Reference Librarian
Rachael Bradshaw
Contact:
Woodward Library
University of British Columbia
2198 Health Sciences Mall
Vancouver, BC, V6T 1Z3
University of British Columbia
2198 Health Sciences Mall
Vancouver, BC, V6T 1Z3
(604) 822-2884
Reference Librarian
Aubrey Geyer
Contact:
Aubrey Geyer
aubrey.geyer@ubc.ca
(604) 827 - 0578
Woodward Library
University of British Columbia
2198 Health Sciences Mall
Vancouver, BC, V6T 1Z3
aubrey.geyer@ubc.ca
(604) 827 - 0578
Woodward Library
University of British Columbia
2198 Health Sciences Mall
Vancouver, BC, V6T 1Z3
Librarian
Terri McKellar
she/her
Contact:
University of Northern BC
Division of Medical Sciences
3333 University Way
Prince George, BC V2N 4Z9
Division of Medical Sciences
3333 University Way
Prince George, BC V2N 4Z9
Workshop resources for June 24 & 25
Meeting ID: 91920975288
Passcode: 75288
- Session 1: Database SearchingJune 24: 9:00-12:00
- Session 2: Working with Diverse SourcesJune 24: 1:00-4:00
- Session 3: Appraising the EvidenceJune 25: 8:00-11:00
- PICO Worksheet for finding search termsUse this worksheet to explore the Medline Guided Exercise tutorial
- Search Strategy (OVID) Explained StrokeThis handout provides a line by line explanation of a structured search in Medline (Ovid). It demonstrates use of subject headings (MeSH), keywords, truncation, Boolean operators (AND, OR) to combine sets, and the application of Limits
Preparation for Library Workshops in June 2024
The Library workshops on June 24th and 25th will focus on searching tips and tricks for efficient database searching, locating and using diverse sources of evidence, and appraising information found in databases, grey literature, and patient-facing sources.
If you would like to review database searching, please view the Guided Medline Exercise tutorial and Guided CINAHL Exercise (links below). You can use the Worksheet to guide you through the Guided Medline Exercise. For additional help, see also the example search strategies and slides on advanced database searching tips below.
- Medline (Ovid) Guided ExercisePlease view tabs 1,2,3,4,9:
- Research question - PICO Worksheet
- Subject heading search (MeSH)
- Keyword search
- Combining searches
- Saving searches
- PICO Worksheet for finding search termsUse this worksheet to explore the Medline Guided Exercise tutorial
- Search Strategy (OVID) Explained StrokeThis handout provides a line by line explanation of a structured search in Medline (Ovid). It demonstrates use of subject headings (MeSH), keywords, truncation, Boolean operators (AND, OR) to combine sets, and the application of Limits
- EXAMPLE: How to use the PICO Worksheet to find search termsThis example demonstrates how to use PICO to discover relevant search words for your search strategy.
- SLIDES: Advanced Tips & TricksThese slides from 2022 discuss advanced database searching tips and tricks. Use them for reference when it comes to more advanced database functions.
Getting Help from Your Librarians
Need some more help? Have follow-up questions? Feel free to book an appointment with your cohort's librarian for one-on-one or small group research help.
- Get to Know Your LibrariansMeet your librarians and learn how we can help with research, knowledge synthesis, and more!
- Book an appointment with RachaelBook with Rachael if you are a Vancouver cohort student
- Book an appointment with AubreyBook with Aubrey if you are a Fraser cohort student
- Book an appointment with TerriBook with Terri if you are a Northern cohort student
Searching Tutorials
- CINAHL Guided ExerciseThis tutorial provides step by step instructions for each stage of a structured search. It's intended to be a "guide on the side" - follow along or build your own!
- CINAHL TutorialsThese modules of 2-3 minutes each demonstrate the different search techniques and strategies for effective searching in CINAHL on the Ebsco platform. These techniques are transferable to other databases, both on the Ebsco platform and through other search engines.
- EMBASE (Ovid) Video TutorialsThese modules of 2-3 minutes each demonstrate the different search techniques and strategies for effective searching in EMBASE on the Ovid platform. Many of these techniques are transferable to other databases, both on the Ovid platform and through other search engines.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) tutorialsThese modules of 2-3 minutes each demonstrate the different search techniques and strategies for effective searching in Medline on the Ovid platform. These techniques are transferable to other databases, both on the Ovid platform and through other search engines.
- MEDLINE Guided ExerciseThis tutorial gives step by step instructions for each stage of a structured search. Use it as a "guide on the side" - follow along, or build your own!
- NLM PubMed TutorialAn in depth instruction guide on using PubMed. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.
- Scales, Tests and Measures TutorialsThese short modules are under 5 minutes each and provide tips and techniques for finding tests and scales as well as their evaluation.
Background Information
- LWW Health LibraryIncludes sections for Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Speech Language Hearing, Exercise Science, Exercise Science, Pharmacy, and Medical Education. To print pages and use self-assessment tools register an account with LWW Health Library
- AccessMedicineApproximately 40 e-books, including a clinical library (Harrison's Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, and more), Lange Educational Library, a USMLE self-assessment tool, 50+ clinical cases, and various study materials including flashcards, notes, and multiple-choice review questions.
- Books@OVIDIncludes full text, references, updates, and graphics from several respected texts in medicine, nursing, and pharmacy. Search (or browse) one textbook, browse by subject area, or choose "search all". Color diagrams, charts, and illustrations are available as thumbnails or full graphics.
- Sage Research MethodsSAGE Research Methods Online is a web-based research methods tool created to support researchers and students as they explore relevant content across the social and behavioural sciences, covering quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods.
- ClinicalKeyClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
- DynamedIncludes overviews and drug therapy recommendations for various medical conditions, drug information, and a drug interaction checker.
- Merck Manual of Diagnosis & TherapyIncludes diagnostic and therapeutic information in internal medicine, pediatrics, psychiatry, obstetrics, gynecology, dermatology, pharmacology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, rehabilitation, and a number of special subjects. Available online.
- MedlinePlus (Consumer Health)Freely-searchable consumer health information site linking to simple overviews, dictionaries, directories, organizations and news for ~750 topics.
- PEDroPEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 23,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- PhysiopediaThe free comprehensive online reference written by physiotherapists for physiotherapists.
- SpeechBITECurated speech pathology intervention studies to support evidence based practice.
