Library Workshop - October 7, 2024
The aim of this workshop is to learn how to find relevant research papers for your PHTH 516 assignment and to use the Vancouver Style for your references. For these we will be using
- Medline (Ovid) for efficient and effective searching, and
- Zotero for citation management.
These skills will help you succeed in other courses (especially PHTH 552) and into your professional practice.
To make best use of this opportunity, bring your assignment topic, questions about searches you have tried, and any papers you have already found.
Workshop Resources October 7, 2024
- MeSH Worksheet using CoCoPopUse this worksheet to find subject headings for your topic during the class
- Complex Search Worksheet (CoCoPop)Editable worksheet to develop a search using subject headings as well as keywords with the CoCoPop framework
- PICO Search Plan and Evidence-Based Practice Clinical Question WorksheetEditable worksheet to plan and record your search strategies.
- Search Strategy (OVID) Explained Stroke exampleThis handout provides a line by line explanation of a structured search in Medline (Ovid). It demonstrates use of subject headings (MeSH), keywords, truncation, Boolean operators (AND, OR) to combine sets, and the application of Limits
- Building a search strategy in CINAHL (Ebsco)Step by step instructions for finding and using subject headings and keywords in CINAHL in the Ebsco interface
- Major Physical Therapy JournalsNOTE: To search for your topic in individual journals, use the Journals tab on the search box at ubc.library.ca. Select the journal you wish to use and type your terms into the search box on the journal's site.
Papers in these journals,as well as others, are findable via the databases, Medline, CINAHL and Embase.
Research Help
Need help? Please don't hesitate to contact your cohort's librarian.
Your librarian can help with: developing your search; knowledge synthesis projects (literature reviews, systematic and scoping reviews, etc.); finding books, articles, and other information sources; managing your references and data; and more!
For quick research help, you can also contact Woodward Library via email and in-person, or use the AskAway chat service.
Rachael Bradshaw: Vancouver
Email me | Make an appointment with me
(604) 822-2884
Aubrey Geyer: Fraser Valley (Surrey)
Email me | Make an appointment with me
(604) 827-0578
Zahra Premji: Island (Victoria) - Health Research Librarian, University of Victoria
Medline Gudied Exercise for Building a search
The MEDLINE GUIDED EXERCISE serves as guide-on-the-side when searching with Medline (Ovid). You can use the following modules to review what we covered in the workshop and use the Build Your Own section to guide a more complex search:
Background Information
- LWW Health LibraryIncludes sections for Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Speech Language Hearing, Exercise Science, Exercise Science, Pharmacy, and Medical Education. To print pages and use self-assessment tools register an account with LWW Health Library
- AccessMedicineApproximately 40 e-books, including a clinical library (Harrison's Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, and more), Lange Educational Library, a USMLE self-assessment tool, 50+ clinical cases, and various study materials including flashcards, notes, and multiple-choice review questions.
- Books@OVIDIncludes full text, references, updates, and graphics from several respected texts in medicine, nursing, and pharmacy. Search (or browse) one textbook, browse by subject area, or choose "search all". Color diagrams, charts, and illustrations are available as thumbnails or full graphics.
- Sage Research MethodsSAGE Research Methods Online is a web-based research methods tool created to support researchers and students as they explore relevant content across the social and behavioural sciences, covering quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods.
- ClinicalKeyClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
- DynamedIncludes overviews and drug therapy recommendations for various medical conditions, drug information, and a drug interaction checker.
- Merck Manual of Diagnosis & TherapyIncludes diagnostic and therapeutic information in internal medicine, pediatrics, psychiatry, obstetrics, gynecology, dermatology, pharmacology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, rehabilitation, and a number of special subjects. Available online.
- MedlinePlus (Consumer Health)Freely-searchable consumer health information site linking to simple overviews, dictionaries, directories, organizations and news for ~750 topics.
- PEDroPEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 23,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- PhysiopediaThe free comprehensive online reference written by physiotherapists for physiotherapists.
- SpeechBITECurated speech pathology intervention studies to support evidence based practice.
Citing Sources and Copyright
Citing your references
Citation management tools and apps allow users to create personal citation databases by importing references from databases and catalogues. The references can be organized into categories, or libraries, and used to quickly add in text citations and create bibliographies or reference lists.
Examples of citation management tools: Endnote, Mendeley and Zotero.
Citing sources
How to Cite Sources at UBC - UBC Library overview
-
Guide to APA Style
Copyright
Searching Tutorials
- CINAHL Guided ExerciseThis tutorial provides step by step instructions for each stage of a structured search. It's intended to be a "guide on the side" - follow along or build your own!
- CINAHL TutorialsThese modules of 2-3 minutes each demonstrate the different search techniques and strategies for effective searching in CINAHL on the Ebsco platform. These techniques are transferable to other databases, both on the Ebsco platform and through other search engines.
- EMBASE (Ovid) Video TutorialsThese modules of 2-3 minutes each demonstrate the different search techniques and strategies for effective searching in EMBASE on the Ovid platform. Many of these techniques are transferable to other databases, both on the Ovid platform and through other search engines.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) tutorialsThese modules of 2-3 minutes each demonstrate the different search techniques and strategies for effective searching in Medline on the Ovid platform. These techniques are transferable to other databases, both on the Ovid platform and through other search engines.
- MEDLINE Guided ExerciseThis tutorial gives step by step instructions for each stage of a structured search. Use it as a "guide on the side" - follow along, or build your own!
- NLM PubMed TutorialAn in depth instruction guide on using PubMed. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.
- Scales, Tests and Measures TutorialsThese short modules are under 5 minutes each and provide tips and techniques for finding tests and scales as well as their evaluation.