Article databases
Library Subscription Databases
The Library subscribes to several databases which may be helpful for your research.
You can browse the Indexes & Databases by subject or select from one of the databases listed below.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest academic search engine providing free searching to a full range of scholarly literature (ie. peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports).
Open Access
Many databases will highlight Open Access articles (articles freely available for anyone to read without a subscription to the journal). Look for the Open Access filter within the database.
There are also databases that publish solely open access articles that anyone can access from anywhere when they are online. These include but are not limited to:
- Public Library of Science (PLOS) This link opens in a new windowAccess to PLOS Open Access journals: PLOS One, PLOS Biology, PLOS Medicine, PLOS Genetics, PLOS Computational Biology, PLOS Pathogens, PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases.
- DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowDOAJ electronic journals available in the UBC collection. This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Journals in the directory covering all subjects and languages.
- BioMed Central This link opens in a new windowBioMed Central publishes 244 peer-reviewed open access journals. UBC Library pays for a Supporters Membership which entitles UBC authors to a 15% discount on the article-processing charge.
- PubMed CentralPMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- arXiv.orgOpen access repository that includes thousands of physics and math articles.
Building Better Searches in Web of Science
