Research Guides: Transportation Engineering: Standards

Standards are agreed-upon specifications and guidelines for the performance, operation or composition of a product or process. Regulatory agencies create standards that have legal weight; other organizations create standards that are adopted voluntarily because they provide a means of correlating measures and create a common ground. More information on why you would use a standard is available in this video from the BSI British Standards.

Don't see the standard you're looking for in this guide?

Contact one of the librarians listed on this page to request a specific standard.
Ask your librarian for help.
Contact Vancouver Public Library's Central Branch. It may have some standards that UBC Library does not - call 604-331-3603 to check.

CSA

CSA OnDemand
Through UBC Library, you have access to Complete CSA Collection (No IT). In this package you will find, with the exception of IT and Telecommunication standards, a collection of all CSA's standards and standards-related documents such as handbooks, guidelines and commentaries. Includes all current and historical standards in English and French with the exception of IT and Telecommunication standards.Standards updated immediately as they are published.

Note: CSA standards can be downloaded as PDFs on-campus or on the VPN using Adobe Acrobat Reader

Engineering Standards

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
The Digital Library includes American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) vast collection of over 12,000 standards in more than 130 industry areas.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Full text access to more than 1000 standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).
SAE Mobilus
Contains citations on research and standards about air, land, sea and space mobility as well as accident reconstruction and occupant protection and safety.
UBC Library Standards Research Guide
This guide lists additional sources of standards and building codes available through UBC Library.
Province of BC - Engineering Standards and Guidelines

Transportation Engineering

Related Guides

What are Standards?

CSA

Engineering Standards