Core Biomedical Databases
The following resources provide access to the core biomedical literature. For a comprehensive list of other specialized health indexes and databases see the Health and Biomedical Databases UBC Wiki page.
- OMMBID: The Online Metabolic & Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease This link opens in a new window
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- EMBASE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
Evidence Based Medicine Databases
Key databases for Evidence-Based Medicine. For additional resources please see UBC's Evidence-Based Healthcare Guide.
- ACP Journal Club This link opens in a new window
- EBM Reviews (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) This link opens in a new window
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) This link opens in a new window
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) This link opens in a new window
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) This link opens in a new window
Point of Care Tools
Summaries and evidence synthesis on clinical topics for use by health care providers at the point of care.
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- Dynamed This link opens in a new window
- Red Book Online This link opens in a new window
Stay Up-to-Date
- Current Awareness ToolsSaved searches, database and journal alerts.
- Read This link opens in a new window
Human Search Filter
Often searches on genetics topics return a large number of results. If you do not want to include studies that only look at animals, you can use the "human" limit or filter available within the database. Please note that these database limits can also exclude studies that include information about both humans and animals. To keep studies about humans and animals, or for systematic reviews or other comprehensive searches, instead use one of the following search filters by adding them to the last line of your search. Please feel free to contact Helen L. Brown or wd.ref@ubc.ca for assistance.
PubMed Filter - from the Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions http://training.cochrane.org/handbooks Chapter 2, section 6.4.11 in Box 6.4.a.
NOT (("Animals"[Mesh] NOT ("Animals"[Mesh] AND "Humans"[Mesh]))
Medline Ovid Filter
NOT (Animals/ NOT (Animals/ AND Humans/))
Embase Filter
NOT ((exp animal/ or nonhuman/) NOT exp human/)
Example: Adding a filter to the last line of a Medline search
Journals
Sometimes you might just want to browse the journals. Click on the following link for a full list of journals related to Health & Biological Sciences - Biology - Genetics or browse some of the journals listed below.
You can search for other journals by title at www.ubc.library.ca in the box marked "Journal Titles."
Video Searching Tutorials
For help getting started or taking your research skills to the next level see the following resources or contact your liaison librarian.