Research Help
Getting Started
This guide is intended to help student researchers of the ethnography of circumpolar regions of North America, Scandinavia, and Russia. The guide was created for ANTH 404 taught by Dr. Pat Moore (Fall 2024).
There is no 'one stop' place to search for information and research on circumpolar regions. Depending on your research topic and discipline focus, different sources of information will be important to you. The tabs at the left side of this guide will direct you to specialized databases to search for articles, the library catalogue to search for books, and to primary sources.
Reference / Background Information
Reference materials provide background information on a topic and are especially useful at the beginning of a research project . They can help you get an overview of a topic, define terms, theories, and persons in the field, and find further readings written by experts in the field.
-
Encyclopedia of the Arctic
by
Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2004With detailed essays on the Arctic's environment, wildlife, climate, history, exploration, resources, economics, politics, indigenous cultures and languages, conservation initiatives and more, this Encyclopediais the only major work and comprehensive reference on this vast, complex, changing, and increasingly important part of the globe. -
Arctic Exploration and Development c.500 B. C. to 1915
by
Publication Date: 1994Chronological listing of expeditions and voyages of exploration, including major whaling, trading and hunting expeditions, in the circumpolar north, with index of ships and list of main expedition members. -
Practical dictionary of Siberia and the North
Practical dictionary of Siberia and the North -
The Eastern Arctic Seas Encyclopedia
by
Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2016This Encyclopedia is designed to accumulate and systematize our knowledge about the unique natural water areas - the Laptev, East Siberian and Chukchi seas, their wealth, the events that took place on its waters and shores, and the remarkable people whose lives were and are closely intertwined with the seas.
-
The Western Arctic Seas Encyclopedia
by
Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2016This Encyclopedia is designed to accumulate and systematize our knowledge about the unique natural water areas - the Barents, White and Kara seas, their wealth, the events that took place on its waters and shores, and the remarkable people whose lives were and are closely intertwined with the seas.
-
Saami
by
Publication Date: 2005-01-01This is a modern reference work about the Saami, a northern indigenous people living in four states -- Finland, Norway, Russia and Sweden. It is the outcome of a project launched and co-ordinated by the Saami Studies Work Group of the University of Helsinki. The work presents the national character of the Saami and its manifestations from a point of view located within the Saami culture itself.
