Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rare Books and Special Collections Instructional Support Guide

UBC Open Collections

UBC Library's Open Collections include digital photos, books, newspapers, maps, videos, theses, and more. These publicly-accessible collections are constantly growing and reflect the research interests of the UBC community and beyond. Open Collections are comprised of materials from RBSC's holdings, as well as other collections from around the University. RBSC-specific digitized collections are listed below, but be sure to browse all available collections.

Digitization Centre Special Projects

In addition to the collections listed above, a number of individual items from Rare Books and Special Collections have been digitized as part of UBC Library Digitization Centre Special Projects, including the highlights below.

Explore the Chung Collection

The Wallace B. Chung and Madeline H. Chung Collection contains more than 25,000 rare and unique items, including documents, books, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, tableware, and other artifacts.

Donated to UBC Library in 1999, the Chung Collection represents an unique and extensive research collection of items in various formats related to early British Columbia history, immigration and settlement, particularly of Chinese people in North America, and the Canadian Pacific Railway Company. One of the most exceptional and extensive collections of its kind in North America, the Chung Collection has been designated as a national treasure by the Canadian Cultural Property Export Review Board.

The Chung Collection is one of the featured collections available through UBC Library's Open Collections.