Art History & Visual Art

An online, searchable image database of works from the Museum's collection. Offers access to more than two million objects from the Paleolithic and Neolithic eras, Ancient Greece and Rome, and Europe from early periods to the present, as well as objects from Africa, Oceania, and the Americas, ancient and contemporary Middle East, Japan, Korea, China, Central Asia, Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, South and Southeast Asia.

Includes advocacy news, the ICOM Code of Ethics and professional standards, and links to regional professional associations.

An online, searchable gallery containing high resolution images with details about works and artists from the collections. Includes Ancient Egyptian, Greek and Roman Antiquities, Medieval, Renaissance, and Baroque art.

An online, searchable database of works from the holdings of one of the world's largest art museums, with a collection of more than two million works of art spanning five thousand years of global culture from prehistory to the present. Collection areas include: Greek, Roman, and Egyptian antiquities; European sculpture and decorative arts; Medieval art; arts of Africa, Oceania, and the Americas; American art; and Modern and Contemporary art.

Online access to more than 77,000 images of works from the museum's holdings, which contains over 200,000 works of modern and contemporary art.

Online access to the museum’s holdings, housed in the former Gare d’Orsay, a Beaux-Arts railway station build between 1989-1900. The collection focuses mainly on French art dating between 1848-1914 in a variety of media including painting, sculpture, photography, and graphic and decorative arts.

Online access to the holdings of one of the world's oldest and most famous art galleries. Includes visual and material culture of ancient civilizations, dating back nearly 7,000 years, as well as Western artworks from the Middle Ages to 1848. Collections are divided into eight curatorial departments: Egyptian Antiquities; Greek, Etruscan, and Roman Antiquities; Near Eastern Antiquities; Islamic Art; Paintings; Sculptures; Decorative Arts; and Prints and Drawings.

Online access to select masterpieces from the Gallery's collection, which represents the major traditions of Western European painting from late medieval and Renaissance Italy to the French Impressionists.

Online access to the holdings of one of the most comprehensive art collections in the world, illustrating major achievements in painting, sculpture, decorative arts, and works on paper from the Middle Ages to the present.

Online access to the Gallery's holdings, including a collection that spans all periods of Canadian art, a rich represention of works by Europeans -- from old masters to contemporary artists -- and strong holdings in photography, Inuit art, and contemporary American art.

Access exhibition news and searchable indexes of the collections, archives, and library. Includes abstract and Surrealist painting; Impressionist, post-Impressionist, and early modern masterpieces; and European and American Minimalist, Post-Minimalist, Environmental, and Conceptual art.

Tate art museums (Tate Modern, Tate Britain, Tate Liverpool and Tate St Ives) house the United Kingdom's national collection of British art from 1500 as well as international modern and contemporary art. The holdings include nearly 70,000 artworks by over 3,000 artists.

An online resource for Canadian museums and heritage organizations and their collections. Explores the history, culture, science, and arts of communities from across the country and features over 600 virtual exhibits, nearly 1 million images, and a range of multimedia content.

Offers online access to information about the Library's extensive physical holdings and digital collections, including books, manuscripts, music and sound recordings, maps, prints, drawings, and historical items dating back to 2000 BCE.

Search extensive library and archival holdings, plus digitized collections. Includes visual and material culture from the 15th century to the present: nearly 50,000 rare books, more than 27,000 prints and drawings, 800 collections of rare photographs, and more than 12,000 linear feet of manuscripts and archives, as well as optical devices and 20th-century multiples and videos.

Offers online access to LAC collections of the shared documentary heritage of all Canadians, spanning the history of the country. Includes books, artists' books, government documents, archival and textual records, photographic images, audio and video recordings, digital content, etc.

Provides information on the Museum Libraries` wide range of research activities and comprehensive collections of books, periodicals, photographs, manuscripts, electronic resources, ephemera, and other scholarly resources related to the history of art in print and digital formats.

Online catalogue of the VAG's library holdings, which include more than 50,000 books and exhibition catalogues, 60 journal subscriptions, 5,000 artist files, sound recordings, slides and auction catalogues documenting painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, photography, video, and emerging art forms.

Online access to the NGC's collection of visual arts literature in Canada, from its founding in 1880 to the present, as well as of the Western tradition from the late Middle Ages to the present, with particular emphasis on painting, sculpture and the graphic arts of Britain, France, Italy and the United States.

Includes exhibition catalogues on Canadian artists, research files on visual artists who have lived and worked in BC (news articles, gallery mailings, pamphlets, etc.), and research files on local art galleries.

Offers online access to the V&A`s collection of books, journals, exhibition catalogues, auction house sales catalogues, archival and research materials, comics, and e-resources. Periods and styles include: Medieval, Renaissance, Europe 1600-1815, Art Nouveau, Art Deco, Modernism, and 1960s fashion.

Online access to ECUAD library's collection of contemporary art, media and design, and related subjects in art and design history.

Offers online access to the AGO's library and archives, including extensive collections information, podcasts, and video resources.

An online database containing 736,893 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections, featuring prints, photographs, maps, book arts, fashion, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

The online catalogue offers access to over 200,000 records for medieval and Renaissance manuscripts, rare books, literary and historical manuscripts, music scores, ancient seals and tablets, drawings, prints, and other art objects in the collection.

Access to the online catalogue of the MoMA Library, with a comprehensive collection devoted to modern and contemporary art. Provides records for all material in the Library, including books, periodicals, exhibition catalogues, pamphlet files, artists’ books, special collections materials, and electronic resources.

Based in London and New York, The Art Newspaper offers a news service about the art world, supported by more than 50 correspondents working in more than 30 countries. In addition to daily news, it publishes reviews and commentary by major players in the art scene.

A online daily digest that offers links to arts and culture topics collected from online sources, including blogs and more than 200 English-language newspapers, magazines, and publications.

An online source for global art, architecture, and design news; information and commentary on art and artists, gallery guide, and art sales index. Includes daily news from galleries, auction houses, and museums.

Established in New York, e-flux is a publishing platform and archive, artist project, and curatorial platform. The news digest, events, exhibitions, schools, journal, books, and art projects it produces or disseminates address critical discourses of contemporary art, culture, and theory internationally.

Western Canada's art magazine. Provides up-to-date information about art and artists across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba and the North. Includes a searchable exhibition database and interactive maps to locate galleries.

Previously Culture24. Provides news, exhibition reviews, links, event listings, and education resources from thousands of UK museums, art galleries, heritage sites, archives and libraries.

Calendars of American representational art exhibitions hosted by art museums and other non-profit organizations.