To find data for other cities, we suggest visiting the city's website. Another option is using the site: command on Google so search the city's website for transportation and planning related data or publications.
- City of Kelowna Open Data CatalogSearch for documents and data on transportation in Kelowna.
- City of Vancouver Open Data Portal, Transportation DataView the list of all datasets for transportation topics including: bikeways, bike lane stats, city streets package, non-city streets, parking meter, public streets, rapid transit, road construction and closures, traffic counts (directional and intersections), traffic signals, truck routes, and more.
- AbacusBritish Columbia Research Libraries data service of which UBC is a partner institution. This resource provides data sets for the province in areas such as transportation, natural resources, political divisions and much more
- BC Traffic Collision Statistics, ICBCBritish Columbia Traffic Collision Statistics is an annual publication on police-reported traffic collisions occurring in the Province.
- Province of BC, Driving and TransportationIncludes links for information on cycling, vehicle safety, passenger travel, transportation reports, and more.
- Traffic Data Program, BC Ministry of Transportation and InfrastructureTraffic volume in BC 2004-Present
- Statistics Canada Socioeconomic DataUBC Library guide to Statistics Canada socioeconomic data.
- Abacus Data Repository This link opens in a new windowAbacus is UBC's collection of data sets, including public use microdata from Statistics Canada, public opinion polls, and geospatial data. Look here for Statistics Canada surveys and data.
- GeodisyGeodisy is an open source discovery tool that allows you to search open data from Canadian researchers that is indexed FRDR.
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics. Data and StatisticsUnited States Department of Transportation.
- TRID (Transport Research International Documentation) DatabaseTRID contains publications from TRIS (Transportation Research Information Services), RiP (Research in Progress), ITRD (International Transportation Research Documentation), TRB (Transportation Research Board), UTC (University Transportation Centers), ATRI (Australian Transport Index), USDOT (US Federal Department of Transportation), and STATEDOT (US State Departments of Transportation).
- TransStats, Bureau of Transportation Statistics (USA)Provides statistics on transportation in the US, with access points by geography and numerous modes of transportation.
- European Union Transportation Statistics PocketbooksThe 2020 pocketbook carries the following description: "This publication provides an overview of the most recent and most pertinent annual transport-related statistics in Europe. It covers the European Union and its 27 Member States (EU-27) and, as far as possible, the current EU candidate countries, the EFTA countries and UK"
- European Union Transport Data HubReports and data on transport in the EU, including data on roads, air, and alternative fuels.
- OECD iLibrary International Transportation Forum StatisticsStatistics collected by the International Transport Forum on transport networks, equipment, freight and passenger transport, road safety and spending on infrastructure. Most data is 1995-Present.
- Transport Statistics - UNECEThe United Nations Economic Commission for Europe complies transportation statistics on countries throughout Europe, with additional reports on North America. The Working Party on Transportation Statistics report can be found under "InfoCards", reports on transportation and the UN sustainable development goals can be found under "SDG Papers," reports on transportation statistics in Europe and North America can be found under "Publications."
- TRID (Transport Research International Documentation) DatabaseTRID contains publications from TRIS (Transportation Research Information Services), RiP (Research in Progress), ITRD (International Transportation Research Documentation), TRB (Transportation Research Board), UTC (University Transportation Centers), ATRI (Australian Transport Index), USDOT (US Federal Department of Transportation), and STATEDOT (US State Departments of Transportation).
- UNECE Statistics DatabaseOffers access to all UNECE data, including transportation data.
- United Kingdom Department of Tranportation StatisticsNumerous statistical collections related to various facets of transport in Great Britain.
- World Bank DataBankAnalysis and visualization tool of World Bank data. Related data can be found under the "infrastructure" tag.
Getting help
For general questions about finding and using data, contact the Data Librarian or Data/GIS analyst.
For help finding data or statistics in a specific field of research, contact the subject librarian for that area.
For help with R or SPSS, check out the Research Commons workshops and one-on-one consultations.
For help managing your own research data, please see the Research Data Management guide.
For guidance in statistical methods, UBC's Department of Statistics offers a range of free and fee-based services