Handbooks
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineThis online collection contains
American Elections and Political Behavior
American Political Parties and Interest Groups
American Presidency
Behavioral Political Science
British Politics
Canadian Politics
Comparative Politics
Contextual Political Analysis
Deliberative Democracy
Electoral Persuasion
Electoral Systems
European Union
Gender and Politics
International Relations
Law and Politics
Migration Crises
National Security Intelligence
Political Behavior
Political Consumerism
Political Economy
Political Ideologies
Political Institutions
Political Methodology
Political Theory
Populism
Public Policy
Time and Politics
The Welfare State
United Nations - Sage HandbooksEnter Sage Handbook Politic? in the library catalogue to find titles in this series, including:
21st Century Political Science: A Reference Handbook
SAGE Handbook of Comparative Politics
SAGE Handbook of Conflict Resolution
Handbook of European Union Politics
Handbook of International Relations
Annual Reviews
- Annual Reviews of Political Science byCall Number: OnlineISBN: 1094-2939Publication Date: 1998-The Annual Review of Political Science, in publication since 1998, covers significant developments in the field of Political Science including political theory and philosophy, international relations, political economy, political behavior, American and comparative politics, public administration and policy, and methodology.
The Role of Books in Political Science Research
Scholarly books are ideal information sources to consult in the early stages of research when you are looking for an introduction or overview of your topic. While journal articles can help you find more targeted information or a specific study related to your research area, books provide a more comprehensive overview, and may analyze a number of related studies. Additionally, because books include sub-topics, they may assist you in narrowing a broad area of interest into a narrow or more manageable research topic. Books:
✔ Are in-depth and cumulative studies of a topic.
✔ Include more contextual and historical information than other information sources.
✔ Are longer than other works (typically over 100 pages).
✔ May be republished in new editions to account for further research.
✔ May be available in print or electronically through UBC Library.
Books typically take longer to write and publish than other scholarly materials, which means they offer more complete coverage, but may be less current than sources like journal articles, newspaper articles, or websites.
- Guide to Finding Books at UBC LibraryThis guide contains tips on how to search by title, author and use subject headings as well as describes common features of scholarly books.
Search UBC Library's General Summon Search for Books & Articles
Encyclopedias and Background Reading
Encyclopedia of Democracy by Call Number: JC423 .E53 1995 Koerner Library ReferenceWith over 400 articles written by more than 200 international scholars, readers gain access to all aspects of democracy from its earliest stirrings to such recent developments as the end of eastern European communism and South African apartheid. The Encyclopedia is richly illustrated with photographs, maps, and charts, and is alphabetically arranged, carefully indexed, and abundantly cross-referenced for easy access and research.
Encyclopedia of Governance by Call Number: JC11 E53 2007, Koerner Library Reference and Online
Encyclopedia of Politics - The Left and the Right by Call Number: JA61 E54 2005 Koerner Library ReferenceAlthough the distinction between the politics of the left and the right is commonly assumed in the media and in treatments of political science and history, the terms are used so loosely that the student and the general reader are often confused: What exactly are the terms left and right supposed to imply? This two-volume Encyclopedia of Politics contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left or right.
International Encyclopedia of Elections by Call Number: JF1001 I57 2000 Koerner Library ReferenceThe International Encyclopedia of Elections is the first and only definitive work to survey elections in independent nations and describe the varied systems and processes in clear language understandable to any interested reader.
International Encyclopedia of Political Science (2011) by Call Number: OnlineProvides a definitive, comprehensive picture of all aspects of political life, recognizing the theoretical and cultural pluralism of our approaches and including findings from the far corners of the world. The eight volumes cover every field of politics, from political theory and methodology to political sociology, comparative politics, public policies, and international relations. The encyclopedia was developed in partnership with the International Political Science Association.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2015) by Call Number: OnlineOffers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. It comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields.
The Oxford Companion to American Politics (2012) by Call Number: OnlineLong entries form the core of the book, covering such topics as climate change, terrorism, welfare policies, nuclear proliferation, voting behavior, and think tanks. Each of these entries include high-level scrutiny of the literature, history, and future of the topic.
The Oxford Companion to Comparative Politics (2012) by Call Number: OnlineFocuses on the major theories, concepts, and conclusions that define the field, analyzing the similarities and differences between political units.
The World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures by Call Number: JF511 .W67 1998Publication Date: 1997Since its publication, this encyclopedia has been the leading source for information about parliaments and legislature. Chapters describe each parliament or legislature in terms of key characteristics including historical background, elections, relations with the executive branch & judiciary, budgetary control, lawmaking, parliamentary procedures, & members' rights & immunities.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Politics by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780190228637Publication Date: 2014-
Routledge Handbook of Counterterrorism and Counterinsurgency in Africa by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781138575394Publication Date: 2020This book will illuminate how Africa's defence and security environments have been radically altered by dramatic changes in world politics and local ramifications. The contributions will critically highlight the transnational dimensions of counter-terrorism and counter-insurgency in Africa, and reveal the roles played by African states and regional organisations in the global war on terror.
Routledge Handbook of Gender and Security by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781138696211Publication Date: 2018This handbook provides a comprehensive look at the study of gender and security in global politics. The volume is based on the core argument that gender is conceptually necessary to thinking about central questions of security; analytically important for thinking about cause and effect in security; and politically important for considering possibilities of making the world better in the future.
