Reference Resources for Phonetics
Phonetics may be defined as the science of speech. It is concerned with all aspects of the production, transmission and perception of the sounds of language. (From the entry for Phonetics by Michael Ashby in the Oxford Bibliographies Online.)
Below are some key (online) reference works for phonetics.
The Cambridge Handbook of Phonetics by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2021This handbook provides comprehensive coverage of the most recent, cutting-edge work in the field, and focuses on the most widely-debated contemporary issues. Chapters are divided into five thematic areas: segmental production, prosodic production, measuring speech, audition and perception, and applications of phonetics.
The Routledge Handbook of Phonetics by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2019The Routledge Handbook of Phonetics provides a comprehensive and up-to-date compilation of research, history and techniques in phonetics.
The Handbook of Phonetic Sciences by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2010The Handbook of Phonetic Sciences provides an authoritative account of the key topics in both theoretical and applied areas of speech communication. Accessibly structured into five major sections covering: experimental phonetics; biological perspectives; modelling speech production and perception; linguistic phonetics; and speech technology.
The Bloomsbury Companion to Phonetics by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2013The Bloomsbury Companion to Phonetics offers a comprehensive reference resource, giving an overview of key topics and key terms in phonetics. It offers a survey of current research areas and new directions in the field, and features a manageable guide to beginning or developing research.
A Dictionary of Phonetics and Phonology by Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 1995This dictionary provides a comprehensive yet concise guide to over 2,000 terms in phonetics and phonology. Its usefulness as a reference tool is further enhanced by the inclusion of pronunciations, notational devices and symbols, earliest sources of terms, suggestions for further reading, and advice with regard to usage.
New Books on Phonetics at UBC Library
Library Subject Headings
UBC Library, like most academic libraries, uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. Books on Phonetics can be found in the UBC Library catalogue under these Subject Headings:
- Phonetics
- Phonetics, Acoustic
- Consonants
- Intonation (Phonetics)
- Language and languages -- Phonetic transcriptions
- Laryngeals (Phonetics)
- Phonetic alphabet
- Tone (Phonetics)
- Vowels
For books on the phonetics of a specific language, use this format (replace 'French' with whichever language you are interested in):
Phonetics: Key Journals
Journal of Phonetics
The Journal of Phonetics publishes papers of experimental or theoretical nature that deal with phonetic aspects of language and linguistic communication processes. Papers dealing with technological and/or pathological topics, or papers of an interdisciplinary nature are also suitable, provided that linguistic-phonetic principles underlie the work reported.
Journal of the International Phonetic Association
JIPA is a forum for original research in the fields of phonetic theory and description, and their phonological, typological and broader implications. JIPA is especially concerned with the theory behind the International Phonetic Alphabet and publishes papers, known as Illustrations of the IPA, that use the alphabet for the analysis and description of the sound structures of a wide variety of languages.
Clinical Linguistics & Phonetics
An international journal that publishes research into linguistics and phonetics, including speech and language disorders, hearing impairment and sign language, with special attention given to multilingual and under-researched populations, and languages other than English.
The Journal of the Acoustical Society of America
Since 1929, The Journal of the Acoustical Society of America (JASA) has been the leading source of theoretical and experimental research in the broad interdisciplinary subject of sound. The journal serves physical scientists, life scientists, engineers, psychologists, physiologists, architects, musicians and speech communication specialists.
Phonetica
Phonetica is an international forum for phonetic science that covers all aspects of the subject matter, from phonetic and phonological descriptions, and articulatory and signal analytic measures of production, to perception, acquisition and phonetic variation and change.
Websites
Phonetics
- International Phonetic Association (IPA)
The IPA is the major as well as the oldest representative organisation for phoneticians. It was established in 1886 in Paris. The aim of the IPA is to promote the scientific study of phonetics and the various practical applications of that science. In furtherance of this aim, the IPA provides the academic community world-wide with a notational standard for the phonetic representation of all languages - the International Phonetic Alphabet.
Speech
- Speech Accent Archive
Archive of people from around the world reading the same English paragraph for comparision and analysis. Includes audio and a phonetic transcription for comparison across samples.
- The X-Ray Film Database for Speech Research
Cineradiographic vocal tract footage from Queen's University/ATR Labs