Research Guides: Physical Therapy: Finding Articles

Core Databases

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Premier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
PubMed (1946 - present) This link opens in a new window
Premier database containing over 30 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. Freely available and includes MEDLINE. This link goes to the version with UBC elink.
CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
Key database in nursing and allied health.
EMBASE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
International (but European-focused) biomedical database with strengths in drug-related and rehabilitation sciences subjects.

Additional Databases

LitCovid: Database of of Coronavirus Research
Curated literature hub of the novel coronavirus and the disease it causes, Covid-19. Created by the National Library of Medicine it is updated daily from articles in Pubmed

SportDiscus This link opens in a new window
International database that covers all aspects of sport and fitness
PsycInfo (includes full text from PsycArticles) This link opens in a new window
Covers psychology and the psychological aspects of various other disciplines. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations.
Compendex Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Useful for rehabilitation topics involving technology such as telemedicine, telerehabiliation, assistive devices, computer software and user interfaces.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) This link opens in a new window
Citations to controlled trials identified by the contributors of the Cochrane Collaboration.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to regularly updated systematic reviews by the Cochrane Collaboration. Includes completed systematic reviews and review protocols in development.
EBM Reviews (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
One-stop searching of 7 evidence-based medicine databases in the Cochrane Library.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
Additional features, including a presentation maker, the ability to download PDF versions of ebook chapters, customize patient handouts or save content in a personal profile, are available to users who create a free account. Click 'Register' at the top right of the ClinicalKey landing page to create a free account.

Subject browse for Indexes & Databases in Physical Therapy
NARIC REHABDATA
The leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.
PEDro
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database, a free database of over 41,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
more...less...
See https://pedro.org.au/english/learn/search-help/ for tips on how to search the database. See https://pedro.org.au/english/learn/faq/ to learn how the trials, guidelines and reviews are located.

Stay Up-to-date

Current Awareness Tools
Saved searches, database and journal alerts.