Getting Started
To find a specific journal article, search for the article title or the journal title in UBC Library's Summon database.
To find journal articles on a topic, begin by searching Art Full Text.
Then, expand your search with other resources listed in the Databases section of this guide.
More detailed instructions for searching can be found below.
Select Art Publications
This is a selection of art journals in UBC Library holdings:
- Canadian ArtOnline coverage: 1993-Present.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .C35 A77 (1984-Present). - The Art BulletinOnline coverage: 1919-Present.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .A4 (1913-Present). - International Journal for Digital Art HistoryOnline coverage: 2015-Present.
- Mousse MagazineAvailable in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .M68 (2006-Present).
- Arts AsiatiquesOnline coverage: 1954-2018.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .A85 (1954-Present). - OctoberOnline coverage: 1976-Present.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: NX1 .O37 N48 (1976- ). - Renaissance QuarterlyOnline coverage: 1967-Present.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library (ASRS Storage) at: CB3 .R36 (1948-2006). - Burlington MagazineOnline coverage: 1948-2014.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .B95 (1903-Present). - Journal of Curatorial StudiesOnline coverage: 2012-Present.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: AM1 .J68 (2012-Present). - Art JournalOnline coverage: 1960-Present.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N81 .C6 (1960-Present). - Woman's Art JournalOnline coverage: 1980-Present.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1.W65 A77 (1980-Present). - Critique d'artOnline coverage: 1999-Present.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .C749 (1993-Present). - Art IndiaAvailable in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N7304 .A783 (2000-Present).
- OrientationsOnline coverage: 2020-Present.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1.O74 H6 (1970-Present).
Find Art Journals
Print Journals @ UBC Library
To find a specific print journal, search the:
Recent issues of print journals are located in the Current Journals section on Level 3 of the Music, Art and Architecture Library.
Older issues are located in the open stacks on Level 4 or in ASRS storage.
For a selective list of print journals, search the UBC Library Catalogue by the subject heading Art -- Periodicals.
e-Journals @ UBC Library
To find a specific e-journal, search UBC Library's Print and Electronic Journals portal.
For a selective list of electronic art journals @ UBC, browse the online subject listing for:
- Art, Architecture & Applied Arts: Fine Arts - General
- Art, Architecture & Applied Arts: Visual Arts - General
Open Access E-journals
Browse the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) to find open digital collections of art magazines.
Canadian Publications
Journals
- Canadian ArtAlso available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .C2
- Journal of Canadian Art HistoryAlso available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .J68 C35
- RACAR: revue d'art canadienne. Canadian art review.Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .R32 Q42
- C Magazine: international contemporary artAlso available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .C1
For a list of Canadian art journals at UBC Library see:
- The Articles / Journals section of the Canadian Art guide
- The subject heading Art--Canada--Periodicals in the Library Catalogue
Print Indexes
(See the Databases section of this guide for Canadian databases)
- Index to the National Gallery of Canada Bulletin and Annual BulletinA print index available in the Music, Art and Architeture Library reference collection at: N910.O7 A25 1998
- Saturday Night Art IndexA print index available in the Music, Art and Architeture Library reference collection at: N1 .S288
- Historical art index, A.D. 400-1650: people, places, and events depictedA print index available in the Music, Art and Architeture Library reference collection at: N8210 .R6 1989
- A.C.I. : art catalogue index : catalogues raisonneĢs & critical catalogues of artists 1780-2008A print index available in the Music, Art and Architeture Library reference collection at: N6447 .A25 2009
Current Awareness Tools
Want the latest issue of your favourite journal delivered to your inbox? Many ejournals provide TOC (Table of Contents) alerts and many databases provide search alerts. For more information visit UBC Library's Current Awareness Tools guide.
Below is a TOC feed from the latest issue of Renaissance Quarterly: