Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 500

Finding Theses and Dissertations

Try finding recent theses on your research topic and make use of the full text access to the bibliographies.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

World's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. Includes over 2.1 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

Over 70,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added each year. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. For UBC users, offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from UBC theses & dissertations.

Compare the results of searching Christopher Marlowe and "Christopher Marlowe". Narrow your search results by restricting your search to Abstracts.

For most subject searching in this database, I recommend using broad subject terms and restricting your search to the Abstracts. For example, compare the results of searching canad* AND poem* OR poetry searching Anywhere and in the Abstracts.

You can also mine the bibliographies: try searching "Deanna K. Kreisel" (search full text). Download the PDF of a thesis, and do a keyword same search within the thesis.

Try setting up a search alert for notification about completed theses on your topic.

This guide will explain how to find theses and dissertations written at UBC and beyond: Theses and Dissertations

 

Looking for UBC theses and dissertations?

UBC graduate theses and dissertations are available online in cIRcle, UBC's Information Repository.

Browse UBC cIRcle by Program (theses) for English.