Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANTH 404 Circumpolar Ethnography

Library research guide for Dr. Pat Moore's ANTH 404 class, Circumpolar Ethnography (Fall 2018).

Annotating

For this class, you are required to write an annotated bibliography consisting of key sources for your research paper, with at least ten sources included. Each annotation (1-2 paragraphs each) should state the primary research question for the source, summarize the findings, and provide a critical evaluation of the strengths and weaknesses of the source.

An annotated bibliography is a very specific form of writing; for guidelines please see the UBC Library Guide How to Write an Annotated Bibliography.

Additional Guides

  • Write an Annotated Bibliography. From the University of California, Santa Cruz Library this brief guide includes a good "how to" section on writing annotations as well as example entries.
  • Annotated Bibliographies. From the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL), this guide provides clear explanations of the purpose and structure of annotated bibliographies. Also provides links to help with formatting in MLA and APA citation styles.
  • How to Write an Annotated Bibliography. From Simon Fraser University Library, this guide explains the proper formatting for an annotated bibliography and provides examples written in MLA and APA style.
  • Writing an Annotated Bibliography. From the University of Toronto, this guide explains how to select suitable sources, summarize arguments and assess the "relevance and value" of sources. It also includes a very helpful vocabulary list to help you "summarize and discuss" the texts you've used.

Citing

Style Guides

Please use the American Anthropologist style guide (AAA) to cite your sources.

AAA uses The Chicago Manual of Style (15th edition, 2003) and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary (11th edition, 2006). If there is no rule available for your source material in the AAA guide, follow The Chicago Manual of Style. UBC Library subscribes to The Chicago Manual of Style online (fully searchable), or you can consult a print copy in Koerner Library.

Plagiarism

Plagiarism is a serious offense. It is very important that you keep track of and cite the resources that you use to form and articulate your ideas.

To familiarize yourself with the UBC guidelines regarding plagiarism, please visit the Avoid Plagiarism website or see Alexia to borrow a copy of the UBC booklet “Plagiarism avoided: Taking Responsibility for Your Work”.

Books

Doing honest work in college : how to prepare citations, avoid plagiarism, and achieve real academic success / Charles Lipson.

Keeping Track of Your Citations

A citation management tool can help you keep track of and format citations. The Research Commons in Koerner Library  offers weekly workshops on three of the most popular citation management tools: RefWorks, Mendeley, and Zotero. They also offer individual consultation appointments, via the link under "Consultations" on the main Research Commons page or email them at research.commons@ubc.ca.

 

AskAway