Video at UBC Library
UBC Library provides access to many films. Films are available on DVD, VHS and streamed online. UBC Vancouver faculty, staff and students can book UBC Library videos, films or DVDs for individual use or for classroom presentation on a specific date. Instructions on how to place a Media Booking request are available here. UBC Okanagan faculty, staff and students can book UBC Library videos, films, or DVDs by contacting media.ok@ubc.ca
Video and Film
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new windowStreaming ethnographic video database. Features the work of many influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
- KanopyKanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
- NFB Explore (National Film Board) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to online viewing of films produced by the National Film Board of Canada (NFB).
- Indigenous Cinema - National Film Board of CanadaFree streaming of over 200 titles by indigenous directors.
- North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowAmerican and Canadian primary source materials. Mainly textual materials from American libraries (books, articles, pamphlets, oral histories). Indexed for place, event and individuals. Also audio, video, images.
- Ethnographic Film UnitAn anthropological digital video production unit at the UBC Vancouver. "We use the language of documentary video to explore issues of environmentally and socially responsible resource use that prioritizes"
Images
- Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA digital image library for the arts and sciences with an unparalleled range of images licensed for educational use at UBC.
- Museum of AnthropologyImage database of artifacts held at the MOA. Currently around 70,000 images available for 36,000 artifacts.
- The Medical Images and Multimedia Guide lists resources of interest to physical and medical anthropologists.
Ethnomusicology and Spoken Word Streaming Resources
The following are links to online Ethnomusicology audio/video collections:
- British Library - World and Traditional MusicVarious collections of ethnographic sound recordings with a focus on music from Africa and Asia.
- eHRAF World CulturesA cross-cultural database that provide anthropological descriptions of the cultural and social life of people around the world as well as relevant full-text documents (books, articles and dissertations).
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new windowStreaming ethnographic video database. Features the work of many influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
- EVIA Digital ArchiveEthnographic video for instruction and analysis including ethnographic field videos.
- National JukeboxFrom Library of Congress, the National Jukebox makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
- Naxos Music Library World/SmithsonianAn invaluable resource for World music researchers, this database includes the complete Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, the non-profit record label of the Smithsonian Institution, as well as holdings from Sony, Arc and Naxos World. Smithsonian Folkways is dedicated to supporting cultural diversity and increased understanding among peoples through the documentation, preservation, and dissemination of sound. First-class performances, over 9,350 albums available, and new albums added weekly.
- Virtual GramaphoneFrom Library and Archives Canada. A multimedia website devoted to the early days of Canadian recorded sound, providing an overview of the 78-rpm era in Canada. The Virtual Gramophone database contains information and images for more than 15,000 78-rpm and cylinder recordings released in Canada, as well as foreign recordings featuring Canadian artists and/or compositions.
Anthropology Podcasts
- This Anthro Life
Crowdsourcing the human condition to inspire communication, foster wonder and generate empathy. - Anthropological Airwaves
American Anthropologist's flagship podcast, exploring the craft of anthropology in all of its forms. - AnthroPod
Podcast from the Society for Cultural Anthropology, a section of the AAA. - AnthroTalks
An audio extravaganza on the magical mundaneness of everyday life. Designed by practicing anthropologists, and supported by the National Association for Practicing Anthropologists, this show celebrates diversity of thought, culture and practices. - Anthropologist on the Street
Each week Anthropologist on the Street Dr. Carie Little Hersh invites another anthropologist or cultural expert to illuminate the hidden ideas, practices, and power dynamics that make our lives both familiar and strange. - Speaking of Race
"How did race become such a flashpoint in modern society, and why does it remain contentious in our genomic age?" In this first-of-its-kind transdisciplinary podcast, biological anthropologist Jim Bindon joins with cultural anthropologist Lesley Jo Weaver and historian of science Erik L. Peterson to explore our species' centuries long debate over how to define physiological and psychological difference, and why it continues to matter today. - The Familiar Strange
A blog, A podcst. Here to make what anthropologists know and do familiar. - A Story of Us
Explore the human experience through the eyes of graduate students at Ohio State University's Department of Anthropology