Getting Started
To find a specific journal article, search for the article title or the journal title in UBC Library's Summon database.
To find journal articles on a specific topic in Canadian art, search the journals listed below.
Expand your search with other resources listed in the Databases section of this guide and/or the Art History & Visual Art guide.
More detailed instructions for searching can be found below.
Select Canadian Art Publications
This is a selection of Canadian art journals in UBC Library holdings:
Many of these journals are indexed in CBCA or Lexis-Nexis.
- Canadian ArtOnline coverage: 1993-Present.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .C35 A77 (1984-Present). - RACAR: revue d'art canadienne. Canadian art review.Online coverage: 1974-Present.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .R32 Q42 (1974-Present). - C Magazine: international contemporary artOnline coverage: 1997-Present.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .C1 (1983-Present). - Journal of Canadian Art HistoryOnline coverage: 1974-Present.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .J68 C35 (1974-2016). - Border CrossingsOnline coverage: 1996-Present.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .A78 M35 (1985-Present). - Preview | The Gallery GuideGuide to exhibitions at galleries and museums in the Pacific Northwest.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .P74 V47 (1997-Present). - Vie des artsOnline coverage: 1956-2009.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .V42 (1956-Present). - Fuse MagazineOnline coverage: 2008-2013.
Also available in print at the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .C45 (1987-2014). - Canadian CameraFull print issues available in the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: TR1 .C35 C34 (1997-Present).
- Muse | Canadian Museums AssociationFull print issues available in the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: AM1 .C35 M82 (1983-Present).
- Gallery | Southern Alberta Art GalleryFull print issues available in the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .G25 L48 (1982-Present).
- ParallelogrammeFull print issues available in the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .P36 (1976-1995).
- Mix (previously Parallelogramme)Full print issues available in the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: N1 .M59 (1995-2006).
- Ontario CraftFull print issues available in the Music, Art & Architecture Library at: NK1 .C731 (1981-2006).
Find Canadian Art Journals
Print Journals @ UBC Library
To find a specific print journal, search the:
Recent issues of print journals are located in the Current Journals section on Level 3 of the Music, Art and Architecture Library.
Older issues are located in the open stacks on Level 4 or in ASRS storage.
For more Canadian art journals at UBC Library, search the UBC Library Catalogue using the subject headings:
e-Journals @ UBC Library
To find a specific e-journal, search UBC Library's Print and Electronic Journals portal.
For a list of electronic art journals @ UBC, browse the online subject listing for:
- Art, Architecture & Applied Arts: Fine Arts - General
- Art, Architecture & Applied Arts: Visual Arts - General
Open Access E-journals
Browse the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) to find open digital collections of art magazines.
Indexes (Print & Online)
- Biographical index of artists in CanadaAn online index for biographies of more than 9,000 professional and amateur artists active in Canada from the 17th century to the present.
- National Gallery of Canada: Index to Art in Canada to 1930Online index of works of art listed in Canadian exhibition, auction, and collection catalogues from 1823 (date of the earliest catalogue identified) up to 1930.
- Index to the National Gallery of Canada Bulletin and Annual BulletinA print index available in the Music, Art and Architeture Library reference collection at: N910 .O7 A25 1998
- Saturday Night Art IndexA print index available in the Music, Art and Architeture Library reference collection at: N1 .S288
- Concordia University art index to nineteenth century Canadian periodicalsA print index available in the Music, Art and Architeture Library reference collection at: ZN1 .C65 1981
Current Awareness Tools
Exhibition and Event Listings for Canadian Art:
Explore a listing of current and upcoming art exhibitions, from coast to coast. Search by:
(1) Province
(2) City / Town
(3) Schedule
Explore a listing of current art exhibitions being held in the Pacific Northwest (BC, Alberta, Washington, & Oregon).
Explore a listing of current art exhibitions being held in BC, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, and Northern Canada.
Want the latest issue of your favourite journal delivered to your inbox?
Many ejournals provide TOC (Table of Contents) alerts and many databases provide search alerts. For more information visit UBC Library's Current Awareness Tools guide.
Below is a TOC feed from the latest issue of RACAR Journal: