Korean Studies Resources

• Early Korea Project Resources by Harvard University
• Miam ilgi (Miam's Diary): Select Translations with Introduction
• 고려대학교 해외한국학자료센터 Center for Overseas Resource on Korean Studies
• 동북아역사넷 Tongbuka Yŏksa Net
  Northeast Asian Heritage Network is operated by the Northeast Asian Heritage Foundation. It includes various primary sources on topics such as Dokdo and Comfort Women. Website available in English, Chinese, Japanese.  
• 서울대학교 규장각한국학연구원 의궤 종합정보 Seoul Taehakkyo Kyujanggak Hangukhak Yŏnguwon Ŭigwe Chonghap Chŏngbo
  Database for Ŭigwe, run by Seoul National University's Kyujanggak Korean Studies Institute 
• 승정원일기 The Daily Records of Royal Secretariat of Joseon Dynasty
• 조선시대 법령자료 Chosŏn Sitae Pŏpryŏng Charyo
  A collection of Statutes from the Chosŏn Dynasty (1392 - 1897)
• 조선왕조실록 The Veritable Records of the Joseon Dynasty
• 조선총독부 기록물 Chosŏn Ch'ongdokpu Kirokmul
  A collection of records from Governor-General of Chōsen, the Japanese colonial government. (1910-1945), from the National Archives of Korea
• 한국 역사 문화 조사 자료 데이터베이스 Korean History & Culture Research Database  
  An archaeology database that includes more than 4550 excavation reports 
• 한국독립운동 정보시스템 Hanguk Tongip Undong Chŏngpo Sisŭtem
  A database on the Korean independence movement. It includes various textual and audiovisual records. 
• 한국사 데이터베이스 Hanguksa Deyitŏpeyisŭ
  This comprehensive database contains a link to 고려시대 사료(史料) 데이터베이스 Koryŏ History Database and other specialized databases.
• 한국역대인물 종합정보시스템 Hanguk Yŏktae Yinmul Chonghap Chŏngpo Sisŭtem 
  This database offers information on more than 16,000 historic Korean figures from ancient to modern.
• 한국학자료센터 Center for Korean Studies Materials 
  This web portal contains links to Jangseogak, Kyujanggak, and other regional research center websites as well as dictionaries, directories and maps.

• 관보 Official Gazettes
  Official gazettes from various governments. These sources are available based on differing time periods: 

  • 1894-1945 구한국관보/조선총독부관보, National Library of Korea

  • 1910-2000 관보, National Archives of Korea

  • 2001- 대한민국전자관보, Ministry of Public Administration and Security

• 국가문화유산포털 Kukka Munhwa Yusan P'otŏl 
  Available in English, Chinese, and Japanese, which leads to the Cultural Heritage Administration website. To search for heritage sites or objects, go to 'Explore Heritage,' and 'Search Heritage' 

• 기초학문자료센터 Korean Research Memory 
  Available in English

• 한국전통지식포탈 Korean Traditional Knowledge Portal 

• 문화유산 지식e음 Munhwa Yusan Chisik e ŭm
  Cultural Heritage Knowledge Portal operated by the National Research Institute of Cultural Heritage

• 국악아카이브 Kugak Archives
  Contains resources on traditional music, dance, and creative traditional music including private archives, video, audio, and images

• K-Contents
  University of Washington Korean web Contents Libguide, which includes K-Manhwa, Webtoons, and Webnovel 

• 문화재공간정보서비스 Cultural Heritage GIS Service ​

• 유네스코 등재유산 검색 UNESCO Tŭngjae Yusan Kŏmsaek
  UNESCO Designated Cultural Asset Search, nested under the Cultural Heritage Administration website

• 한식포털 The Taste of Korea: Hansik
  Includes the Hansik Archives, which consists of historic records, audiovisual records, and more. Operated by the Korean Food Promotion Institute. 

• 전통문양 디자인 Chŏnt'ong Munyang Disain
  Traditional Patterns and Designs

• 옛문서생활사박물관 Yetmunsŏ Saenghwal Sa Pakmulgwan 
  The ‘old records social history museum’ is a virtual museum, run by the Advanced Center for Korean Studies, which houses various historical records that represent the political, economic, social, cultural, educational, and family lives of Koreans in the past. 

• 한국 역사 문화 조사 자료 데이터베이스 Korean History & Culture Research Database
  Operated by Zininzin

• List of Korean DVDs at the UBC Asian Library

• UBC Asian Library North Korean Film Collection
  The Asian Library recently acquired about 100 North Korean films in DVD format with the generous funding support from the UBC Centre for Korean Research. The collection holds films produced in each decade of the 20th century since the 1960s, all the way through the 21st century. This film collection will provide another angle into the mysterious country people seem to fear and misunderstand in equal measure. Click here to download the full title list of these films. 

• KOBIZ (Korean Film Biz Zone)

• Korean Classic Film on YouTube · 한국영상자료원

  Classic Korean films with English subtitles on YouTube provided by Korean Film Archive

• Korean Film Council · 영화진흥위원회

• KTV National Record Film · e영상역사관

• NAVER Movie · 네이버 영화
  Database on Korean movies including ratings and reviews from the critics and public, rankings, magazine, independent movies, and more.

• Korean Film Council Movie Information

• Cine21 · 씨네21

• Provides articles, updates, reviews, photos, interviews, events and more on Korean movies. 

  • Cine21 DB · 씨네21 DB 
    Database of broadcast media in Korea, movies and its rankings, articles, short films (making film, interview clips, and etc), film companies, and film festivals  

• 국토지리정보원 National Geographic Information Institute 
  Available in English 

• 서울대학교  규장각한국학연구원 지리지 종합정보 Seoul Taehakkyo Kyujanggak Hangukhak Yŏnguwon Chirichi Chonghap Chŏngbo
  Seoul National University (SNU) Kyujanggak Korean Studies Institute's Database of Geographical Information

• 서울시 항공사진 Seoul Satellite View Image Service  

• 朝鮮總督府 陸地測量部 地圖 Government-General of Korea Maps

• Library of Congress - Maps of Korea 

• East Asia - Images of Early Maps on the Web -- Map History / History of Cartography: THE Gateway to the Subject

• 청와대 Cheong Wa Dae  
  Available in English

• 대한민국정부 The Government of Korea
  Available in English and Chinese, which are specifically designed for foreigners in Korea. 

• Korea.net - Gateway to Korea
  Also available in Chinese, Japanese, Arabic, and more. Provides information about the Korean government, society, culture, and economy.

• 공공데이터포털 Public Data Portal

• 공훈전자사료관 Konghun Chŏnja Saryokwan 
  Run by the Ministry of Patriots & Veterans Affairs, this website includes data and information about the Korean Independence Movement Activists 

• 국가법령정보센터 The National Law Information Center
  Available in English, which is interconnected to the Statues of the Republic of Korea website. 

• 국무조정실, 국무총리비서실 Office for Government Policy Coordination, Prime Minister's Secretariat  
  Available in English

• 남북회담본부 Office of Inter-Korean Dialogue

• 대한민국국회 National Assembly of the Republic of Korea
  Available in English

• 대한민국영문법령 Statues of the Republic of Korea
  Korean Statues translated to English. Website interface also available in English

• 독도 - 외교부 DOKDO - Ministry of Foreign Affairs 
  Available in English, Arabic, Chinese, German, French, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish 

• 로앤비 LAWnB
  A website containing Korean legal material such as law information, judicial precedents, official documents, and information on lawyers and law firms.

• 민족화해협력범국민협의회 Korean Council for Reconciliation and Cooperation

• 민주평화통일자문회의 National Unification Advisory Council 
  In Chinese, English, Japanese, and more

• 법원도서관 귀중본/고서 전자책 서비스 Pŏpwŏn Tosŏkwan Kwichungpon/Kosŏ Chonchach'aek Sŏpisŭ

• 법제처 Ministry of Government Legislation  
  Available in English 

• 이북5도 Committee of the Five Northern Korean Provinces 
  Available in English. As a South Korean government body (the Ministry of Security and Public Administration), it provides updates, geographical information, and statistics on the five Northern Korean provinces.

• 이산가족정보통합시스템 Integrated Information System for Separated Families

• 통일부 Ministry of Unification 
  Available in English and Chinese. A South Korean government body dedicated to the unification of the Korean peninsula. 

• 통일연구원 Korea Institute for National Unification (KINU)  Available in English

• 평화문제연구소 Institute for Peace Affairs 

These resources include rare books and special collections hosted by other universities around the world. 

• Asami Collection and Korean Rare Books (C. V. Starr East Asian Library at University of California, Berkeley)
• East Asia Image Collection (Digital Scholarship Services, Skillman Library at Lafayette College)
  An open-access archive of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, rare books and slides from Taiwan, Japan, China, Korea, Manchuria, and Indonesia
• E-Asia Digital Library (University of Oregon Libraries Asian Collection)
  Collection of digitized e-books and a database of full text web resources. Largely on resources held at the University of Oregon Library.
• The National Library of Korea: Digitized Resources
• Korean Rare Books and Manuscripts at Yale University 
  국외소재 한국문화재 조사보고서 제 22권, 2011, published by NRICH (National Research Institute of Cultural Heritage) in South Korea.
• Willard Dickerman Straight and Early U.S. – Korea Diplomatic Relations
• University of Washington Library Special Collections include:
  • Liberation Space Collection (Korean Literature from 1945-1950)
  • Manhwa: Korean Graphic Novels
  • James Palais' English Translation of Pangye Surok
  • Korean-Cubans Photo Collection
  • Washington State Korean News (한인회보 Hanin Hoebo)
  • North Korea Propaganda Leaflets
• Digitized Harvard-Yenching Library Korean Rare and Old Books include:
  • Digitized Korean rare book title list 
  • Kyujanggak - Harvard-Yenching Library Korean rare book digitization project 
  • Minsokwon - Harvard-Yenching Library Korean rare book digitization project 
  • National Library of Korea - Harvard-Yenching Library Korean rare book digitization project 
  • Miyoung Lee and Neil Simpkins - Harvard-Yenching Library Korean rare book digitization project