The links below give you access to ratings and circulation data for various sources of media, which can help with media planning.
Public Relations
Public relations supports marketing by building product and company image. These journals include a wide variety of public relations topics.
- Public Relations StrategistCovers topics related to the strategic importance of effective public relations at the management level. Examines changing concepts & occasionally challenges current wisdom about the practice of public relations.
- Public Relations InquiryIncludes research agendas in the field of public relations through interdisciplinary engagement in diverse cultural contexts.
- Public Relations ReviewPublishes book reviews in the fields of public relations, mass communications, organizational communications, public opinion formations, social science research and evaluation, marketing, management and public policy formation.
Print Ads
- AdflipSelect group of classic ads from the 1940s through 1990s. Full access requires membership.
- Ad*AccessAn image database of over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements between 1911 and 1957.
- Advertising ArchivesBritish and American press advertisements from 1850 to the present day.
- Emergence of Advertising in Ameria, 1850-1920Duke University Archives digital collection.
Digital Marketing and Social Media
Below are some example books, articles and databases on digital and social media marketing. Search UBC Library or the databases for the most up-to-date content. Consult with a librarian for help with this or other marketing topics.
- #Share: How to Mobilize Social Word of Mouth (sWOM)This book examines the influence of sWOM and provide guidance on how to operationalize its growing power.
- AI has been a boon for marketing, but the dark side of using algorithms to sell products and brands is little studiedThe Conversation, 25 November 2024
- DigiMarketing: The Essential Guide to New Media and Digital MarketingDigiMarketing is the future evolution of marketing. It happens when the majority, or totality, of a company's marketing uses digital channels. Digital channels are addressable, enabling marketers to have a continuous, two‐way, personalized dialogue with each consumer.
- Digital Marketing Management, Second Edition: A Handbook for the Current (or Future) CEOThis book is for managers and would-be managers who need to upgrade their knowledge of digital marketing.
- How to Design an AI Marketing StrategyHarvard Business Review, July/August 2021
- How generative AI can boost consumer marketingMcKinsey & Company, 5 December 2023
- Social Media 101: Tactics and Tips to Develop Your Business OnlineIn Social Media 101, social media expert and blogger Chris Brogan presents the best practices for growing the value of your social media and social networking marketing efforts.
- Social Media Marketing All‐in‐One For DummiesFace Facebook, link up with LinkedIn, and tweet with Twitter using this all-in-one guide!
- Viral Marketing and Social NetworksThis book offers an in-depth look at viral marketing that includes a short overview of its history and evolution.
- Warc : World Advertising Research CenterFull-text articles, reports and case studies on advertising. Includes advertising expenditure data. Can search by brand, advertiser, and agency.
Rates & Circulation Statistics
- Arbitron Radio Ratings and Media ResearchIncludes free reports on US radio listening habits, and demographics.
- Canadian Media Directors Council. Media DigestCirculation and readership for specific print and other advertising media in Canada.
- eMarketerMarket research and trend analysis on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies. Includes statistics on adoption of social media.
- National List of AdvertisersCanadian companies, their advertising expenditures and the agencies and media they use.
- The Ad Pages / Business in VancouverProvides print media rates and circulation for Vancouver.
- zap2it.com. TVbytheNumbersProvides posts on television ratings.
- Warc: World Advertising Research CentreAllows you to compare media costs across markets, media, target audiences and periods.
- ThinkTV CanadaThinkTV provides infographics and research reports on TV viewers, with some of the resources touching on other media as well. Free to download with no registration.
Awards & Rankings
- CLIO AwardsGiven to recognize creative advertising in package design, print, radio and television. The website, with archives of the awards back to 1960, lists product, agency and production company.
- Warc: World Advertising Research CenterContains case studies, awards and an effectiveness index for advertising campaigns, brands and advertisers.
- Webby AwardsHonour excellence on the internet.