Related Guides
Databases
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new windowCovers the history & culture of Native North Americans including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, & literacy. Includes books, essays, journal articles, and government documents.
- Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of journal articles, books, and primary sources that focus on various topics around ethnicity and race within the Americas.
- iPortal : Indigenous Studies Portal This link opens in a new windowThe Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) has over 25,000 records describing electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photos, archival resources, and maps relevant to Indigenous studies and communities.
- Canada Commons This link opens in a new windowSearchable access to current public documents issued by Canadian public policy and health research agencies and think tanks, as well as books from over 70 Canadian publishers.
- Native Health Database This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
- Informit Indigenous Collection This link opens in a new windowCollection includes journals, reports and monographs from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Canada, the US and the Pacific.
Journal Coverage in Databases
This table shows some databases where selected journals that publish Indigenous health research are indexed (as of June 2023). Find more Indigenous-focused journals on Xwi7xwa Library's Indigenous Research Methodologies guide.
Notes: Green check does not mean all years of a journal are included in the database. Embase and CINAHL index few or none of these journals; however, CINAHL is a good source for literature on cultural safety published in general nursing and allied health journals.
|
Journal Title |
PubMed/ |
|||
|
|
|
|
|
|
| American Indian and Alaska Native Mental Health Research |
|
|
|
|
| Etudes Inuit Studies |  |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| International Journal of Circumpolar Health |  |
|
|
|
|
International Journal of Indigenous Health
(previous title: Journal of Aboriginal Health) |
|
|
|
|
|
Journal of Indigenous HIV Research
(previous title: CJACBR, Canadian Journal of Aboriginal Community-Based HIV/AIDS Research) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Journal of Indigenous Wellbeing
(previous title: Pimatisiwin) |
|
|
through 2014 under Pimatiwisin |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Search tips
Note that some databases may use outdated, even offensive terminology for Indigenous peoples.
- Health Sciences Search Filters: Indigenous PeoplesThe University of Alberta Libraries offers these search terms which you can cut and paste into databases. There are terms for Canada and for individual provinces.
Critical appraisal
- X̱wi7x̱wa's Critical Indigenous Toolkit - 2021To assist researchers in critical Indigenous literacy and assessing a resource. Do not hesitate to email: xwi7xwa.library@ubc.ca for further assistance.
- 'In a good way': Brief Indigenous research standards checklistCritical appraisal tool from the 2019 article Experiences of the HIV Cascade of Care Among Indigenous Peoples: A Systematic Review (https://doi.org/10.1007/s10461-018-2372-2)
Core Readings and Resources
- Reckoning with the Truth, Working Together for a Better FutureThe UBC Faculty of Medicine Response to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada Calls to Action
- UBC Anti-Racism and Inclusive Excellence Task Force ReportsFull report and reports from committees.
- In Plain Sight: Addressing Indigenous-specific Racism and Discrimination in B.C. Health CareThe report, published in November 2020, makes 24 recommendations to address what is a systemic problem, deeply rooted in colonialism.
Cultural Safety and Cultural Humility in Healthcare
- Building Cultural Safety and Humility for First Nations Clients into Pharmacy PracticeTwo free courses for pharmacy team members: 1. Cultivating Relationships and Creating Safer Spaces in Pharmacy for First Nations Clients 2. A Case-Based Approach for Pharmacy Teams on Providing CARE for First Nations Clients
- Weaving RelationsCanvas course from UBC Faculty of Applied Science. "Weaving Relations explores Indigenous histories, people, and contexts, as well as settler colonialism in Canada, through the lens of Indigenous-Canadian relationships. The course considers how we got to where we are now, and how we can build a better future together. "
- NCCIH Cultural Safety CollectionResources from the National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health.
- Indigenous Healthcare Education and Practice: Applying Digital Teaching and Learning Resources to the TRC’s Calls to ActionOpen access modules from Queen's University.
- Indigenous Health EquityWebinar series targeted to public health professionals, from the University of Toronto Dalla Lana School of Public Health. Includes links to further Indigenous cultural safety modules developed by Cancer Care Ontario.
- Indigenous Cultural Safety Collaborative Learning SeriesNational webinar series on Indigenous cultural safety in the health and social services.
- Coming Together for Wellness: Supporting the Journey Toward Cultural Safety in B.C. PharmaciesGuide from FNHA and BC PharmaCare.
- Indigenous Relations Behavioural Competencies17 competencies for BC Public Service employees.
- Research Involving the First Nations, Inuit, and Métis People of Canada (Tri-Council)The Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans - Chapter 9 is a framework for ethical conduct of research involving Aboriginal peoples. It's a joint policy of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC).
Indigenous Health Databases from NCCIH
- Indigenous Health Researchers DatabaseDirectory of researchers affiliated with Canadian universities who have expertise in Indigenous health. Created by the National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health.
- Indigenous Health Links DatabaseDirectory of research institutes and organizations conducting Indigenous health research in Canada and internationally. Created by the National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health.