Physical Therapy
PHTH 526 Library Workshop February 2025
Library Workshop Monday February 3, 2025
PubMed & TRIP guidance:
Searching tips and explanations:
- Truncation and Wildcards for database searching
- Evidence Pyramid (BCMJ Evidence Based Medicine)
- Medline Search Strategy Explained (Stroke) - though created for Medline, this example is also applicable to PubMed searching
Research Help
Need help? Please don't hesitate to contact your cohort's librarian.
Your librarian can help with: developing your search; knowledge synthesis projects (literature reviews, systematic and scoping reviews, etc.); finding books, articles, and other information sources; managing your references and data; and more!
For quick research help, you can also contact Woodward Library via email and in-person, or use the AskAway chat service.
Rachael Bradshaw: Vancouver
Email me | Make an appointment with me
(604) 822-2884
Aubrey Geyer: Fraser Valley (Surrey)
Email me | Make an appointment with me
(604) 827-0578
Zahra Premji: Island (Victoria) - Health Research Librarian, University of Victoria
Email me | Make an appointment with me
Kristy Hancock: Northern (Prince George)
Walkthrough - PubMed MeSH Explorer Search
Clinical Evidence Resources
- PEDroPEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 23,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- Rehab+Rehab+ is created and produced by McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit to provide access to current best evidence from research, tailored to one's own health care interests, to support evidence-based clinical decisions.
- ClinicalKeyClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
- DynamedA point-of-care reference tool containing clinically-oriented summaries for 3,200+ topics.
- Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) Evidence-Based Practice (EBP)JBI EBP includes 3,000+ records & many publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices and Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information & Reports
Background Information
- LWW Health LibraryIncludes sections for Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Speech Language Hearing, Exercise Science, Exercise Science, Pharmacy, and Medical Education. To print pages and use self-assessment tools register an account with LWW Health Library
- AccessMedicineApproximately 40 e-books, including a clinical library (Harrison's Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, and more), Lange Educational Library, a USMLE self-assessment tool, 50+ clinical cases, and various study materials including flashcards, notes, and multiple-choice review questions.
- Books@OVIDIncludes full text, references, updates, and graphics from several respected texts in medicine, nursing, and pharmacy. Search (or browse) one textbook, browse by subject area, or choose "search all". Color diagrams, charts, and illustrations are available as thumbnails or full graphics.
- Sage Research MethodsSAGE Research Methods Online is a web-based research methods tool created to support researchers and students as they explore relevant content across the social and behavioural sciences, covering quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods.
- ClinicalKeyClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
- DynamedIncludes overviews and drug therapy recommendations for various medical conditions, drug information, and a drug interaction checker.
- Merck Manual of Diagnosis & TherapyIncludes diagnostic and therapeutic information in internal medicine, pediatrics, psychiatry, obstetrics, gynecology, dermatology, pharmacology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, rehabilitation, and a number of special subjects. Available online.
- MedlinePlus (Consumer Health)Freely-searchable consumer health information site linking to simple overviews, dictionaries, directories, organizations and news for ~750 topics.
- PEDroPEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 23,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- PhysiopediaThe free comprehensive online reference written by physiotherapists for physiotherapists.
- SpeechBITECurated speech pathology intervention studies to support evidence based practice
