Reference Resources for Morphology
Morphology is the area of linguistics that studies the grammatical information contained in words, and the one that explores how words are related to each other according to their shared meaning and form. (From the entry for Morphology by Antonio Fábregas in the International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences, 2nd ed.)
Below are some key (online) reference works for phonology.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Morphology by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2020This collection includes 115 wide-ranging and in-depth articles, encompassing all aspects of morphology, such as morphological units, inflection, derivation, compounding, and formal morphological means. Now part of the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Linguistics.
The Oxford Handbook of Morphological Theory by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2019This volume is the first handbook devoted entirely to the variety of theoretical frameworks adopted in the field of morphology, including Minimalism, Optimality Theory, Network Morphology, Cognitive Grammar and Canonical Typology.
The Cambridge Handbook of Morphology by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2016The Cambridge Handbook of Morphology describes the diversity of morphological phenomena in the world's languages, surveying the methodologies by which these phenomena are investigated and the theoretical interpretations that have been proposed to explain them.
Contemporary Morphological Theories by Call Number: Koerner P241 .S74 2016Publication Date: 2016This book addresses the needs of the language scholars/students who find themselves engaged in morphological analysis and theorizing. It offers a guide to existing approaches and reveals how they can either complement or compete with each other.
The Oxford Handbook of Derivational Morphology by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2014Provides a comprehensive and thorough overview of the study of derivational morphology and treats affixation, conversion, reduplication, root and pattern, and other templatic processes, as well as prosodic and subtractive means of forming new words.
The World Atlas of Language StructuresCall Number: onlinePublication Date: 2005Originally published as a book and CD combination, The World Atlas of Language Structures displays structural properties of the world's languages. More than 140 world maps and numerous regional maps illustrate the geographical distribution of features of pronunciation and grammar. The section on morphology includes maps and data on inflectional formatives, affixation, reduplication, and much more.
New Books on Morphology at UBC Library
Library Subject Headings
UBC Library, like most academic libraries, uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. Books on Morphology can be found in the UBC Library catalogue under these Subject Headings:
- Grammar, Comparative and general - Morphology
- Grammar, Comparative and general - Word Formation
- Grammar, Comparative and general - Reduplication
- Grammar, Comparative and general - Inflection
- Grammar, Comparative and general - Compound Words
For books on the morphology of a specific language, use this format (replace 'French' with whichever language you are interested in):
Morphology: Key Journals
Morphology
The journal covers morphology proper, as well as the interaction of morphology with phonology, syntax, and semantics, the acquisition and processing of morphological information, the nature of the mental lexicon, and morphological variation and change. Its main focus is on formal models of morphological knowledge, morphological typology, the position of morphology in the architecture of the human language faculty, and the evolution and change of language.