Librarian
Subject Headings
Books on Korean studies can be found in the UBC library catalogue using the following list of example subject headings.
- Art, Korean
- Buddhism - Korea
- Korean literature
- Korea - History
- Korea - Civilization
- Korea (North) - Politics and government
- Korean language
- Law - Korea
- Music - Korea
- Short Stories - Korean
Searching by a Subject
- Go to the UBC library catalogue and click on the "Browse" tab
- In the search bar, type the keyword of the subject
- Under the search bar, select either "Subject (begins with)" or "Subject (contains keyword)"
- Click Search
Call Numbers
To browse for books on the shelves, use the call numbers below:
- Anthropology…………………………….…. GN635 K6 | GN855 K6
- Art…………………………………….……… N7360 – N7368
- Economic History and Conditions……….. HC466
- Folklore……………………………..………. GR342
- History………………………………………. DS901 – DS937
- Korean War……………………..….………. DS918
- Language and Literature………….……… PL901 – PL998
- Law………………………………….………. KT4451 – KT4600
- Music…………………….………….………. ML342 – ML343 | ML3752
- Painting……………………………….…….. ND1060 – ND1070 | ND1383 K8 | ND1432 K6
- Philosophy…………………………….……. B139.1 – B139.4 | B5250 – B5254
- Politics and Government…………………. JA84 K6 | JQ1720 – JQ1729
- Religions…………………………….……… BL2230 – BL2240
- Social History and Conditions……….…… HN730.5
- Women, Feminism………………………… HQ1765.5
Ebooks
- 한국관련 서양고서DB 검색시스템 Full-Text Database of Ancient Western Books on Korea-Related SubjectsA database created by the Myongji University Library which provides more than 600 ancient western books related to Korea in full-text images or texts along with descriptions, guide words, indexes, table of contents, and bibliographic information
- LTI Korea (Literature Translation Institute of Korea)LTI Korea Library provide translated works of Korean literature whose copyright has been expired such as "20th Century Korean Literature Series"
- Old Books About Korea OnlineBy An Sonjae / Brother Anthony of Taizé.
Finding Korean Books
- RISS (Research & Information Sharing Service) 학술연구정보서비스The union catalogue of academic libraries in South Korea and Japan.
- KORCIS (Korean Old & Rare Collection Information System) · 한적국고전종합목록시스템National catalogue of Korean old books and manuscripts.
- 국회도서관 National Assembly Library of KoreaThe resources of the Library are accessible to the UBC faculty, students, and UBC affiliated users through the Korean Language Librarian. Please email korean.library.support@ubc.ca to make requests.
- 국립중앙도서관 National Library of KoreaThis national repository library contains over 8 million items as one of national repository library of Korea, and is supportive for providing services to requests from abroad.
- 서울대학교 중앙도서관 Seoul National University LibraryAs the largest academic research library in Korea, it contains over 4 million records.
- WorldCat
This union catalogue contains over 46,000,000 records. It can be used as a way to determine which North American libraries have particular books. If you find a book that UBC does not have, make a note of its OCLC accession number so you can add it to your Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form.
