndicated loans, private equity and project finance.
Accessing Digital Media Lab Resources
Due to the physical closure of the campus, video and music editing software installed in the Digital Media Lab will not be available remotely. However here are some alternatives that are available to us for free that you can consider.
- DIY MediaUBC eLearning has a wonderful online toolkit to help even the greenest of beginners.
- UBC Video BasicsPeruse examples of other types of videos
- ACMI Storyboard GeneratorStoryboard how-to videos, tips, and lessons.
- CanvaStoryboard tool with an easy-to-use interface that let's you collaborate and share.
- PicLitsStoryboard tool that allows you to use a “combination of words placed on an image to give essence and meaning to the story” and can be accessed and edited on smartphones or iPads
- UtellStoryStoryboard tool that allows you to create and share stories by using personal pictures, Creative Commons, or Public Domain images
- Storyboard TemplateBy UBC Studios
- BlenderStudent pick! Blender comes with a built-in video sequence editor allows you to perform basic actions like video cuts and splicing, as well as more complex tasks like video masking or color grading.
- CamtasiaUBC offers campus-wide free access to Camtasia for faculty, staff, and students. First, download the software to your computer, then install and open it to start making projects.
- iMovieVdeo editing software application developed by Apple Inc. for macOS and iOS devices.
- MagistoVideo tool that transforms video and photos into “polished short movies with emotion and excitement at the core of every story”; can be accessed on iPhones and Android phones.
- WeVideoVideo creation platform for “video editing, collaboration, and sharing” across any device
- WideoVideo tool that allows anyone to create animated videos and Common Craft-style videos
- International Music Score LibraryOnline database of public domain musical scores and recordings.
- Free Music ArchiveInteractive library of “high-quality, legal audio downloads” pre-cleared for certain types of uses
- IncompetechComposer Kevin MacLeod’s database of royalty-free music (for instructions on how to credit his music, see FAQ)
- Legal Music for Videos - Creative CommonsList of where to find and how to properly credit free, legal music
- AudacityFree, open source audio recording and editing program that lets you “cut, copy, splice, mix, and edit sounds”; accepts various sound files such as WAV, AIFF, FLAC, MP2, and MP3.
Streaming @ UBC Library
- Audio Cine FilmsLibrarian pick! Audio Cine Films collection offers access to 1000’s of titles from the world’s most renowned film studios and producers including: Walt Disney Pictures, Touchstones Pictures; Pixar and many more!
- Criterion On Demand This link opens in a new windowStaff pick! Contains the latest blockbuster movies such as Parasite, Godzilla, Lego Movie and many more!
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy provides online video streaming to more than 26,000 titles.
- NFB Explore (National Film Board) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to online viewing of films produced by the National Film Board of Canada (NFB).
- Opera in Video This link opens in a new windowThe Opera in Video collection currently contains 174 videos, equaling 488 hours.
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new windowOnline in streaming video. More than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries
- OntheBoards.TVNew!
OntheBoards.TV is a portal for viewing full-length, high-quality films of performance works by contemporary artists in dance, theater, music and other forms.
Software Available for Free (UBC Students)
Head over to the UBC IT page for more details!