About the A.M. Pound Collection
Alfred Myrick Pound (1869-1932) was interested in British Columbia literature and was a member of the Canadian Author's Association, the Vancouver Poetry Society, and the Vagabond Club. He occasionally wrote articles, usually biographies, for newspapers and magazines. His library held one of the best private collections in Canada, and was especially rich in the works of his friends Bliss Carman, and Sir Charles G.D. Roberts. Other authors included are Annie Charlotte Dalton, Isabel Ecclestone MacKay, Robert Alison Hood as well as other Vancouver writers. The collection includes books and pamphlets of Canadian fiction, essays, and poetry, many of them autographed. His three daughters gave the Pound Collections to UBC Library in October 1945.
Featured Materials
- Ryerson Poetry ChapbooksFeaturing Bliss Carman, Sir Charles G.D. Roberts, and other Canadian poets.
Canadian cities of romance by Call Number: FC74 .H16 1922Publication Date: 1922Text and illustrations available through the University of Pennsylvania's Celebration of Women Writers digital library.- Ballads of the Pacific Northwest, its discovery and settlement byCall Number: PR9217.O63 B2Publication Date: [1946]
E. Pauline Johnson, Tekahionwake by ISBN: 0802036708Publication Date: 2002-06-29E. Pauline Johnson (Tekahionwake) was a Native advocate of part-Mohawk ancestry, an independent woman during the period of first-wave feminism, a Canadian nationalist who also advocated strengthening the link to imperial England, a popular and versatile prose writer, and one of modern Canada's best-selling poets. Johnson longed to see the publication of a complete collection of her verse, but that wish remained unfulfilled during her life. Nine decades after her death, the first complete collection of all of Pauline Johnson's known poems, many painstakingly culled from newspapers, magazines, and archives, is now available.
Related Archival Holdings
- Alfred Myrick Pound fonds (RBSC)The fonds consists of Pound's letters, addresses, criticisms and biographical sketches. It also includes material pertaining to Charles G.D. Roberts and Bliss Carman. There is also general information about Pound, Roberts and Carman, with manuscripts of poetry and prose, newspaper and magazine clippings, scrapbooks, photographs of Canadian authors and poets, and other items.
- B.C Historical Photos (RBSC)Enter "Pound" under "Quick search"
- Robert Allison Hood fondsRobert Allison Hood was born in Scotland and spent his youth in California, where he completed his education at the University of California at Berkeley. In 1906 he came to Vancouver and began his career in finance and real estate. The fonds consists of correspondence, manuscripts, clippings, photographs, printed material, memorabilia, and other documents related to Hood's personal life and interests, his writing, and his career in real estate and financial management.
- Vagabond Club fondsThe Vagabond Club (1914-1928) was a Vancouver literary society for men intended for those interested in literature and possessing a sharp wit. A member was expected to verbally "attack" his fellow members in an amusing way. The Vagabond Club was formed at a time (1914) when this form of "verbal jousting" was commonplace. The Club was very much a Vancouver organization with a distinct focus on British Columbia and Canadian literature
Colocating this Collection
Want to explore this collection but don't know where to start? We've created some links that can help you discover the material in this collection.
Featured Authors
Roberts, Charles G. D., Sir, 1860-1943
Dalton, Annie Charlotte, 1865-1938
Johnson, E. Pauline (Emily Pauline)
Related Thesis
Hurley, Grant (2012). The Lyric West: reading the Vancouver Poet Society, 1916-1974.