The Alice 100 Collection celebrates the 100th Anniversary of the first publication of Alice in 1865. In 1965, the collection was donated to the University of British Columbia by the graduating class of 1925 in celebration of their 40th anniversary.
This guide compiles information and resources to provide an introduction to artists' books, fine and private press books, and miniature books in UBC Library’s Rare Books and Special Collections (RBSC).
UBC’s Rare Books & Special Collections (RBSC) has long been collecting materials that illustrate the history of Canada and its people. This guide compiles over 60 collections featuring the records of Asian Canadians and intends to shine a spotlight on the rich contributions of Asian Canadians to the historical record.
UBC's Rare Books and Special Collections (RBSC) Library collects rare and historically significant Canadian literature. Overall, the main focus of our collecting is the province of British Columbia; expanding to the national context, we collect early imprints of Canadian books as well as those which are rare or irreplaceable, of aesthetic importance, or by their nature may be subject to loss or damage.
The term "ephemera" refers to documents such as broadsides, leaflets, pamphlets and posters which are intended for use for a short period of time. Ephemera can be used as a primary source in a variety of types of research.
This research guide highlights archival resources related to the history of Forests and Forestry in British Columbia available at the Rare Books and Special Collections Library at the University of British Columbia.
Rare Books and Special Collections (RBSC) collects children's literature of Canada, the United Kingdom, and the United States to 1939 with an emphasis on books that were read by children. UBC's Education library also collects historical Canadian children's literature.
UBC’s Rare Books & Special Collections (RBSC) houses many fonds that contain unique and interesting historical photographs. This guide will serve to introduce you to resources for finding and using historical photos held at RBSC as well as elsewhere within various UBC and external collections.
Rare Books and Special Collections (RBSC) collects rare and historically significant manuscripts and published works, which are available for you to view and read. This guide provides an introduction to special collection resources relating to the history of the book available through RBSC, UBC Library, and on the web.
This research guide aims to lift up and make visible those archival records that were created by and for Indigenous peoples, but also includes relevant historical records created by non-Indigenous peoples.